We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely large beautiful condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Governor's Green

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Governor's Green to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Governor's Green
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“extremely large beautiful condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. We booked through extraholidays by wyndham,
This unit was huge with full amenities, and in beautiful condition, and the price was cheaper than the Williamsburg Marriotts and Holiday Inns, which was surprising to us. It's very close to the premium outlets and the historic part of Williamsburg. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
130
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have stayed here many many times....and absolutely LOVE the resort, the location, the amenities. However, this time, we booked the 1 bedroom suite...and have some issues to share...just so others will be aware. Usually the rooms are spacious, with views of the putting green, water fountains, etc. This one bedroom unit, however is really small, basic. To start - the windows all open up onto the passageways - so that when you are IN your room or living area, you really can't leave them open - unless you want anyone to be able to walk by and see in. NO PRIVACY. So, we've kept the curtains closed...and it is dark and claustrophobic.
The living room area is tiny - the couch very very worn and frayed. The kitchen table is completely on the other side of the living area from the kitchen. (we moved the table for while we are here). The kitchen is a "pullman' style - small fridge, sink and minimal cabinets (no counter space). I can truly say I've never seen a "half size" stove/oven and dishwasher - literally 1/2 as wide as usual (but useful and functional!). It includes a microwave. No storage means pots/pans are in the oven, and silverware in the overhead cabinet, had to store our food on top of the fridge....trash can across the room. And the bathroom is literally right beside the kitchen....not very sanitary.

The bedroom is fine - tv in both rooms...and their beds and linens are top quality as usual.

Finally - it is a bit noisy - since the unit is surrounded on 3 sides by other units, and a lock-off door...we hear more than usual activities in them.

We tried to upgrade, but the desk said they couldn't make any changes.

Next time - will make sure and reserve at least the 1 bedroom "deluxe"....or two .... or three...or four....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell NM
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were some of the first to stay on this property when they opened ten years ago. Now the resort is completely built up and we very much enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff was attentive to our needs. We enjoyed complimentary cookies and coffee at check-in time. Our unit was wonderful - the three bedroom was huge. The unit had everything you'd need to make basic meals, so we enjoyed cooking most of our own food. We were thankful for the washing machines, too. Complimentary internet was a plus, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Only very small maintenance issues with three bedroom unit. Kitchen - sink faucet a bit tricky. Need new core for single level faucet. Dishwasher - utensil basket needs to be replaced along with springs in door. Door is becoming a real knee buster.
Otherwise - wonderful! Maintenance effort is on-going and with housekeeping staff doing a super job as well.

  • Liked — Well maintained facility
  • Disliked — The eternal scam of having to go to desk numer 2 to pick up a parking pass -- which is only a ruse to trap the visitor into another time share sale indoctrination
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis Port, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent the first week in October at the Wyndham Governor's Green. It was a perfect location for a golf vacation. Two couples shared a 2 bedroom suite and it was just great. We each had our own bedrooms (with our own TVs) & bathrooms and complete privacy, and we shared a spacious kitchen with counter seating and dining table and a comfortable living room...and small patio. We made breakfasts and lunches daily. We enjoyed the hot tubs, walking paths and pool table. There were other activities (mini golf etc)...but we were all about the golf. And The Governor's Green is in the perfect spot for enjoying all the great courses in Williamsburg....all just 10-15 minutes away. Truly some of the most beautiful (and toughest) courses we have played on. It is just as convenient to great dining ..everything from classic chain restaurants to local gems, as well as Historic Williamsburg itself. The staff was always polite and helpful in the limited interactions we had. The grounds were clean and well manicured. It was really a great spot and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This a great place for a get away. The area is big and well maintained. There's a 24hr security at the gate. Check in is 4pm. We got there 2hrs early but our room was not ready. So they really stick with that 4pm checked in. You get ur parking pass at the concierge that gives you a binder full of flyers, magazines and coupon about the area but they will also try to get you to sit for a timeshare presentation in exchange of either a free lunch or breakfast. and a discounted Tix to any attractions of your choice. I signed up but when I told my hubby he didn't want to do it so we didnt attend the presentation and they weren't pushy at least the lady in charge was not. The resort looks nice from the outside. Each unit is three story and we were on the first floor which I'm glad because I have four kids. We had a two bedroom plus a couch that turns into a bed. The master bedroom had its own shower and jet tub separately. The second bedroom has two queen beds and a bathroom/shower. Our room was equipped with washer and dryer. The kitchen was well equipped with everything u need for cooking or baking. They even provide paper towels and soap, sponge and laundry detergent. their tv's were flat screen except the 2nd bedroom. The beds were very comfy. The couch looks a little outdated but it was clean and serve its purpose. The whole room was spacious. The resort is very close to attractions like colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Busch garden. It's close to shoppings and restaurants. The resort has both indoor and 2outdoor swimming pool one is for adult only. It has billiard and computer room and a theater room for movie night. parking is no problem. The whole area is quiet. It was like our home away from home. The only downside they clean the unit once a week only and they don't exchange or provide new towels. You have to wash your dirty towels. But over all we enjoyed our one week stay there. The kids love their room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed a full week in a 3 bedroom unit and we were pleasantly surprised at how spacious it was. Our unit had a view of the lake which was really nice in the early evening. The resort is very well maintained and the grounds are beautiful. There was some noise from the family above, but overall it was a very comfortable week. We had a small problem with ants in the kitchen area but the staff was very responsive to our call and sent someone right away. The problem was taken care of immediately. The location is fantastic...minutes from shopping, restaurants, local attractions and the highway. Some of the resort activities were shared with a neighboring resort which didn't appeal to us at all. The activities were limited and nothing really interested us. However, there is alot to do in the area. The pools, which we did use, were well maintained. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The buildings have elevators so top floor units are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Governor's Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.