We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Williamsburg Plantation to your Saves list
Williamsburg Plantation
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4870 Longhill Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia Beach, VA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

We had an excellent stay at the Williamsburg Plantation. We stayed from 5/26/07 - 6/2/07 and thought the place was great. We probably had an older unit (it had a wood fireplace instead of gas, and was a lower number unit), but it was still really nice. It was strange that the master bedroom (the one w/the phone and TV) had a standard bathroom while the second bedroom had the Jacuzzi tub, but we just put the kids in the master bedroom and stayed in the other one. The Jacuzzi tub was HUGE! I'm not exactly a small guy (6'1", 240), and I could easily sprawl out in it. There was also a sauna in the bathroom, but it was hot enough during the week that we didn't try to use it.

One of the biggest surprises was the fact that local calls were free, as were DVD/VHS rentals. Our room had both DVD and VHS players. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, so we never took advantage of the rentals, but they had a pretty wide variety of titles available.

Minor quibbles: the large bathroom only had one small shelf for toothpaste, shaving stuff, etc. The staff was very pleasant, but there weren't as many activities hosted at the site as I have come to expect at Interval resorts.

  • Liked — Huge Jacuzzi tub
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    225
    130
    65
    57
See reviews for
325
149
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boonsboro, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

My family and I (2 adults and toddler) stayed at Williamsburg Plantation during the week of May 13-20. We exchanged there through Interval.
We checked in late Sunday evening without any problems. The desk staff was courteous and helpful. We never encountered any that were rude or surly.

We exchanged for a 2 bedroom and that's what we got. It was very nice and appeared to be almost brand new. The master bedroom was in the front with the large master bath connected. It had a whirlpool bath, seperate shower, and seperate toilet. The second bedroom was next to the bath and had its own full bathroom with a tub. We had a living room with a flat-screen TV and DVD and VHS players. We had a dining table with 6 chairs and a full kitchen--full size stove, dishwasher, fridge, and all the needed kitchen utensils. Again everything looked almost brand new. The unit also came with a vacuum cleaner, broom & dust pan, laundry basket and flyswatters. Our washer and dryer were on the second floor landing, a short walk up two flights of stairs that we shared with the unit above us.

There was no maid service provided although for $25 they would do a mid-week refresh and replace all the towels and linens and vacuum etc. With just 3 of us, we had plenty of towels to last for the week. The also included pool/beach towels in each bedroom.
They also would do a towel exchange on request for $6.

The resort does look like a large condo/townhouse community, but that works really well for our family. With a toddler, the more home-like the setting the better that works for us. Being able to park right in front of the unit makes it easy to carry in groceries and sleeping toddlers.

Other nice amenities included the indoor pool, which we never got a chance to use, 4 tennis courts, which we used every day and the tot lot (kids playground0) which we used several days. The clubhouse also had free movies to borrow, a small arcade room and an Internet center where you could use free hi-speed internet for 15 minutes at a time or use your laptop with the wireless service.

The resort is located within a quick drive (5-10 mins) of Super Wal-Mart, Food Lion, IHOP and a host of other restaurants. Golden Corral has a great breakfast buffet. It is also a short drive (about an hour) to Virginia Beach and Norfolk and all that those places have to offer.

One of the few drawbacks was that they were building a new wing of condos right in front of ours (217A) and they started working between 7:30 and 8:00 am. As early risers that didn't bother us much but the noise could be heard during the day during naptime for our 3-year old. We solved that by putting her to sleep in the back bedroom where the noise couldn't be heard, especially with the air condintion running.

Overall, we had a great time at Williamsburg Plantation. It was really comfortable and met all of our needs. We definitely plan to go back there in the near future.

  • Liked — The comforts of home
  • Disliked — Hearing my upstairs neighbor walking around
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

We stayed at Williamsburg Plantation for one week, May 18-25 2007. We booked here through our timeshare, and we liked the fact that we could check in either Thursday, Friday, or Saturday. Check-in was well organized and shortly, we were in our two bedroom, two bath "apartment". The place was clean and organized, stocked with every amenity in the kitchen. We were pleased to find a DVD player in the living room, and free DVD rentals were available at the clubhouse.

The grounds were well kept, though dimly lit at night. Both indoor and outdoor pools were maintained. Each apartment came with a picnic table and grill outside the patio.

Our only complaint would be the odd set up of the bedroom. The smaller bedroom had the larger full bed with accompanying bathrooms, while the larger bedroom had two twin beds. Adjoining the larger bedroom was the master bath with its jacuzzi tub.

We were invited to an "informational tour" but when we declined, there was no pressure to attend.

If planning a trip, especially with a large group or family, consider this property. Its away from the noise of most of the attractions, but easily a five minute drive to anywhere in the Williamsburg area.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

We found this review website the night before our trip to Williamsburg Plantation and were a little worried about our accomodations due to the bad reviews. We called ahead and asked for a newer unit and were told they didn't have a new one but the one we were assigned (110B) was about 3 years old. We requested two Pack N Plays and a high chair. They were very accomodating although they charged us $60 for these.

