We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favor and find another resort to stay at in Williamsburg” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Williamsburg Plantation to your Saves list
Williamsburg Plantation
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4870 Longhill Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel amenities
Elmira, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor and find another resort to stay at in Williamsburg”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Previously we had stayed at the resort in 2003 and in 2004. During our two prior stays we really enjoyed the resort, but what a difference 9 years make!! We have just returned from a week at the resort and what a disappointment with the condition of the resort. When we first arrived at the resort we checked in and as soon as we finished the check-in process, the hounding to go to a sales presentation began. According to the employee inviting us we would go to breakfast and then to fill out a survey about the resort since we are owners at a different resort. I had asked if we had to take a tour and I was told no tour is involved. It sounded like it would be worth it to go to the breakfast, complete the survey and then in return get year long passes to Colonial Williamsburg. We were asked to give a $10 deposit to reserve our spot and then we were given a yellow paper telling us all the info. we would need to know. We had a long day of traveling so it was not until after we had put our bags in our unit that I noticed on the yellow paper it said that we would be required to take a tour and hear a sales presentation. Immediatly I went back to cancel our spot and get our $10 back since we were not interested in a sales presentation. What a change in the employees attitude when we told her that we would like our $10 back since we were mislead and told no tour would be involved. After a few minutes of telling the employee that we are not interested in a tour and presentation finally we were given our $10 deposit back, but boy did we get attitude from this employee.

Once we got back to our unit we took a better look around the unit and noticed it was not cleaned well. There were stains on every single piece of furniture, stains on the rugs in every room, ants on the bathroom floor, a stale urine smell from the second bathroom and a fridge that was so loud you could hear it as soon as you opened the front door to the unit. We refused to stay in that unit and asked to be switched to a different unit. A new unit was given to us. It was not quite as bad as the first one, but still not anything that I would expect from a resort. There were still stains on the carpets, some dirty spots on the furniture and a patio that had not been cleaned in quite some time. We had to clean off all of the chairs and the table prior to using them since they were so dirty with lots of cobwebs hanging here and there. As others had mentioned, the walls are so thin between the units and since we had a downstairs unit all we heard was thump, thump, thump anytime the people staying above us were there.

I have never been happier to check out of a resort as I was when it was time for our week to end. If it had not been for Colonial Williamsburg and other things we had planned to do we would have checked out early since we would have not been happy just hanging out at the resort all day long. Typically when we stay at a resort we never want to leave and most of our time is spent just enjoying the resort. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here. There are so many resorts in the area and I know we will be looking for a different one to stay in next time we go to Williamsburg.

Room Tip: Upper units do not have a full kitchen. Check our your unit first to see the condition it is in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent week vacation at our resort. We’re so sorry that we couldn’t provide you with the same experience you had with us on your previous visits. We’re successful at providing great vacations most of the time, however it seems in the case of your visit we clearly dropped the ball. The issues you described regarding the room quality and service during your stay are unacceptable. We assure you that your comments have been shared with our management team so that we may prevent these circumstances from recurring. We’re committed to total customer satisfaction, which we’re only able to achieve through our guest’s feedback. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor and we truly do hope that you will reconsider and return to allow us a future opportunity to prove that we are always the best choice for lodging in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    217
    122
    64
    56
See reviews for
316
139
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at the Williamsburg Plantation during our last visit to Williamsburg, VA. The check-in process was pretty painless, although we were offered a tour / sales pitch (it is a timeshare resort). We declined the tour and were not hassled for the rest of our stay. The resort is an easy 10-ish minute drive to Bush Gardens / Water County. We had a downstairs 2 bedroom 2 bath unit with a full kitchen and pull out sofa bed in the living room. The unit was very clean and nicely decorated. There were plenty of towels and they supplied some dishwashing detergent and laundry detergent. There was a small covered porch off of the back with a charcoal grill and picnic bench. We didn't use them (but will next time!), but they appeared to be shared between 2 units. My only beef with the unit itself was that we shared a washer / dryer with the upstairs unit. Was it better than having to pay for laundry service? Yes. But was it inconvenient, as we never knew when the appliance was being used? Yes.

