We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Governor's Green

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Governor's Green to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Governor's Green
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bridgetown, Barbados
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at Wyndham Governor's Green April 7 - 14, 2013. Unit good size, clean and located next to water and fountain. Quiet relaxed atmosphere. Staff pleasant though they could offer a better orientation to the property on check in. Pretty close to everything (Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, Historic Jamestown, shopping, restaurants, etc) one might want to do. There is no restaurant nor convenience store on site. Living room furniture could do with replacement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    18
    13
    8
See reviews for
129
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Wyndham Governors Green is only 3 miles away from the historic district. We are actually Wyndham timeshare owners and love this property.
The property is sprawling and is kept up beautifully. We love to walk and it gives you a lot of area to walk and feel safe.
It is just off 64 so you can pop over to Norfolk and Va beach easily.
One street over is the main drag of Richmond with tons of shopping and great restaurants. Restaurants: Do not miss Sals by Victor, Astronomical Pancakes, Seafare or Rocco's (bbq)
And the Trellis in historic district.
SKIP over Captain Georges. Really poor.
Great place to stay and very central.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from our stay at Wyndham Govenors Green....Area and unit was clean and open, not as crowded as the other wyndhams in Williamsburg. Staff was quiet and helpful, not too bothersome.

Majority of the attractions are nearby, shopping, restaurants....glad I showed up after spring break, will certainly return to Govenors Green

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friends and I stayed in a third floor, three bedroom unit with a balcony. There appeared to be a lot of people on the property, but things were quiet. The check-in staff was polite and provided me with a map of teh area that was easy to follow. The resort is a short drive to anything you would want from chain restaurants to local restaurants to tourists sites to shopping at the outlets. All seemed to have been within a 1 to 3 mile radius of the resort. We had a very nice, two-night stay, but didn't get a chance to enjoy all the amenities of the resort or Williamsburg. I plan to return late summer, early fall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent three days here with my family for Spring Break. Overall, the units were spacious, new, and close to Williamsburg.

The good:
- Large space - We had a two bedroom unit which had a gigantic master bath suite with hot tub, separate toilet and shower. We felt spacious with five people.
- Location - 3 miles, five minute drive to the Williamsburg visitor center
- Common areas - there was an indoor and outdoor pool, game room, and mini-golf.

The negative:
- You have to drive to the visitor center - there is a small walking trail around property, but you will need to drive to get to Williamsburg or to dinner. I think if I came again, I would stay were I could walk to Williamsburg. While it is only five minutes to the visitor center, then you have another 10 minute walk or 5-15 minutes for a shuttle to the main areas of Williamsburg.
- Furniture - beds were good, but the living room furniture was uncomfortable - basic rental unit items
- No washer and dryer in the unit.
- Cleaning - The kitchen and bathroom were clean and sparkling, but found popcorn under the bed and an old water bottle under the sofa.
- Thin walls/floors - We could hear the family upstairs. They had small children scampering but they sounded much louder at 11:00 at night.

The property has about 12 buildings, each building three stories tall with four units per floor. There are elevators in the buildings. There is a visitor center with the pools, snack shop, computers, and game room. There are three separate pools - an indoor pool, a main outdoor pool, and a separate adult-only pool. Ironically, the adult only pool is very seculed from the main pool but adjacent to the small playground and mini-golf. There is a paved .25 mile walking trail around the property.

Each unit maybe different, but our unit had a main room with a sofa-bed, two very uncomfortable chairs, coffee table, dinning room table that sat six, and a kitchen area with breakfast bar and two stools. The kitchen had the typical rental unit items - basic oven, full size refrigerator/freezer, microwave, toaster, coffee maker. The bare minimum of pots, pans, and baking sheets - you could make spagetti and cookies. Tableware for 8. The first bedroom had a large bathroom with two sinks and a pocket door to shower and toilet. The bedroom had two twin beds and a small closet, chest, and TV. The master bedroom had a king bed. It had a large alcove with sink and two person hot tub. From there, it had a separate bathroom with large shower, sink, and tiolet.

Some other comments:
- The buildings have some structural problem - they had 4x4s supporting most of the balconies. Not an issue as a renter, but a concern if you plan to bought into this property.
- I came here during Spring Break and it was relatively cool. This is a newer property without any mature trees - it will be hot during the summer.
- There is a Orthodox Church next door that has a big brunch buffet every Sunday.
- The mini-golf on-property was closed when we were there, but my son loved the huge Pirates Cove Mini-golf down the road.
-

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful property. Spacious rooms. We had a walk out unit 2 bedroom near lighted tennis course and 2 ponds. Our spring trip had ducks and Canadian geese in the ponds. Safe beautiful greens space for my sons Easter egg hunt and soccer practice. Pools were nice but not 25 yd lap pools....yet lines in the pool made me think they were. Mini golf was under renovation but the staff offered a busier kings gate property which was kind and appreciated. Full stocked kitchen and laundry .... great family vacation!!! Will recommend to family and friends!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We rolled up to Governor's Green at 8 p.m. at night after a long and exhausting day at Busch Gardens with our 8 and 5 year old boys and Nana. The check-in process was painless, and they explained that there was an indoor pool, billiards, a playground and more. She then pointed me to the concierge to get my parking pass. The concierge (what they call their timeshare salesperson) did a very low-key pitch stating that we could come to a free breakfast on Sunday or Monday (no golf cart ride or anything) and they would give us $70. She also gave us a few coupon books to use at area restaurants and shops. It was possible that we would have done that, but she didn't pressure us to sign anywhere or give any commitment. In the end we didn't have the time, and all we received was one phone call asking if we were going. When we said no, there was no pressure. I appreciated that.
To the property itself - we were in a 3 bedroom unit - Rm 1825 for which we paid under $200. It was spacious with a dining room table, a flat screen television in the LR area, and a television in the boys' room (2 queen beds). Nana had separate K BR with the jacuzzi tub and separate standing shower. We took the third room next to the boys - with a king size bed. The bed was very soft, but I slept well and had no complaints. The little touches (i.e. towels folded in the shape of hearts etc.) were cute. And everything was exceptionally clean. We had a lovely view onto the pond outside - which was even lovelier when we had a late March snow later that weekend. The water pressure for the shower was fine, but I would have liked a more modern showerhead. We were on the second floor, so we did occasionally here the elephants clomping across the floor overhead. Not enough to wake anyone, but definitely noticeable. Also, there is an elevator to get you up to the second floor with all your stuff. We did not lack hot water. And the boys seriously enjoyed Nana's jacuzzi tub. The kitchen was a full kitchen that was fully stocked with dish ware. I would highly recommend this unit for a family looking to cut down on costs by not eating out every night. Plenty of space to spread out. Check out was a breeze. My only regret is that we did not have time to check out any of the amenities. It was also about a 10 minute drive from Busch Gardens and 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg Visitors Center.

Room Tip: Try for a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#28 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Governor's Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.