The staff was very pleasant at check in. Room was a pleasant surprise - very nice. There was no one downstairs so we got the washer/dryer to ourselves right outside our door. Such a nice feature of most timeshares - no dirty clothes when you get home!

The indoor pool was nice but was unheated - very cooooold. The staff obviously didn't EVER check the temp, chlorine content or pH, as the info on the wall never changed except for the date. Another guest shared that they had to deal with a beligerant desk clerk in order to get them to check the pool temp - the pilot light was out on the heater when they finally did check it. Maintenance staff was VERY prompt - they were there immediately to fix/replace everything asked, and were very accomodating with extra pillows.

Only negatives: Guests were expected to do a lot of clean up at check out. No free towel service - we had to wash and dry the ones we were given at the beginning of the week. Card keys kept losing the magnetic charge and we were CONSTANTLY having to go get them re-run through the machine. Even cards we just had charged wouldn't work. This led to one incident where our 8 month old was locked in the unit alone while we had to go to the office to get a key re-magnetized. Not good.

All in all a very pleasant stay (except for the unacceptable card key system)

  • Liked — Unit was very nice
  • Disliked — Card Key System
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

We were a little unsure about booking into this resort at first, due to the negative comments. Boy are we glad we decided to come to this resort. Upon arriving earlier than the guaranteed check-in time, we were greeted by the friendly front desk staff and immediatley assigned to a unit. We were assigned to unit 88A, which from what I was told later on, was not one of the newer units. This unit was great. From the time we checked in to the time we left, everything was superb.
They also have weekly activities and tours, most are free of charge, but some do have a fee. They offer discounted tickets
to most area attractions, although we did not need them.
Overall, I would definitley recommend this resort to others. Despite the bad reviews, everyone has their own opinion, so if your looking to have a great vacation, go here.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

Our stay at the Williamsburg Plantation was the week of 6-13 April 2007 with 2 adults, 1 teen (13 yr old girl) and our family dog (11 lbs).

My reservation experience:
I exchanged into the Williamsburg Plantation using Interval International's (II) website for members. However, because I wanted to bring our pet, I confirmed my exchange via II in January of 2007; then waited for the hard copy of the confirmation to come in the mail
- then called the front desk about 8 weeks prior to our stay and book
a "pet-friendly" unit. I was informed at this time about a $75.00 pet
cleaning fee - which I found to be very reasonable.

Check-in:
Check-in time was 4:00pm and we arrived at 4:30 and were immediately checked-in with no delays. I had to run a credit card a pay a $75.00 non-refundable pet cleaning fee and sign a "pet-regulations" sheet - which was not as bad as it seemed on paper.

Unit:
Excellent size (2bd/2bath) and appearance. Overall a great place. No
WiFi or DSL was available in the unit - only dial-up could be attained - yuk. Our unit was #20B (upstairs) with only a limited kitchen (no oven or stove) but it had a two-burner hot plate which worked just fine. There also was a barbaque grill outside. One oddity that I found was the giant master bath with two-person jacuzzi was off of the kid's bedroom (the room with 2-twin beds) and the master bedroom (queen) had a very, very small full bathroom (with
a extremely narrow tub/shower). There also were no shelves or drawers
in this bathroom - hmmm? Anyway, otherthan that - our unit was in great shape! The rooms and units were amazingly quiet and did not have paper-thin walls or doors.

Common grounds/ammenities:
I found the Nature Trail to be very nice for early morning walks and late evening walks with the dog. There were also pet walk areas complete with cleanup bags and trashcans. The outdoor pool was closed
but the indoor pool was open and our 13 yr old swam everyday. She also met no less than 5 new friends and they played basketball almost every afternoon and evening. The clubhouse had coffee and tea daily and there was WiFi available in the rec-room if you bring a WiFi laptop. Also there are 4 or 5 high-speed computers available for checking email. There was a 7-11 within walking distance and a few other places (including a bar/grill restaurant) in a very nice strip mall behind the 7-11. There are full sized grocery stores and pharmacies about 3 miles away on the corner of Old Towne Rd. & Route 60.

The staff was hospitible but could have been more friendly (note - that some staff were very, very nice and helpful - but others were a little "put-off" by some of my requests and questions).

I would stay here again - especially since it is very pet friendly and close to all the main attractions of the area.

  • Liked — Many other families with teens were staying at the WP.
  • Disliked — No WiFi in the units - Jacuzzi off the wrong bedroom!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia Girl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

Check-in was a breeze. Our unit was clean and quite comfortable. No washer/dryer in the unit, but a laundry area on the second floor landing that you only shared with one other unit. Easy drive to attractions and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — having a kitchen
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Williamsburg Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Plantation

Address: 4870 Longhill Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Williamsburg Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Plantation Resort Williamsburg
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Plantation Williamsburg
Williamsburg Plantation Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.