We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Townes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Save Saved
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
King's Creek Plantation Resort
191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
West Newton, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Townes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My mom and I stayed there for 5 nights. She uses a walker and was able to walk around the entire complex including the bathrooms easily. We used the indoor and outdoor pools. The bed linens and towels were especially clean. The fireplace was lovely and rooms comfortable. Will stay again.

Room Tip: The Townes are good for larger groups, 2 bedrooms, 2 living room areas, the one is private with an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you and your mother were able to enjoy our amenities and spend time with one another. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    99
    49
    33
    47
See reviews for
145
80
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent a week at King's Creek Plantation in the Cottages through RCI. This was a great place for our family to stay. We had a two bedroom unit that slept 6. It was very clean and well maintained. Do be aware of the fact that both bedrooms are upstairs and the second bedroom only has two twin beds, so to sleep six, you must have two on the sofa bed in the living room. For families with only young kids, this could be a problem, but our kid's ages just right to work out okay for this arrangement. The sofa bed mattress was thin and wouldn't sleep two teens/adult, but it was fine for two elementary aged kids. We had no problems with hearing noise from other units. We were walkable to the pool, but not all the units are. We thought the location was great for getting to all the attractions that we wanted to see during the week. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing comments about your stay with King’s Creek Plantation. We agree that if our Guests prefer to place more than one person on the pull out sofa bed that it be two small children. King’s Creek has three different types of cottages, which allows our Guests to enjoy different style(s) of layouts while vacationing with us. We invite you to experience the variety of the other units and to let us know, in advance, of any special requests. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages on an RCI exchange. Very nice two bedroom unit. It was clean and quite comfortable. The only draw back was the bedrooms were upstairs. I'm getting old enough that I don't much care for stairs. The outdoor pool right behind our unit was very nice. Everything we wanted in town was reasonably close.
The business center in the check-in center came in quite handy during our visit. Also the free faxing from the front desk was a blessing.
All the staff we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful. I'd gladly stay here again if going to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We appreciate your choice to stay with us through your exchange! And, we thank you for sharing your comments. Shared experiences can certainly assist other Guests in making good choices as well. We encourage you to notify our staff (when booking future reservations) about your unit/stair “preferences”. Every effort will be made to accommodate you. Of course, special requests are dependent on availability. We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our amenities. And, we are also pleased to hear that our staff provided the great customer service all our Guests deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend here for a timeshare presentation. This was the best accomodation I had ever styaed in for a timeshare presentation. Normally they put you in places that make your skin crawl. Not King's Creek. They pulled out all the stops. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage. Full amenties. It's a bit of drive to the heart of Williamsburg which is the Richmond Rd strip. (That's where Captain George's and the outlets are.) Took about 20 minutes to drive there every day. But it as nice to be off the beaten path. They even treat you to lunch during your timeshare presentation. Some kind of diner, but it was good. The tour guide guy was nice. Everything was really nice. If you want a quick getaway, go!

Room Tip: Plan your day well. Stay in the city and don't drive back and forth like we did. It's taxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a wonderful experience while vacationing with us at our Resort. It is always good to hear when our Guests are able to take advantage of our Resort Preview along with the perks (like lunch, etc.) that come with it. We appreciate your feedback and hope you are able to vacation with King’s Creek again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Think twice before you book or buy at Kings Creek. We stayed there for three nights, the units are so poorly constructed. During the night you could hear your neighbors walking and talking as though they were in your unit. In fact, one night I got up because I thought someone really was in the house downstairs. When toilets are flushed or someone is in the shower, there is so much noise from the water pipes in the walls that you cant even hear the tv in the bedrooms. No difference if you are sitting in the living room. So many little short cuts taken there are too many to mention.

I also bought this weekend from a show. I booked my weekend down there and when it came time for me to take my tour, I was turned down. I asked if I would be charged additional money because I was not allowed to tour and the front desk told me no. Guess what? Today I received a $300.00 charge on my credit card. I have been on the phone with them for over an hour now and they keep telling me they cannot do anything for me. Hopefully my credit card company can. STAY AWAY FROM KINGS CREEK!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
King’s Creek offers three different types of accommodations; Cottages, Townes, and Estates. They each have unique characteristics; from 1-4 bedrooms, upstairs and downstairs units, each offer an array of amenities, style lay-outs, etc. In any and all cases, “Guest satisfaction” is our main concern. We sincerely apologize if we failed to meet our goal in your case. Your shared experience will serve to make us better. There is a required $300 charge (in writing prior to the visit) associated with a Guest who accepts the terms of a “special preview tour package” and then fails to meet those terms. If there is an error in your case, we would like to address it immediately. Please contact our Reservations Supervisor directly at 1-877-557-3529. We would be happy to assist you in this matter. Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked this at a home show in KY. We were told that we would have a cottage and no neighbors. This was key to us as we have 3 young boys who are noisy. We are always asking them to be quiet so as not to disturb others. Not only did we not get a cottage, we ended up with a 2nd floor unit which was quite an inconvenience with our disabled 3 year old who is not able to walk up and down stairs unassisted. The place was clean. The time share tour was typical. At first they wouldn't let us take the contract to review. By the time we saw what a hassle it was to get it, we were over the place. That was sad because we were seriously considering it, but consider ourselves lucky to not deal with this place anymore.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't end up with a 2nd floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We always try to cater to our Guest’s special needs and requests. Most of our Cottages have stairs that would require you to climb to get to the bedrooms. We are very sorry that your accommodations did not suit your needs. King’s Creek encourages our Guests to speak to our Front Desk if they desire adjustments to their accommodations or have special needs. Though it is dependent on availability, we are always happy and willing to assist our Guests. We are hopeful of a second opportunity to have you stay with us while visiting our beautiful and historic city, Williamsburg, VA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

RCI rated this property excellent. Disney and Marriott are excellent, this place is not. It was an old cottage which had been updated. It was clean. The kitchen was so small that I had a problem making coffee because of the limited space. Pools were not useable as too many unchapperoned children and young adults took them over. It is not close to anything but Water Country. It was quite a distance to find decent restaurants. Very disappointed in this exchange. Next time I will sell my Disney week and stay in a very upscale hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are happy to have an excellent rating and we work hard to maintain it. Of course, we are always appreciative of feedback and regret that you did not find your accommodations enjoyable while staying with us. There are some great restaurants just minutes from King’s Creek Plantation such as Le Yaca French Restaurant (just 2.82 miles from the Resort), Doraldos Italian Restaurant (3.2 miles away), and Second Street American Bistro which is only 4.2 miles away from the Resort, just to name a few. During our peak season there can be an increased volume in our pools due to more Guests wanting to enjoy the amenities of our Resort. We recommend a second visit, perhaps in our Estates section, which is our newest addition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel
Kings Creek Plantation
Kings Creek Williamsburg
Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.