We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Manville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is more of a timeshare rental than hotel, so I agree it would have been nice to see housekeeping occasionally, but I understand why we didn't. However, this place was clean, reasonably quiet and close to all attractions like Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, etc. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage, which had two floors, kitchen and living area on the bottom and bedrooms (each with their own bathroom attached) upstairs. While maybe not luxurious, I found the decor to be just as I expected, cute and cottage-like. Again I will stress the cleanliness of this place, which I find to be important when vacationing. Their was a family in the condo attached to ours and at night we could hear their tv on faintly, but it didn't bother us. The indoor pool was really great, but had to drive to the aquatic center to get there and back. Overall I would go back and recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    174
    95
    54
    61
See reviews for
257
136
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We pulled up to the area and had great expecations, but after the first night we were really disappointed. We ended up getting a condo at the Townes. The condo was well equiped, and the rooms were big and spacious. But they are really poorly built and very dated. They had 3 tvs, but all of them were really small, even the one in the livingroom. The worse part is that we were on the first floor with a family with kids above us. We could hear every step they took. It sounded like we were under a bowling alley! We talked to the family and they assured us, that the kids were not jumping around. The fans in the bathroom sounded like a jet taking off and the showers sounded like a waterfall. If these are timeshares, I would never buy from there. I was told we ended up in the older area. Regardless, not at all pleased with accomodations.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Townes, try a different section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here for my son's spring break. We had a few minor issues with our unit that were immediately corrected once management was notified. This place is really close to historical sites and many excellent colleges and universities.

I would recommend that King's Creek provide a mid week cleaning of the units or provide their guests access to a vacuum and cleaning supplies. A great grocery store is close by.

Hotels can not compete with a place like this when it comes to space, family activities, amenities and cost.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This resort was clean the only problem I had was that the cottage smelled old and the floor in the bathroom needed to be replace there were cigarettes burns in the floor and it did not look clean. But my over all expierence was good but if I was to go to a presentation by choice I would expect to stay in something close to what you would like for me to buy to become an owner.

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Public Relations Manager at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
First, thank you for booking your Anniversary getaway at King’s Creek! And, we sincerely appreciate your sharing this particular feedback about the 1 Bedroom Cottage Suite you stayed in. You can be assured that immediate attention and any corrective action has been taken. As you may know, our 1 Bedroom Cottage is only the “lock-off” portion of our original and very popular 3 Bedroom Cottage. Even with the least square footage of all of our accommodations, the 1 Bedroom Cottage is often preferred for the value of being at King’s Creek. We are happy to hear you had a positive and enjoyable experience overall and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Quiet, close to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown; as well as other attractions like water park and Busch Gardens.

I would have liked to see house keeping, however, the style is a bit more of the "vacation rental" as opposed to "staffed hotel."

Could use some maintenance in some areas.

Great visit with family!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have spent several long weekends at Kings Creek and have absolutely loved it. It is situated just a short drive (most within 15 mins) to all of the major Williamsburg/Jamestown/Bush Gardens/Water Country attractions and outlet and antique shopping. The accommodation was roomy, furnished tastefully and not shabby like some places we have previously stayed. Kitchen had all that we needed as we did cook (and bake) on a couple of days. There were several convenient pools, the indoor one was warm and we believe that there were activities and tennis courts - sadly neither of which we used. I gather that there is going to be a lazy river in the future, which will be a bonus for my kids. Overall very relaxing stay in super accommodation; we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review of our Resort. It is always nice to hear a Guest express such enjoyment and appreciation for relaxation and the quality of their vacation. A shared experience like yours will surely benefit others. We look very forward to providing the backdrop for your next “memorable” vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were tricked into staying here. We were at a home show and were told there was a good bike path near there which there was not. It was a fairly good rate and we had friends in the area. We were told there was no sales pitch we needed to attend but we when we made the reservation we were required to attend. The good thing is that it was not a hard sell. We had to listen to their presentation and then meet with a guy. We told him we were not interested and he let us leave. The accommodations were nice. When we were checking out, we had a suitcases by the door and were carrying them to the car. We had 2 more to get and the car keys were inside. At exactly 11 AM (checkout time), the door locked and our key no longer worked. Because our car key was inside, we had to walk 1/2 mile to the rental office to ask them to open the door so we could get our last suitcase. When I pointed out, "what if our children were inside and we were locked out" they said "every hotel does this". I have never stayed at a hotel that did that. I am writing this review because I got a promotional call from them today. After a delay "Mark" answered the phone. I didn't say anything else to him, just asked him to remove us from their call list and he hung up on me without saying he would remove us or saying anything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
King’s Creek Plantation’s check-in time is 4 pm on the day of arrival and our check-out time is 10 am on the day of departure. Our keys are coded and set (at check-in), for the benefit and security of all our Guests, to automatically “disengage” at 10 am on the day of departure. Our staff would have been more than happy to extend the time or unlock the unit had you been able to notify the staff via phone rather than having to walk to the front desk. We certainly understand the frustration associated with being locked out while preparing to leave. We are so very sorry for that. King’s Creek offers accommodations and amenities that are much like “being at home”. So, unlike the quick turnaround time of a hotel stay, our fully appointed condos (full kitchens, living areas in addition to bedrooms/bathrooms) require an extended cleaning and preparation in order to meet the required check-in time for the next Guest or Owner. Please accept our sincere apology and our assurance that your feedback will be given every consideration so that we can avoid this type of occurrence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.7 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
#22 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
8.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
3.5 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#14 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.