We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and romantic so make a reservation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kitchen At Powhatan Plantation

Kitchen At Powhatan Plantation
3601 Ironbound Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188
7572537893
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 341 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Price range: $1 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Beatrice, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quaint and romantic so make a reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Historic Powhatan and walked over to the kitchen for dinner. It was one of the best meals my husband and I have ever had. The small dining space seemed crowded at first but then just became quaint and cozy through the meal experience. Our waiter seemed to be everywhere at one, keeping up with everyone's needs and being very personable for any request asked. Because seating is limited, be sure to make a reservation for the time you prefer. If the weather is nice, the seating outside on the deck would be wonderful too.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    36
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A superb dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

This was a fabulous dining experience! We went here after checking tripadvisor and reviewing the prices and menus. They serve gourmet food and the price is a bit expensive. However, it is WELL worth it. Unlike most gourmet food restaurants, they do not give tiny portions. The food was just fantastic! The waiter was knowledgable and very friendly and attentive. We were made to feel very special during our dining experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We ate here on our last night at the Powhatan resort, the manager was really friendly and welcoming.
He was really helpful when we were making our choices and he gave us lots of tips.
I had the Baby Spinach salad and the Pork chop and my husband had the beef carpaccio and the venison, the food was first class! it was tasty, well balanced and delicious.
If the weather is nice then it is really nice to sit outside, a tip though would be to call up and book as the restaurant is quite small and they aren't open very night, but it is well worth the extra effort to book!
I would recommend this restaurant to other guests and anyone in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We went for "wing night" on Wednesday night.
We shared a starter of wings with buffalo sauce which were yum and for mains we had chicken and bourbon sauce and crab cakes which were really great but the portions were huge!
we then decided to share the pecan pie & ice cream as we really loved the sound of the sweets!
The whole meal was really good and the service was warm & friendly, can't fault this really nice eatery!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The service was really good, and the chicken caesar salad was great, but the cosmo the bartender/server/cashier made me needed work. But to be fair, everyone can't be good at everything, and she was doing everything. :)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen At Powhatan Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Kitchen At Powhatan Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitchen At Powhatan Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.