We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings Creek Plantation Cottages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Kings Creek Plantation Cottages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had an RCI exchange into Kings Creek Plantation for the first week of May 2014. We stayed in a 3 bedroom 3 ½ bath unit in the Cottages section. It was a 1 & 2 bedroom lockout colonial style unit that was detached with a front porch and 2 really nice decks. All of the units in the Cottages section are the same.
The resort is in the process of doing facelifts on the units in the Cottages section as well as building additional units in other sections. The unit looked freshly painted, recently rebuilt decks and overall very clean and most importantly, “comfortable”…. The appliances were a bit dated, but all were clean and again, most importantly, “fully functioning”. There were sizable flat screen TVs in all 3 bedrooms and 1 in each of the living area of both lockouts. The only problem we had was an A/C problem in the 2 bedroom section of the unit. When we called maintenance to report the issue, we were told someone would be there shortly. Within 15 minutes, a gentleman arrived, diagnosis the problem, and explained the possible timeframe in which the A/C would be fixed or replaced. He was able to repair the unit and after 1 hour the A/C unit was repaired. (Thanks Mr. Tim).
The check-in process was quick and easy. Everyone with the resort was very helpful and courteous. The indoor pool area was very clean and offered changing rooms with lockers. We walked around throughout the resort and found clean well-kept grounds and fully equipped play grounds and outdoor pools. Although we were asked to attend a presentation, we were never pressured nor felt obligated to attend.
I would definitely recommend this resort and would certainly stay here again in the Cottages section.

Room Tip: We like the Cottage Style dethatched units over the townhouse type attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Public Relations Manager at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear “LouisianaCharlie,”

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive thoughts with us. Our goal is to make all of our Guests as comfortable as possible, and it sounds like we accomplished that. It was nice of you to notice our “look of fresh paint” and the fact that additional improvements are also underway. Your enjoyment is what is most important to us and we really appreciate the positive feedback. Tim and the HVAC team will be excited to hear your praise as well! We look very forward to seeing you again next year!

Sincerely,

King’s Creek Plantation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    150
    77
    44
    54
See reviews for
215
117
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We took advantage of the 3 night stay in a one bedroom condo for $99, in exchange for attending a "90 minute investment program"

Condo was perfect for 2 adults and our 9 year old son (slept on fold out sofa) Location was great and this property was very family friendly. For us, 3 nights was just right.

The 90 minute presentation turned into 2 hours. The sales person was very personable, and pointed out every possible positive to purchasing a time share. They focused a lot on using it as an exchange. There were some sales points I question, such as Williamsburg being the 3rd most popular destination in the US. The sales price dropped from around $60,000 for an estate to $9900, then after we repeatedly declined the price dropped to $4900 and as we were leaving we were given a $3900 offer. We didn't buy but had no regrets about our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is more of a timeshare rental than hotel, so I agree it would have been nice to see housekeeping occasionally, but I understand why we didn't. However, this place was clean, reasonably quiet and close to all attractions like Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, etc. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage, which had two floors, kitchen and living area on the bottom and bedrooms (each with their own bathroom attached) upstairs. While maybe not luxurious, I found the decor to be just as I expected, cute and cottage-like. Again I will stress the cleanliness of this place, which I find to be important when vacationing. Their was a family in the condo attached to ours and at night we could hear their tv on faintly, but it didn't bother us. The indoor pool was really great, but had to drive to the aquatic center to get there and back. Overall I would go back and recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We pulled up to the area and had great expecations, but after the first night we were really disappointed. We ended up getting a condo at the Townes. The condo was well equiped, and the rooms were big and spacious. But they are really poorly built and very dated. They had 3 tvs, but all of them were really small, even the one in the livingroom. The worse part is that we were on the first floor with a family with kids above us. We could hear every step they took. It sounded like we were under a bowling alley! We talked to the family and they assured us, that the kids were not jumping around. The fans in the bathroom sounded like a jet taking off and the showers sounded like a waterfall. If these are timeshares, I would never buy from there. I was told we ended up in the older area. Regardless, not at all pleased with accomodations.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Townes, try a different section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here for my son's spring break. We had a few minor issues with our unit that were immediately corrected once management was notified. This place is really close to historical sites and many excellent colleges and universities.

I would recommend that King's Creek provide a mid week cleaning of the units or provide their guests access to a vacuum and cleaning supplies. A great grocery store is close by.

Hotels can not compete with a place like this when it comes to space, family activities, amenities and cost.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This resort was clean the only problem I had was that the cottage smelled old and the floor in the bathroom needed to be replace there were cigarettes burns in the floor and it did not look clean. But my over all expierence was good but if I was to go to a presentation by choice I would expect to stay in something close to what you would like for me to buy to become an owner.

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Public Relations Manager at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
First, thank you for booking your Anniversary getaway at King’s Creek! And, we sincerely appreciate your sharing this particular feedback about the 1 Bedroom Cottage Suite you stayed in. You can be assured that immediate attention and any corrective action has been taken. As you may know, our 1 Bedroom Cottage is only the “lock-off” portion of our original and very popular 3 Bedroom Cottage. Even with the least square footage of all of our accommodations, the 1 Bedroom Cottage is often preferred for the value of being at King’s Creek. We are happy to hear you had a positive and enjoyable experience overall and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Quiet, close to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown; as well as other attractions like water park and Busch Gardens.

I would have liked to see house keeping, however, the style is a bit more of the "vacation rental" as opposed to "staffed hotel."

Could use some maintenance in some areas.

Great visit with family!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.