We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WORST BBQ EVER!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hot & Blue

Red Hot & Blue
1622 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2724
7572591670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 348 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“THE WORST BBQ EVER!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This place sucks, We placed our drink order and our food came out with the drinks way to fast for a bbq. Once I tasted the food I understood why tastless garage. The food tasted like it had Been sitting all day under a hot lamp. Dry nasty ribs and mushy tastless pulled pork. I order the Tennessee triple (which comes with st.Louis style ribs,weird) My wife ordered the southern fried tenders and fries what a joke it tasted like bad bowling alley food!!! I use trip advisor all the time but this time I don't know, four star this place doesn't make sense. RH&B isn't even ok bbq it is just garage.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    209
    89
    54
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good ribs!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We ate here because 3 other restaurants we wanted to eat at had long wait. We got seated quickly. Our food came out too quick I thought. My husband had the dry ribs..they were really good, fall of the bone. I had beef brisket which was good also. The garlic mash was good. Good and not too expensive.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific Eats and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Dinner was everything BBQ should be - great smoke, great complex taste and great service! And we love BBQ! Veronica was the perfect server. She somehow knew when we needed something and when we didn't. She made recommendations that were spot on - from the beer to the menu! I don't usually try local beers because I'm finicky. But tried one on her recommendation and it was quite a pleasant surprise! Great food and a superb server made for a very nice evening!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst BBQ ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I went here on Valentine's night. I was very excited because I read reviews that this place was great. I was UNDERwhelmed! The pulled pork sandwich I got was FLAVORLESS and the BBQ sauce on it the Mojo BBQ wasn't flavorful. I tried every BBQ sauce that was available on the table and they were all horrible especially the sweet one. I consider myself a BBQ sauce lover and I was really let down. The BBQ beans were ok and the dessert I got banana pudding was HORRIBLE!!! It tasted like they mixed up the instant pudding box mix add water to it and added a ton of sliced bananas to it. BLAH!!! My husband got the brisket and pulled pork and he said it ok nothing special. Our server Emma was great tho but I'm sorry I wouldn't recommend this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I chose Red, Hot & Blue because I didn't have a lot of time, but wanted great food. This restaurant delivered and more. Everything was excellent - the drink (I had great sweet tea), the food (I had the triple platter - pulled port, chicken and ribs). The service, provided by Emma, was quick, polite and friendly. Could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hot & Blue also viewed

 

Been to Red Hot & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hot & Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.