We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Locally Owned Spot for a drink and/or meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Leafe Cafe

Green Leafe Cafe
765 Scotland St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3545
(757) 220-3405
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 333 restaurants in Williamsburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Locally Owned Spot for a drink and/or meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Food was good. Lots of different sandwiches to choose from. Their drinks were reasonably priced. And they have a huge drink menu with lots of fun/new options to try. We enjoyed ourselves!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    18
    49
    12
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“always nasty and gross”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Living just a few blocks from there it was for a long time the place to go. Over the past 4 years it has gotten worse and worse. The food quality is poor, never cooking anything right, it coming out cold, less meat and less fries (maybe to save money?) service is intermittent but normally poor. They have tons of beers on top- the problem is they never clean their lines so pints always come with floaters or taste off. I go every so often to see if they stepped up their game to compete with the other pubs/bars in town and its always getting worse or staying at its already bad level. Bathrooms are beyond nasty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Craft brews and a college pub setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Green Leafe has a reputation as being one of the first pubs in the area to offer a selection of American craft beer years ago, and they continue that tradition to this day. A better than average pub menu helps compliment your beverage choices.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsaburg, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

great restaurant/cafe to gather for conversation, beverage, and food. Service is friendly and good place to meet your local friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My travel companion and I wanted to find a nice, dark comfortable pub for a rainy Saturday - so, we asked a hostess at another place (bad us...), and she told us to go to the Green Leaf. And than goodness she did... Wonderful beer selection, good whiskeys, excellent food and great staff. We sat at the bar and were helped out by the fantastic Sterling (yes, Sterling, this is "some lady" to whom you offered to sell your shirt :D ). I had the reuben with french fries, which were really the best fries I've ever had - crispy and tender on the inside. Excellent. My buddy had the brisket, and he liked it so well that he didn't offer me a bite. My only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer and drank more. My next trip to Williamsburg will definitely include special trip to this pub. I wish it was possible to make it my local. Thanks for a great afternoon, folks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Leafe Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Green Leafe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Leafe Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.