We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort for Christmas Season” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Governor's Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Governor's Green to your Saves list
Wyndham Governor's Green
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort for Christmas Season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

We stayed at Governor's Green for the Grand Illumination. The property was lit up beautifully for the Christmas season. We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit that was spacious and comfortable, washer & dryer, full kitchen with lots of dishes, coffee, hot chocolate, salt & pepper, sugar, soap, paper towels, many things available that are not provided at other timeshares. There was also an abundance of towels for all the guests. The staff was very friendly. The wi-fi in our unit worked perfectly. Before my son-in-law arrived with his computer, my husband & I used the computers in the visitor's center for free. We did not use the indoor pool or hot tubs. Saturday night kids could get their pictures taken with Santa for free. Hot chocolate, hot cider, popcorn were available around the outside pool. There was fire pit and you could make your own S'mores. They provided bus transportation for $16 per person to the Grand Illumination. We elected to drive down and park, but there is very limited parking, so we did have to leave early to do so. The master bedroom had a king size bed. The other bedrooms had a king size bed and two double beds. Our beds were comfortable and the furniture was also comfortable for sitting. The TV's in our unit must have been upgraded because they were bigger than mentioned in the other reviews. We would definitely come back and stay again.

  • Liked — The spaciousness, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    103
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
142
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, MD
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

We rented a 3 bedroom unit through Interval International's getaway program. I checked reviews before going, and went with high hopes. We were all very pleased with our unit and the resort staff. Our unit was very spacious with a well equipped kitchen. The club house offered an indoor pool and hot tub, pool tables, free wireless internet access & a computer lab. There are two outdoor pools with additional hot tubs. The adult only pool is off to itself - so it really is adult only. The grounds are well maintained and attractive. There is free mini-golf, beach volley ball, and 2 playgrounds too. And by taking a short drive to the sister resort next door, we had the use of 3 more pools, a different mini-golf course, and 2 super awesome video game rooms. Now to use the game rooms you had to spend a grand total of $5 per day per unit. So our party of 6 paid less than a buck a piece for hours of fun. The kids were happy just playing at the resort the first two days.

We were only called one time to be invited to a lunch/sales pitch. We didn't attend and were left alone.

The down side - the tv's are small and the living room furniture is not the most comfortable for adults to sit on for extended periods of time. The staff claimed that there was wireless internet in the units, but the signal strength was just not sufficient, so the access would come and go.

But overall, a great bargain for a large party with children.

  • Liked — Spacious unit with many amenities.
  • Disliked — Small tv's with poor internet access.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence,RI
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Five of us enjoyed our stay in a clean and spacious deluxe2 bedroom unit at Governor’s Green which consisted of a master bedroom with king size bed, TV, Jacuzzi tub next to sink and vanity area, and a huge walk-in shower in the bathroom. The guest bedroom had a TV, two full size beds, double closets, double sinks in private hall/laundry area, and tub with shower in the bathroom. The suite had a full kitchen with refrigerator, stove, microwave oven, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher, washer, dryer, iron, ironing board, broom, vacumn cleaner, mop, island full of cooking and cleaning utensils, etc…..with detergents for dishwasher, dish washing and laundry. They also provided coffee for the coffee maker, creamer and sugar, a packet of microwave popcorn, plenty of toiletries and towels. The common area included desk/seating area behind sink counter, dining area, complete entertainment center, sleeper sofa with two chairs, coffee table and 2 end tables which could double as drawers for person(s) sleeping in that area and a balcony overlooking the grounds. We celebrated a memorable birthday party at Governor’s Green which was truly a home away from home. We saw the exercise, billiard and computer rooms, swimming pool, tennis, and mini golf area but did not use them due to full schedule for sightseeing. (Read TA forum.) All staff members were friendly and maintenance was prompt in supplying more towels and laundry detergent when requested. Make sure you attend the Monday morning orientation for helpful tips with ongoing events and explanation of surrounding locations on their guide map.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

Just got back from Governor's Green today. It is a so-so resort. The unit's are fine- we had a 3 bedroom. It was roomy, the beds were okay. Couldn't hear people in other units. Wi-fi didn't really work. We are used to an arcade for the kids but you had to travel to one of Wyndham's other properties for that- not exactly freedom for teens. The pool area needs repairing to the crumbling deck. The main pool is rather small, no privacy around the hot tub (it's right next to the baby pool!). There is not a pool bar and grill, which is something we are accustomed to at resorts in this price range.

