We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Townes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
West Newton, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Townes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My mom and I stayed there for 5 nights. She uses a walker and was able to walk around the entire complex including the bathrooms easily. We used the indoor and outdoor pools. The bed linens and towels were especially clean. The fireplace was lovely and rooms comfortable. Will stay again.

Room Tip: The Townes are good for larger groups, 2 bedrooms, 2 living room areas, the one is private with an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you and your mother were able to enjoy our amenities and spend time with one another. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    146
    77
    42
    53
See reviews for
210
115
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for a week on exchange and the location is great. Next to Water Country and 10 minutes from Busch Gardens. The property is fairly large and spread out. Although there is a guard shack at the entrance there does not appear to be any security on entering the property. There do not appear to be enough pools to service the large resort. I only saw two, one of which is very small. There is an indoor pool as well. The units are very large and relatively clean. Everything was on one floor. Furnishings are dated and the beds could use new mattresses. The leather couch in the living room was downright uncomfortable. Each unit has two bedrooms, two baths, a sitting room with pull out sleeper sofa, living room with fake fireplace, dining area and a full kitchen. One of the largest condo units I have ever seen. Washers and dryers are also in the units. The play areas and mini golf are tiny and looked kind of hokey. When we got there they tried to schedule us for tour. When we refused they became rather rude. For a large family this place would be perfect and a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Your feedback is very insightful and we always welcome recommendations from our exchangers that explore other Timeshare Resorts. We do have Security on the property at all times, even if you do not see them. We are also continuing our expansion and generous upgrades at the Resort and have some exciting new features coming up. This includes plans for a third outdoor pool by the Spring of 2014. As you know, our Indoor Pool is open year round and is quite large. We also have several different lay-out styles that you may not have seen. Our variety of accommodations (Cottages, Townes and Estates) feature different amenities, from 1-4 Bedrooms, some with jetted tubs and our larger units with 3.5 baths. You still have a lot to explore here. King’s Creek invites you to consider us again during your next exchange vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The only thing I have to say is watch out for the staff!!!! They will try to get you to buy tickets for local events, and they are over priced and you don't even need them. You can buy tickets at the places for much less!!!! Condos are nice and clean, comfy bed and located near everything.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do, however, have discounted tickets at our Front Desk that are cheaper than if they were purchased at the individual venue(s). It is true that some tickets may not be necessary, but we trust our Guests to make those decisions before purchasing a ticket they may not use. We simply make the tickets available for the convenience of our Owners and Guests. King’s Creek appreciates your business, and thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent a week at King's Creek Plantation in the Cottages through RCI. This was a great place for our family to stay. We had a two bedroom unit that slept 6. It was very clean and well maintained. Do be aware of the fact that both bedrooms are upstairs and the second bedroom only has two twin beds, so to sleep six, you must have two on the sofa bed in the living room. For families with only young kids, this could be a problem, but our kid's ages just right to work out okay for this arrangement. The sofa bed mattress was thin and wouldn't sleep two teens/adult, but it was fine for two elementary aged kids. We had no problems with hearing noise from other units. We were walkable to the pool, but not all the units are. We thought the location was great for getting to all the attractions that we wanted to see during the week. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing comments about your stay with King’s Creek Plantation. We agree that if our Guests prefer to place more than one person on the pull out sofa bed that it be two small children. King’s Creek has three different types of cottages, which allows our Guests to enjoy different style(s) of layouts while vacationing with us. We invite you to experience the variety of the other units and to let us know, in advance, of any special requests. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages on an RCI exchange. Very nice two bedroom unit. It was clean and quite comfortable. The only draw back was the bedrooms were upstairs. I'm getting old enough that I don't much care for stairs. The outdoor pool right behind our unit was very nice. Everything we wanted in town was reasonably close.
The business center in the check-in center came in quite handy during our visit. Also the free faxing from the front desk was a blessing.
All the staff we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful. I'd gladly stay here again if going to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We appreciate your choice to stay with us through your exchange! And, we thank you for sharing your comments. Shared experiences can certainly assist other Guests in making good choices as well. We encourage you to notify our staff (when booking future reservations) about your unit/stair “preferences”. Every effort will be made to accommodate you. Of course, special requests are dependent on availability. We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our amenities. And, we are also pleased to hear that our staff provided the great customer service all our Guests deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadmalaw Island, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I spent the week here on an exchange. It is the best place I have stayed during my exchanges with Wholesale Escapes. The one bedroom unit is very clean with modern amenities. The jet tub is nice. Kitchen is small but adequate. Bedroom is spacious with flat screen TV and ceiling fan.

Fitness center needs better equipment but pool is large. Exercise classes would be nice.

Location is close to historic areas of Yorktown and Williamsburg.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Our exchange Guests are always welcomed at King’s Creek! We understand the options available to you and appreciate your choice to vacation with us. We look very forward to spending more time with you and your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I owners of the Estates at Kings Creek (the newest area). We use our 1 Bedroom Timeshare every other year. This is the 3rd time we have stayed at our timeshare. Our unit was on the 2nd floor (we always request the 2nd floor). There are 2 flights of stairs to get up so if stairs are an issue, it would be best to be on the 1st floor. Even though these are fairly new timeshares, our unit had seen wear and tear. The carpet (especially the living room) was stained and dirty and some carpeting that was loose from the bracket at the bathroom. The walls are marked up terribly.
For the most part, the unit was clean. The kitchen offered all the necessities needed to do small level eating and cooking (dishes, glasses, cookware, pans, blender, toaster too). The other nice treat is that they provide dish soap, dishwasher soap, scouring pad and dish towels so that is less you need to pack. The one complaint I do have is that the shower curtain was dirty with blood so I immediately notified housekeeping and one was brought almost immediately which I truly appreciated. I, however, had to take the dirty one down and put up the new one. Not a problem doing it but no one from housekeeping offered to do it. Having a washer and dryer in the unit is so much appreciated (T.Y.)! The unit has a small balcony for 2 people which is nicely situated right outside the bedroom. Can honestly say, we didn’t hear our neighbors.
Of course we had our dreaded Timeshare Update. The bribe to get us to attend the update is we received $100 in Restaurant Gift Certificates that were helpful in paying our meals. We are on vacation so I don’t appreciate wasting my time (when we say no, don’t keep trying to talk us into paying more) and getting me aggravated when I am trying to vacation. Just be happy we are owners!
We are fairly satisfied with our ownership but feel the maintenance in these new Estates needs to step it up because we do pay those high maintenance fees. I would hope the Company would want to keep something new in a newer condition.
The Estates are a nice place to stay. It is way better staying here than in a small, crowded hotel room. A 1 Bedroom is just the right amount of space for 2 people.

Room Tip: Perfect Location. Close to Water Country (it's right next door). Target is next door also
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Kings Creek Plantation values your ownership with us and is appreciative for your feedback. Your shared experience allows us to address things in our resort. All of our units are placed on a refurbished schedule based on inventory availability. During this time our preventative maintenance team addresses any issues that may have happened during high occupancy times such as dirty carpet or paint touch up. Unfortunately, due to high occupancy during the summer months, maintenance is unable to immediately restore a damaged unit as quickly as we prefer. However, it is notated and addressed as soon as the unit is available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.