The grounds were very well maintained. There are tennis and basketball courts as well as an indoor and outdoor pool and even a couple small playgrounds. Although the outdoor pool was open, it was still a little chilly so we stuck to the indoor pool. The kids loved the pool. The water did appear a little cloudy as mentioned in some other reviews I read but clean all the same. There were plenty of towels on hand. There was also a good activity schedule (including several for kids) but we were so busy at the parks, we didn't take advantage of the activities.

Another thing we liked about this resort was the DVD lending library. Great selection of family movies.

One thing that might be a problem for guests is the Wifi service. It is not cheap - $50 for a week I think?? It wasn't a problem for us, as we have smartphones, but if you need to link up for work or something of that nature, you may want to head to the nearest McDonald's for free Wifi

One piece of advice I have for families staying at the Williamsburg Plantation - ask for a downstairs unit. We have four children under the age of 9 and it gave me great peace to know that we weren't disturbing our neighbors. There was a family that stayed above us and we could hear the kids through the floor. It didn't bother us, but it would probably bother a childless couple. It was also nice to open the backdoor and let the kids play outside rather than walking downstairs to go out.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your vacation. We’re happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and the resort amenities. A timeshare property, Williamsburg Plantation Resort’s units are normally sold together to provide one four-bedroom unit for owners. This is why washers and dryers are shared between the units. Sometimes these units can be exchanged or rented individually if there is availability. We are delighted your stay was overall a pleasant one and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Williamsburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We visited Williamsburg for a week in May and stayed at the Plantation. After reading several reviews I was nervous about the apartment that we had exchanged our points for through Interval International. When we arrived the check-in went well and then we were immediately directed to Customer Service to book our free breakfast (timeshare selling technique). We decided not to attend this event, but we did book a few events that they were offering, such as the wine tasting, BBQ night and Bingo. Some of these events had a small cost to them, but we had called in advance and had obtained this information (e-mailed to us) before checking in. We were travelling with our elderly uncle and had booked a one bedroom unit. The unit was on the ground floor and it had everything we needed. The decor was colonial style and the bed was comfortable. Our uncle, who is 83 years old, said that the pullout sofa was comfortable to sleep on. We did not book this apartment to stay on the resort we used it mainly to eat breakfast and to sleep as our itinerary was to explore the historical triangle. Parking was convenient - it was right outside our unit. Wifi is not available and the cost is $49.99 for a week. We booked a tour of Washington DC and even though it rained I would recommend taking this tour with the company that the Plantation deals with, we thoroughly enjoyed the trip. It is a long tour though it starts at 6 am and ends at 9 pm (breakfast and dinner are included at the Golden Corral). Overall our stay at the Plantation was better then I had anticipated based on the negative reviews I had read.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We’re happy to know that you were pleasantly surprised by our resort and services while on vacation. Unfortunately no one resort can be everything to everyone, but we do try to make all of our guests happy at Williamsburg Plantation Resort. Most of the time we’re quite successful and our guests return to vacation with us again and again. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we hope to welcome you and your family back to Williamsburg Plantation Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

