We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room - Close to Williamsburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Governor's Green

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Governor's Green to your Saves list
Wyndham Governor's Green
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huntingtown, MD
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nice Room - Close to Williamsburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We were with our in-laws for an extended weekend. They had timeshare rooms in the Wyndham Governor's Green. The rooms that we had were nice and clean. Ours was a two-bedroom unit, with a queen-sized bed in the master bedroom, and two full beds in bedroom 2. It had a full kitchen with dining area and a spacious family room area. The unit had a very nice large LG flatscreen tv in the family room area, with decent sized project tvs in the bedrooms. The unit had a combo washer dryer as well (though I thought the placement of the washer/dryer in the master bathroom was kind of odd. The appliances all worked fine.

The staff was very helpful, perhaps even over-attentive, calling multiple times daily to ensure that we had everything we needed.

The Wyndham Governor's Green has an indoor/outdoor pool, a single tennis court, an office building with game rooms, etc. About the only thing we could say that was a negative was that the air outside our unit smelled like garbage, and the elevator for our unit reeked of garbage the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    103
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
142
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Candor, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We traveled to Williamsburg, VA in August 2010 and stayed at Governor's Green. We were a little apprehensive, given the reviews we read, but were relieved to find our fears were totally unfounded. We had a 2 bedroom unit that was extremely clean, very spacious, and the beds were super comfortable! The staff was friendly and the amenities fine. My daughters enjoyed the mini-golf as well as the movies shown on some nights at the recreation center. The resort is in a good location, only a 10 minute drive from the Colonial Williamsburg entrance and near plenty of stores and restaurants. We enjoyed our vacation so much, we are thinking of going back again this summer!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

WHAT A NASTY UNIT 2314 in Building 23
The dirty linen was still on the bed in the master bedroom with a nasty greasy bed spread. The bedspread had nasty white spots on the top and black spots beneath. The sheets were dirty. The carpet was dirty with nasty spots throughout the entire unit. The sofa and chairs in the living room was so dirty that we placed towels on the sofa and the arms of the chairs so we could sit and watch television. I have never experience such dirty chair arms. This cannot be a five/gold star resort. There were spiders on the walls, in the corners, baseboards, and on the floors of the bathrooms. We went out and purchased BLACK FLAG to spray the spiders. If you check the left corner toward the ceiling in the living room to the left of the patio door, spiders and webs are still there. Cut the lamp light on and check out the spider webs. Spider webs are throughout the unit. We removed some of the spider webs that were low enough to reach. In case you want to know, the unit needs a paint job really bad. We could not even get a complimentary newspaper. I was told that I had to purchase a paper from the club house. Each time I requested a complimentary paper, I was told that they ran out of papers. The resort was not full to capacity. That was not a big issue. I did go outside the resort and purchase a paper. My family stayed at this resort in 2008 and the carpet was dirty at that time and still dirty in 2010. We were not told that the renovation was in process before checking in and that we would be in a unit that had not been renovated and that we were being placed in an unclean unit.
I was truly embarrassed. Our friends that came along could not believe Wyndham would assign UNIT 2314 to a guest. The housekeeping manager came over and directed her employees on the process of changing the linen after each checkout. The linen, bed spread, and blanket were changed after I call the main office.
The towels and bath cloths were old and DINGY. Towels need replacing. They appeared to have some age on them. DINGY.....We went out and purchase new face cloths/towels. After washing the towels provided by the resort, we did use them before checking out. After the incident with the master bedroom, I did not trust the towels.
I almost forgot! In the master bathroom, there was a leak in the ceiling over the commode. We had to call the main office to report the problem. This was a patch job that had problems before. Go and look in the master bedroom. Maintenance did a patch up job to stop the leak. When the guest upstairs would shower, the leak would began and water dropped on the commode. The lights in the bathrooms were filled with DUST. How often do Wyndham inspect and perform a thorough cleaning of the units???? This was the worst vacation experience we have ever witnessed in any resort.
No, I will not recommend Wyndham Governor's Green resort to anyone. The resort has not changed since my visit in 2008.