  • Liked — The spacious unit.
  • Disliked — The pool needs major renovation.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed a week at the Wyndham Governor's Green Resort in Williamsburg, VA. The property is beautifully maintained and has many family friendly amenities. Our condo was spacious and clean. My family of ten including four adults with parents, grandparents, and six kids (17, 14, 10, 6,6,6) easily fit into the space provided with room to spare. The kids were kept busy by the indoor and outdoor pools, mini golf course, tennis courts, and club house with billiards, and movie theater. the adults enjoyed the outdoor adult only pool and hot tub on several occasions. The area teems with wildlife including a resident flock of Canadian geese and several deer.

The property is protected by a very visible and active security force and is gated so we felt very safe and were able to allow the kids to roam on their own a bit.

The property is very convenient to Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and the water park. Shopping is also near by (although grocery shopping is a bit of a trek).

This resort is among the best of the many we have stayed in and I would have no problem recommending it to families thinking about visiting Williamsburg.

  • Liked — the spaciousness of the room and amenities for families
  • Disliked — Kitchen storage was a bit sparse
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincroft, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

I rented a 2 BR unit from a Governor's Green owner. I found her listing on Redweek.com. I was traveling two adults, two teenage boys.

The unit was immaculate, very roomy, and well provisioned. Most timeshare units don't give sugar or salt for some reason, but Governor's Green (GG) provided packets of sugar, salt, even hot chocolate and popcorn. There was also plenty of paper towels (sometimes you get only one roll), toilet paper, garbage bags, dishwasher liquid packets, so we didn't have to buy any of that, which is also unusual in my experience.

There is a game room in a nearby property called Kingsgate. It is not walking distance as some mentioned, however, unless you are comfortable with kids walking along a busy road with no sidewalks in the dark. The great thing about it is if you are staying at either property you can buy a $5 pass (one pass per unit) which is good for your entire stay. The door is manned with security, and the two game rooms are divided up into age-appropriate groupings. Once you have the pass, anyone who is staying with you can play for free, which is a gigantic savings when you think about how much game rooms can run you.

The kids also enjoyed the pools (both heated), the billiard room, the mini golf course.

The only negative I can think of is the lack of a lifeguard at the pools, and the lack of parental supervision. There was a group of kids who obviously knew each other basically running wild. One mother was sleeping and the other never lifted her nose from her book, even when the kids were really being obnoxious. I was somewhat enjoying the lukewarm jacuzzi when the kids (probably age 4 and up) invaded the jacuzzi and started redirecting the jets. I screamed out for them to stop after one of the jets hit me directly in the eye. Even at that level of shout the mother did not look up. My friend and I finally left. At least I had a jacuzzi in the room. I called security to alert them to the dangerous lack of supervision in the pool. I don't know if they did anything or not, but I think Wyndham should spring for the cost of a lifeguard, because apparently many parents don't think it's their job to safeguard their kids or the safety of others who their kids may be jumping on.

But, as I said, that was the only negative of my stay. Otherwise when we needed maintainence (once to take away a wobbly chair and once to help us actually get the DVD player working), they came fairly promptly. The front desk was helpful when asked.

As others have mentioned, when you are directed to get your parking pass at the sales desk, just tell them there's no way you are doing a presentation. She handed me the passes and that was it. They never called to bug us.

  • Liked — Spacious, well-appointed 2 BR unit
  • Disliked — Unsupervised children at pool/jacuzzi
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

My family and I stayed at Governor's Green over the Christmas week in 2007. Overall, our accommodations and ammenities did not live up to our expectations. (Disclaimer - we did not stay in a presidential suite as they had all been booked by the time we reserved. Our unit was 3 bedrooms and 2 baths.) Here are a few problems we encountered:
1. The unit's furnshings were outdated and worn.
2. There was a broken dining room chandelier that was only hanging by its power cord when we arrived. (It was fixed at our request.)
3. The televisions were embarrassingly small and old. (They couldn't have been more than 25-27 inches and had horrible sound and picture. Call me picky, but I expect more modern technology for the price we paid.)
4. The "state of the art" gym was pathetic. The weight machine was torn in multiple places, the only eliptical machine was being held together by duct tape, there were no free weights, the floor was dirty, the room was constantly out of towels, and there was no hand sanitizer or spray. (I used the gym 6 of our 7 days and each morning it looked like no one had even come in to straighted up from the day before. Did I mention that the gym doesn't even open until 7am?) It does have a large plasma TV, though - maybe the owners think this makes the gym worthy of a "state of the art" title? Not quite.

We did have a pleasant experience at the pool (indoor pool is heated -nice touch) and spa (we purchased massages), but neither was exceptional.

My recommendation would be to stay at Kingsgate over Governor's Green any day. Oh, and if you are called on your first day for
a "satisfaction survey," skip it at all costs - it's just a sales pitch. (Or reschedule for the last day of your stay and tell them what
you REALLY think of the place!)

  • Liked — It was roomy
  • Disliked — Pathetically small/old televisions, worn/outdated furnishings
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Governor's Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.