we stayd for a weekend and from the check in, which by the way, could not find our name even though they called to confirm the reservations the day prior, to the RUDE front desk clerk that checked us in, I was at that time wondering why I picked this place. The clerk was very abrupt when we asked questions and she just acted like she didn't want to answer our questions, finally she told us she was having trouble finding our reservations. The place was nice to stay in however, it does need more lighting and also one end table at the end of the sofa is not good, too would be better. Pool area and grounds were very kept up and nicely done. The unit we were in was slightly noisy, as it rained and the downspout next to the window of the room we were in was clogged with leaves so sleep was not forthcoming. Also, with a slight chill, I was disappointed that we were not able to use the GAS fireplace in the unit. When we asked about turning it on, the clerk that checked us in, was once again very rude and abrupt, when we asked about it. Overall, I would think twice about going again to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations during your stay. We were dismayed to learn that you had an issue with some of our employees. We rarely receive anything but praise on our attentive and friendly staff and we’re sorry that we couldn’t provide you with the same level of hospitality. Fireplace use is seasonal and we apologize that you couldn’t access this amenity in your unit. We sincerely hope you consider staying with us again in the future so that we may have another opportunity to prove that we are the best resort in Williamsburg with the friendliest staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The suite we had was a fully equipped, modern, spacious and very comfortable apartment. Parking was convenient and the resort's extensive grounds are attractive and well maintained. WiFi service costs a premium and the cost applies to one device only so if you have a few, as we did, it can be an expensive extra. The resort is located near rather than in Williamsburg so virtually all of the things to do in and around the town, including eating, require at least a 10 minute drive. This is a good place for a longer term stay but if you are on an overnighter or just a few days there are many hotels much closer to the action.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation. Guests love Williamsburg Plantation Resort because of our spacious accommodations that feature all of the comforts of home. Although we weren’t able to meet all of your expectations we’re thankful that you appreciated the value we offer our travelers. Thank you again for your patronage and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went to Williamsburg Plantation because it was the best available on Interval for the week we had available. It was just average and well below average in some respects. The one bedroom unit was spacious with a nice enough full kitchen. The "resort" is well located. However, the lighting at night made it almost impossible to read (even in bed) and there was very limited closet space. The biggest issue for us was that wi-fi is only available in your unit for a charge, which is on the high side at $9.99/day or $49.99 for the week, and only can be used by one device at a time (what's up with that ?). The windows in the bedroom had only blinds, no curtains, meaning that the sun came it in the morning. We didn't use the other amenities as we were there simply to relax, sleep, read and watch videos. We did succumb to the offer for the sales pitch (which would have been significantly longer than the promised 45 minutes even if we hadn't decided to buy) but were disappointed when after "booking" it for lunch we were called twice the day before to change to breakfast and then finally told that only breakfast and a morning time were available. In-unit there was no clear receptacle for recycling and you are expected to take recyclables yourself to the one recycling area available, which was quite some distance from our unit. I'm not quite sure why they went to the trouble of putting in a key card entry system to the property when it was never in use (just drive right in over the speed bump). All in all, an ok place but I wouldn't choose it again - certainly not over The Colonies right around the corner.

Room Tip: Upstairs, but be prepared to climb them - there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that we weren’t able to meet all of your expectations during your stay. We understand that travelers expect services comparable to what they find at home, but with the technology of hotspots, unlimited data plans, etc. we find many of our guests do not place in-room internet service as a priority amenity. Therefore the resort strives to be frugal with our timeshare owner’s association fees and charges for the convenience of WiFi in the private rooms. Complimentary internet service is available in the resort’s clubhouse for guests. Black-out drapes will be installed in the units as we go forward with the resort’s refurbishment project. The resort’s entry gate is staffed nightly with security from 8pm till 7am. Superior service is our top priority and we never want anyone to leave without the best experience. We regret that now you have such a negative impression of us, but we hope you reconsider and allow us another opportunity to host your next visit to Williamsburg so that we can deliver the type of vacation experience that all travelers expect of all Vacation Village Resort properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay on the first floor, as it is very loud to have someone above you. Spacious, but somewhat dated. Sales pitch (survey) takes too much time, so do not fall for "free" breakfast gimick! No free Internet. Location is good but there are probably many similar choices in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We offer great accommodations and value for our guests and are constantly striving to improve the quality of our service. We appreciate your comments as they help us decide what areas we can improve upon. Thank you for posting and we hope we may have a future opportunity to welcome you back to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamsburg Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Plantation

Address: 4870 Longhill Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Williamsburg Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Plantation Resort Williamsburg
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Plantation Williamsburg
Williamsburg Plantation Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.