Highsmith's in Raleigh, NC October 24, 2010

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarks summit
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

The management customer service was terrible. The security team was constantly out on noise control even during hours that are not considered quiet hours. When we would leave our room in the morning we would see security going to a unit or leaving a unit. When we would return we would see security going to or leaving a unit about noise control. Apparently one of the days on our vacation our room was being monitored on the hour every hour for noise. When security discovered that we were not in our room then they started accusing our 78 year old neighbors multiple times during their breakfast for making too much noise!! We asked for an apology from the manager Sherri lynn, who left us nasty messages about noise from our room when we were not there. She refused to speak to us in person or on the phone!!! We were able to speak to the assistant manager to ask what the policy and procedure was for security checking on noise complaints. He looked into our matter and discovered that they do not follow their own policies and they just automatically go to the room above the person complaining and blame those individuals without first identifying the noise issues. He stated that we should never have been called or left inappropriate messages and he guaranteed that we would get an apology from Sherri lynn. It is 2 days later and I am still waiting!! HORRIBLE HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

This is probably the 4th time we have stayed at this resort, always for the same reason - for a trip to Busch Gardens. The proximity to Busch Gardens is perfect, so we return year after year.

The resort has great ammenities that we always use - great indoor pool, lovely grounds that are well kept. We were here in October and played putt putt with our kids, they chased the geese around the lawns and it was quiet and relaxing.

However....the units are dated. Fortunately, they are in the midst of what appears to be major renovations. We noted that about half of the resort had windows missing, workers funneling in and out, all to gut and redo this large, sprawling resort. So that is great. However, if half of the resort is undergoing a redo, why is it that we couldn't even check in on time because our unit was not ready? If the staff is not cleaning half of the resort, it would seem we could check in on time because they should have less to do?

SO obviously we had an older unit. I will review next time when we stay in a redone unit. The units are always spacious. We had a three bedroom, each room has a tv. The master had a large king, plenty of space, and an ok bathroom. One thing I consistently notice about this resort, is that they originally spent a bit of money on these units, put in tile showers and some high end extras. But the shower heads barely trickle water. Just an aside.

The other bedrooms were a double and two twins. Plenty of space. Had the usual washer dryer, most everything you need in a kitchen, and plenty of living space. It's the best way to travel, as far as I am concerned, in a time share where you can cook meals and spread out and I can't complain about anything with the unit not being up to par. The wallpaper just is getting ratty, the bathrooms need updating, and the carpets are getting worn. But then, they are redoing them now, so just need to standby and see what is going on with them as they open them back up.

Will definitely stay there again! Look forward to the redo!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Just got back from Williamsburg Governor's green with our family (2 adults, 2 kids) and friends (2 adults, 1 teenager). Overall, not too bad, but would not stay here again. On the plus side, the three bedroom unit was spacious. However, the furniture was old, worn, and all of it stained with God knows what. The carpet was really worn and dirty. This place needs room refurbishing really bad. You could tell where the cleaning people came through, only the main pathways. If you looked further, you could see a lot of dirt and grime. And trust me, I am not a clean freak.
If you have a choice, a better option would be the Townes at Kings Creek Plantation, much nicer and current.I think Kings creek has a newer area too.
The location was really great. Close to everything. Here is what we did:
Haunted Dinner Theatre: disappointed. Thumbs down. Buffet was actually good, but theatre part was lacking and annoying.
Yankee candle store: Always fun. It snows in the Christmas part. Kids even endured it with snacks of homemade popcorn and fudge.
Busch Gardens Hallow-Scream: Great time. Got $15 off each adult ticket at Wendys on Richmond road. Loads of fun. No waiting in lines for rides on Friday. Loved the shows. Highly recommend.
Ghosts Among us Colonial Williamsburg tour: A really good ghost tour of some colonial buildings at Williamsburg. Stories were scary, but kids loved it. Go to the 8:30 tour, it is dark and a little creepy. Highly recommend.
Peking Japanese buffet by K-Mart: Horrible. Don't waste your money. The place was packed, and it smelled good, but food was terrible.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We loved the Governor's Green. We stayed in a very spacious 3 bedroom unit and felt very much at home. The pool table room, pool and putt putt were big hits with my family. The only downside is that you had to go to a sister resort for arcades and basketball courts. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was close to shopping and Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Governor's Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.