We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Governor's Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Governor's Green to your Saves list
Wyndham Governor's Green
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The weeks we went was so peaceful and quiet. ducks and geese were all around, but it was so relaxing. Plenty of places to eat. Shopping was great at the outlet mall. We visited Jamestown and Williamsburg.

Room Tip: If you do not want the ducks to come near, get a second or third floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at Wyndham Governor's Green April 7 - 14, 2013. Unit good size, clean and located next to water and fountain. Quiet relaxed atmosphere. Staff pleasant though they could offer a better orientation to the property on check in. Pretty close to everything (Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, Historic Jamestown, shopping, restaurants, etc) one might want to do. There is no restaurant nor convenience store on site. Living room furniture could do with replacement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyBds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Wyndham Governors Green is only 3 miles away from the historic district. We are actually Wyndham timeshare owners and love this property.
The property is sprawling and is kept up beautifully. We love to walk and it gives you a lot of area to walk and feel safe.
It is just off 64 so you can pop over to Norfolk and Va beach easily.
One street over is the main drag of Richmond with tons of shopping and great restaurants. Restaurants: Do not miss Sals by Victor, Astronomical Pancakes, Seafare or Rocco's (bbq)
And the Trellis in historic district.
SKIP over Captain Georges. Really poor.
Great place to stay and very central.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NCMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from our stay at Wyndham Govenors Green....Area and unit was clean and open, not as crowded as the other wyndhams in Williamsburg. Staff was quiet and helpful, not too bothersome.

Majority of the attractions are nearby, shopping, restaurants....glad I showed up after spring break, will certainly return to Govenors Green

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvocadoNTomatoe... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friends and I stayed in a third floor, three bedroom unit with a balcony. There appeared to be a lot of people on the property, but things were quiet. The check-in staff was polite and provided me with a map of teh area that was easy to follow. The resort is a short drive to anything you would want from chain restaurants to local restaurants to tourists sites to shopping at the outlets. All seemed to have been within a 1 to 3 mile radius of the resort. We had a very nice, two-night stay, but didn't get a chance to enjoy all the amenities of the resort or Williamsburg. I plan to return late summer, early fall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent three days here with my family for Spring Break. Overall, the units were spacious, new, and close to Williamsburg.

The good:
- Large space - We had a two bedroom unit which had a gigantic master bath suite with hot tub, separate toilet and shower. We felt spacious with five people.
- Location - 3 miles, five minute drive to the Williamsburg visitor center
- Common areas - there was an indoor and outdoor pool, game room, and mini-golf.

The negative:
- You have to drive to the visitor center - there is a small walking trail around property, but you will need to drive to get to Williamsburg or to dinner. I think if I came again, I would stay were I could walk to Williamsburg. While it is only five minutes to the visitor center, then you have another 10 minute walk or 5-15 minutes for a shuttle to the main areas of Williamsburg.
- Furniture - beds were good, but the living room furniture was uncomfortable - basic rental unit items
- No washer and dryer in the unit.
- Cleaning - The kitchen and bathroom were clean and sparkling, but found popcorn under the bed and an old water bottle under the sofa.
- Thin walls/floors - We could hear the family upstairs. They had small children scampering but they sounded much louder at 11:00 at night.

The property has about 12 buildings, each building three stories tall with four units per floor. There are elevators in the buildings. There is a visitor center with the pools, snack shop, computers, and game room. There are three separate pools - an indoor pool, a main outdoor pool, and a separate adult-only pool. Ironically, the adult only pool is very seculed from the main pool but adjacent to the small playground and mini-golf. There is a paved .25 mile walking trail around the property.

Each unit maybe different, but our unit had a main room with a sofa-bed, two very uncomfortable chairs, coffee table, dinning room table that sat six, and a kitchen area with breakfast bar and two stools. The kitchen had the typical rental unit items - basic oven, full size refrigerator/freezer, microwave, toaster, coffee maker. The bare minimum of pots, pans, and baking sheets - you could make spagetti and cookies. Tableware for 8. The first bedroom had a large bathroom with two sinks and a pocket door to shower and toilet. The bedroom had two twin beds and a small closet, chest, and TV. The master bedroom had a king bed. It had a large alcove with sink and two person hot tub. From there, it had a separate bathroom with large shower, sink, and tiolet.

Some other comments:
- The buildings have some structural problem - they had 4x4s supporting most of the balconies. Not an issue as a renter, but a concern if you plan to bought into this property.
- I came here during Spring Break and it was relatively cool. This is a newer property without any mature trees - it will be hot during the summer.
- There is a Orthodox Church next door that has a big brunch buffet every Sunday.
- The mini-golf on-property was closed when we were there, but my son loved the huge Pirates Cove Mini-golf down the road.
-

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bmantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful property. Spacious rooms. We had a walk out unit 2 bedroom near lighted tennis course and 2 ponds. Our spring trip had ducks and Canadian geese in the ponds. Safe beautiful greens space for my sons Easter egg hunt and soccer practice. Pools were nice but not 25 yd lap pools....yet lines in the pool made me think they were. Mini golf was under renovation but the staff offered a busier kings gate property which was kind and appreciated. Full stocked kitchen and laundry .... great family vacation!!! Will recommend to family and friends!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.0 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
#29 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#27 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing