We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Governor's Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Governor's Green to your Saves list
Wyndham Governor's Green
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
kansas city MO
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

stayed 1 week -7 adults, 1 teen. Had two ,two bedrooms adjoining. Layout is pretty spacious.Had lots of pantry space which I think could have been used for the washer/dryer instead of having it the unit in the master bathroom. Grounds are spotless! spent a lot of time in the indoor pool. Bingo is twice a week . Lots of fun and a chance to meet some of the other guests. Kitchen well stocked . Beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows, which is pretty much a must for me-(makes the vacation) A few minor issues with the room. No hot water early one morning (the maintenance man took the time to explain the reason why). Staff was friendly and nice. The ladies were really good about explaining pool towel returns,computer use etc. Stayed on 2nd floor which meant you could hear footsteps from the 3rd floor unit (good thing they were not night owls!) Probably the only negative is -no trees which means no escape from the sun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    104
    23
    13
    9
See reviews for
143
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our family of 2 adults, 1 senior and 2 kids stayed here for a week. We had a very nice 3 bedroom condo on the 3rd (top) floor. It was great to have so much space. There was a Master, a king bedroom and the kids shared a room with 2 queens.We had 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen with a breakfast bar. It was a great convenience to have the washer and dryer. We had 4 TVs but only used the one in the living room. Our balcony overlooked the tennis court.

The building we were in was located very close to the community hall. They have a nice outdoor pool with a zero entry, though the water was cold. It warmed up towards the end of the week – but I would still say it was “refreshing”. We took our own beach towels to the pool to avoid having to sign pool towels in and out.

The resort is in a good location. It is close to the Outlets, Kmart, the new Super Walmart and many restuarant. The best place we dined all week was the Sunday Brunch at St Demetrio's just down the road from the condo. I highly recommend it.

Although Kingsgate has a slightly better location, I thought Governor’s Green was nicer.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in a spacious two bedroom, two bath unit with a washer and dryer. The unit was bright and pleasant. The living room overlooked a nice pond with ducks and a fountain. The unit was nicely refurbished. We requested a unit on the third floor about two weeks before we arrived. Our request was granted and our unit was waiting for us when we arrived in the mid afternoon.

We had a maintenance issue with the dryer. The man came to fix it within about 15 minutes of our call in the evening. The problem was fixed later that evening.

You will need a rental car to visit area attractions. We flew into Richmond Airport and rented a car there. The attractions and restaurants are all within about 15 minutes to 1/2 hour or so.

We purchased Bounce passes on-line prior to our trip. The Bounce Passes included admission to Busch Gardens, Water Country and Colonial Williamsburg and parking.

We took a side trip to Washington DC with Oleta Tours (recommended). Please see review for details.

Our family enjoyed the main outdoor pool, but did not care for the indoor pool. My husband said that the the adult pool was very nice.

The kids borrowed some board games and rented a DVD.

This was a nice property. I would return and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: 3rd floor 2 bedroom end unit was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

So family of 4 with a 4 and 6 yr, so we try to stay in timeshares for room. As with all Wyndham brands clean and well kept units. 3 pools on indoor one out and one just for adults. Free putt putt corse and plenty of other activities. Check in was a breeze. We did the update an they stayed true to the 45mins. If coming to Williamsburg stay here hands down great place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I see all the great reviews this place has gotten and I'm feeling a little bad. But here is my perspective. We reserved three apartments--two two-bedroom and one three-bedroom--and the space is adequate and laid out well. The entire family is here. The decor, despite the granite, is dated and depressing. There are two huge pantries in the kitchen, which I wish I could have at my house, but they're just wasted space here. I've been under the weather and have spent two days in the unit. All of today has been taken up by a huge elderly lawn mower-- first in front and now out back. It is spewing gas fumes--did not pass inspection?--and it's making me sicker. Sitting on the balcony is nauseating. The rail hasn't been cleaned in many years. There's a half inch gap right at my sight line and it's filthy. The rest of it is studded with old and new spider webs with inse cts both living and dead (in case you get bored) and of course all sizes of spider busy at work. The worst part of this place is the Internet. The free connection is only two bars of connectivity--took all day to read email. So, not having a great time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This property is beautiful. Stayed in a 3bd Deluxe unit, granite countertops, nice view, excellent layout, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly at check-in. Thought the security at the front gate was also a plus. Best part was that this resort was convenient to everything! HIghly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

For my family's stay in Williamsburg, we used our timeshare to stay at Governor's Green. Upon arrivial, I noted immediately that the property was stunning. The condos were grouped in huge mansion like stuctures. It honestly looked like an old plantation. The room was equally lovely. We stayed in a huge 3 bedroom 2 bathroom unit. There was plenty of closet space and the living room was very nice. We cooked every night and the kitchen was more than adequate.
The service was amazing as soon as we arrived. The front desk and the presentation-sellers both helped us out a lot with location. That being said, interactions with management went from friendly to civil after we declined attending the timeshare presentation.
The location was very central to the historical triangle. Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown are all within a half hour. There's some great shopping ten or fifteen minutes away and Busch Gardens is about a half hour away.
Overall I would definitely recommend staying here. The rooms and property were lovely and the location was convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Governor's Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.