We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for Kids or Adults” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Governor's Green

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Governor's Green to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Governor's Green
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Spot for Kids or Adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We traveled to this resort last year in August and I was VERY impressed with this location. We are Wyndham owners and are somewhat regretful of our decision to buy there because I don't feel like every resort is kept up the way they should be. However, this resort was by far one of my favorites and being that we can drive there, we will likely return.

My husband and I do not have children yet and we love to vacation and lay by the pool. Well, this resort had the best adult pool I could have asked for! We didn't even go to the other pool at all because we liked the adult pool so much. No splashing, screaming, crowds or distractions, it was just pure peace and relaxation and at the time they even had pool rafts you could float on. And even though we didn't go there, the kids pool looked great! The families over there were having a ball. You could tell this resort was catering to both family-friendly and those looking for a more relaxing getaway.

We also weren't nagged to no end about the stupid timeshare updates. We told them on day #1 that we weren't interested and neither were our friends who had come with us and they didn't call us excessively which we have experienced at other resorts.

Our room was nice, not quite as modern as I would like, but we are in a historical area so that is to be expected. We had a 2-bedroom suite because we had friends with us. The beds in the 2nd room were tiny, but it was easily fixed by pushing the 2 beds together and would be suitable for children.

We enjoyed the outlet mall that was close by and many of the restaurants and historical attractions.

All I can say is that this was really a great stay for us.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
130
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Governors Green.
Check-In was easy. The front desk person notified us our unit was at the far end of the resort. She offered to find us a closer location. She also gave us a first floor suite since she saw we had a 2 year old.

Room - this is our only complaint. The resort is a little dated. The decor, beds, etc all look very old / warn. The resort can use a new set of mattresses, remove the wall paper (and replace with paint) and upgrade the countertop and it would look very different.

Amenities:
Wireless: this didn't work very well from our room. You got great reception at the lobby / pool, but the actual download speed was very slow.

Pool - outdoor pool is great for young children. My 2 year old loved the walk-in. She was able to walk in and go into the water at her own pace.

The resort is only 10-15 minutes to busch gardens, very convenient.

Member Services - we usually dread going into the member services chat. This wasn't that bad, we were out of there is 40 minutes and we didn't get any pressure to buy anything.

all in all, we were surprised on how pleasant our stay was. We had good family time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

I went with my 2 kids and a group of 10 home school students. We had a great time, the check in was quick and they did not push for an owner update. When we went to our room we were greeted by a super spacious 3 bedroom unit. The unit was clean and inviting a nd well stocked to our delight. Since we arrived in the afternoon we decided to eat a late lunch and take advantage of the indoor and outdoor pools. There was a light drizzle so the kids had free reign of the outdoor area. We were there for just a few days so we spent most of our time at Colonial Williamsburg, but we liked the close proximity to the festivities. We are trying to plan another trip there this year though we may try the Kingsgate through our RCI trade.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This is our third stay at Governor's Green and our stay has been positively consistent every time. We usually book a 2 bedroom and as usual, it's spacious with plenty of room for our daughter to have her own room, run around, etc. The resort relaxes you and it just feels like home and that's what made it such a great family vacation.

Our daughter loved the playground, pool (indoor and out), as wel as, our walks around the resort lakes. We used the fitness center and computer lab, as needed. The staff was helpful in answering all of our questions. We didn't get a chance to do the minigolf this trip since we were spending time at Busch Gardens, but overall, we all enjoyed the resort.

The only thing we had to call in for was that our master bedroom door didn't lock (we were locked out of our own bedroom!) and the alarm clock was broken. No big deal, though, because as soon as we called the front desk, maintenance brought a new clock right over and fixed the door with a new lock.

