We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic visit in June 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Governor's Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Governor's Green to your Saves list
Wyndham Governor's Green
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit in June 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I just returned from a visit to Williamsburg, VA. We stayed at Wyndham Governor's Green in a 3 bedroom condo. Everything was great! The front desk and activities staff were personable and helpful. The pool and hot tub were clean and accessible. The resort is a short 5 minute drive from Colonial Williamsburg, about 20 minutes to Jamestown and 30 minutes to Yorktown. There are no onsite eating options but restaurants to meet everyone's tastes within a few minutes drive. The security guard had us checked in fast on a early Sunday morning after an all-night drive so that we could quickly grab some sleep. Stay with confidence!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Resort Manager at Wyndham Governor's Green, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Srothu,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Governor's Green. We appreciate your comments about our team being friendly and helpful and we'll make sure to share your feedback with them. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you visit with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Sean Griffith
sean.griffith@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    114
    29
    16
    10
See reviews for
167
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Had three units reserved for a family vacation. Arrived to find none of the units reserved. Thank goodness for Curtis and the fact that we saved the confirmation email. We had three units all in Building 26 which was centrally located. First floor units are both a blessing and a curse. Nice to walk out onto the patio into the grassy yard but it is poop filled from the abundant ducks and geese who can be an annoyance. Also children running, jumping, etc upstairs is very noisy and annoying when trying to get young toddlers to bed early. Units are overall very nice and spacious with everything needed for home away. Nice family pool and great adults only pool too. Children enjoyed putt putt and playgrounds. No grills on site but that was not a problem as we brought a portable one. Would recommend this to families but beware it can be noisy. (Tree frogs making a fuss as I write this.)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Resort Manager at Wyndham Governor's Green, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We appreciate your feedback foodlovr22. We have already shared your kind comments with Curtis. We're glad to see you had a chance to enjoy our miniature golf, playgrounds, and pools. Please come back to see us again and thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Sean Griffith
sean.griffith@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Excellent location if you want to see Old Town Williamsburg or Jamestown. You could be there in less then 10min. Convenient to lots of restaurants. Very Clean property with 2 large outdoor pools, one family one for adults only, plus an indoor pool. Everyday activities for the kids, to keep them busy, some you have to pay for. Bush Gardens & Waterworld about 30 min.

Room Tip: be prepaired for heavy sales pitch to buy into the timeshare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Resort Manager at Wyndham Governor's Green, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi Gary L, thank you for your great feedback on the resort! We are conveniently located to many of the area's attractions. We're happy you had a chance to get out and explore. We are just as happy you were able to spend time on property and enjoy our many pools and activities. We hope you come back to see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Sean Griffith
sean.griffith@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I just left on Fathers Day the guard at the gate had a very pretty smile and was very helpful she helped me get to the interstate with no problem. She was great I turned around just to get her name so I can write this review her name was Holliman or holland one of them. I really enjoyed my stay the room was spacious and clean. I been here for 3 days on business and I been going in and out and the guards at the gate didnt wave or smile or even acknowledge me thats why it was such a big deal when she was so curtious. I havent seen her in those three days but once sunday morning maybe she is new. Someone give her a raise she deserves it she has excellent customer service skills.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Resort Manager at Wyndham Governor's Green, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you mbolnmc for your kind words about the customer service. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you come to visit us again. I'm confident on a return trip that you'll find our Guards much friendlier as you come and go from the property.

Sincerely,

Sean Griffith
sean.griffith@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our first time to this Resort and area. The unit was clean and spacious. Staff members were polite and helpful. We had to call for a small leak and broken door handle and they were taken care of quickly. They have an adult only pool which we took advantage of. Will be staying here again when we go back to this area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Resort Manager at Wyndham Governor's Green, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you Aimee G for your very kind words about the resort! The Adult Pool is indeed a great area to relax. We are so glad you had an opportunity to enjoy it during your vacation. Please come back and see us again!

Warmest regards,

Sean Griffith
sean.griffith@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at Governors Green for 4 nights in April with our daughter, son-in-law and two small Grand kids. The resort is well kept ans the rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The setting is ideal for visiting Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Busch Gardens. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from. We took advantage of the indoor pool and jacuzzi, as the outdoor pools were not yet open. We had the pool all to ourselves as it was still a little off season. As a timeshare owner with Wyndham, we are accustomed to the fact that they try to get you to sign up for a free breakfast and an update to review the benefits of timeshare ownership. If you are not interested, you simply need to say NO, and leave it at that. It is not required that you attend a sales meeting. We love the Wyndham resorts as they are always well maintained and the grounds are well kept.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Resort Manager at Wyndham Governor's Green, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hello Jay H, thank you for taking the time to share your family's nice experience at the resort. The outdoor pools are now open as well with the Adult Pool area recently receiving a facelift. It looks great! We hope you come back to visit us soon!

Thanks again!

Sean Griffith
sean.griffith@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We vacationed in the Williamsburg in late May with friends & stayed at the Wyndham Governor’s Green. It is an excellent location from which to launch day trips into Williamsburg & surrounding areas. It appears to be relatively new & is a very clean & bright & nicely landscaped although some areas look unfinished. We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit which is very nicely laid out with privacy for all guests. We toured the 2 bdrm unit as well which is also laid out nicely for guest privacy. May was still a little cool for the outdoor pool, but we took full advantage of the indoor pool & we enjoyed the mini-golf on a sunny day. The putting green was right outside our unit & our traveling partners were out there every day we were there. Our 3 bdrm unit was clean & comfortable & the master bedroom was spacious with a comfortable bed, flat screen TV, Jacuzzi tub, separate shower & double sink. The kitchen is reasonably well equipped & we cooked several meals there. The unit is near the strip with all the restaurants & stores, & only a few minutes from the Historic District. I see some folks have had trouble with the invitation to the Sales Hype, but I simply said no emphatically 3 times & that was that. We will definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Resort Manager at Wyndham Governor's Green, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you SnoopyRock for you kind comments. We are happy that you were able to enjoy your stay at the resort utilizing our indoor pool, putting green, and miniature golf course. Again, thank you for reaching out and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sean Griffith
sean.griffith@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.0 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
#22 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#26 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#14 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Governor's Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.