Overall, a great family vacation at Governor's Green.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Six of us (3 adult couples) stayed at this resort 4/23-4/26/09, 3 nights. We booked a 3 bedroom, 2 bath unit, and golf for 3 people on the Kingsmill River Course, Kingsmill Plantation Course and Golden Horseshoe Golf Club Gold Course. The cost for the unit and golf (including cart) was $700/couple which considering the cost of golf at those courses was a good deal. We booked through Williamsburg Golftrips.com powered by Golfzoo. The vacation specialist was very pleasant & knowledgeable about the local golf courses.
Our letter of confirmation indicated a 4:00 pm check-in time; however, the day before we were to arrive I called the local contact number provided by Golfzoo and they were able to arrange check-in by 1:00 pm. Because we booked through Golfzoo we were not contacted about sitting through a sales pitch about purchasing a time share.
Our unit was #1835. It was on the 3rd floor (there is an elevator). The unit was very clean, large and had a well supplied kitchen. There was a "starter" packet of coffee, hot chocolate, popcorn. There was no ice in the freezer & we couldn't find an ice machine so we called the front desk. The gentleman said there were no ice machines but he would have someone deliver a bag of ice immediately. Within 5 minutes we had a bag of ice (no charge)!
All of the bedrooms had TVs & ceiling fans. There was also a TV & ceiling fan in the living room. The living/dining room area had a sleep sofa, 2 large stuffed chairs, dining table w/8 chairs. The bedrooms were large & the beds were comfortable. There was a bathroom across the hall from 2 of the bedrooms had a shower. The master bedroom had a large jacuzzi tub & sink & a sliding pocket door opened into an area w/a toilet, shower & an additional sink. This area could also be accessed from the living room. There was a hairdryer in each bathroom. The unit had a nice balcony that overlooked a pond w/fountains. There was plenty of parking by the unit. We did not hear any noise from other units. We did not pay the additional fee for daily maid service.
The resort had many nice amenities: a large indoor pool, 2 outdoor pools (one for adults only), play ground area, tennis courts, miniature golf (no charge), putting green & sand trap, walking paths, fitness room, internet access. It is located within 5 minutes of good restaurants & about 10 minutes from downtown Williamsburg.
We ate dinner at Food for Thought, Opus 9 Steak House and Kyoto Japanese Restaurant. The food at all 3 was good and different from each other. Food for Thought was the most casual & inexpensive. Opus 9 was casual but more elegant & provided outstanding service as well as great food. Kyoto was entertaining (they cook at the table). All of these restaurants & many more are within 6 miles of the resort.
I would definitely recommend this resort for families also. It is close to Williamsburg & has plenty of activities for children.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We are Wyndham Owners and we travel to Williamsburg 1-3 times a year. We have often stayed at the Wyndham Kingsgate and Wyndham Patriot's Place but the Wyndham Governor's Green is our favorite place to stay in Williamsburg. It is the newest of the three resorts. We enjoy the spacious rooms as well as the many amenities. We always take advantage of the adult only pool/hot tub. I think this resort is perfect for anyone (young or old, with or without kids). Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Just returned from a week-long stay at the Governor's Green. We traded for this property through Interval International (we are Starwood owners -Westin Rancho Mirage). Based on the pictures on the internet I didn't have very high expectations for the property - but as it turns out, the pictures don't do it justice at all. While the resort grounds and the decor of the rooms do not compare to a Starwood/Westin villa - they are very clean, well-kept and much newer than expected. The only issue we had was a problem with the heat on our second day - but we called and someone came within 10 minutes and fixed it right away. We had 10 people (6 adults and 4 children) in a three bedroom unit and we fit nicely. It was a little tough with only two bathrooms - but we managed. The grounds are very large and they have a couple of nice outdoor pools (but it wasn't warm enough yet to use those) and one indoor pool that was very warm and my kids enjoyed very much. They also have a nice mini golf course that we all enjoyed a few times. They offered a couple of movie nights and other activities that seemed fun, but we were too exhausted after walking around Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown and Busch Gardens each day that we couldn't muster up the energy to do much at night. The hotel is in a great location and easily accessable to all the major attractions in the area. It is also located very near tons and tons of restaurants - we ate at Unos, Cracker Barrel, Carrabas, Ruby Tuesday and Captain George's Seafood Buffet (very good) all of which were within a mile. We also went to the huge Yankee Candle store. It was fun - got some souveniers, dipped some candles. The kids liked it because it "snows" every few minutes and they had a large toy store in it as well. We also ate at various places within colonial Williamsburg itself - but the stand out meal by far was at Christiana Campbell's Tavern. The food was very good and the portions were pretty large. The ambiance was great and throughout the meal different characters strolled in and talked to us, as well as a woman who sang. It was very entertaining and one of the highlights of the trip. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and courteous. On our first day we did get bombarded (three phone calls) with request to attend their timeshare sales presentation (however, that is really not how they characterized it - but we knew what it was). We did attend and got $65 and breakfast(could have gotten discount tickets, but we didn't need them). The woman was very nice and told us about their program - she really didn't even try to sell it to us - but I believe that was only because she knew we weren't going to buy what they were selling. If we were going to buy anything else it would be with Starwood. Overall - the experience was very good and we would recommend this hotel to anyone - particularly to families.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Governor's Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.