We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing RCI Disney Exchange” 2 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Save Saved
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Oak Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Disappointing RCI Disney Exchange”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

RCI rated this property excellent. Disney and Marriott are excellent, this place is not. It was an old cottage which had been updated. It was clean. The kitchen was so small that I had a problem making coffee because of the limited space. Pools were not useable as too many unchapperoned children and young adults took them over. It is not close to anything but Water Country. It was quite a distance to find decent restaurants. Very disappointed in this exchange. Next time I will sell my Disney week and stay in a very upscale hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are happy to have an excellent rating and we work hard to maintain it. Of course, we are always appreciative of feedback and regret that you did not find your accommodations enjoyable while staying with us. There are some great restaurants just minutes from King’s Creek Plantation such as Le Yaca French Restaurant (just 2.82 miles from the Resort), Doraldos Italian Restaurant (3.2 miles away), and Second Street American Bistro which is only 4.2 miles away from the Resort, just to name a few. During our peak season there can be an increased volume in our pools due to more Guests wanting to enjoy the amenities of our Resort. We recommend a second visit, perhaps in our Estates section, which is our newest addition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    143
    70
    40
    52
See reviews for
204
108
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Kings Creek Plantation is a rip off. They have false advertisement when they come to Federal Agencies to sale their property. Everyone doesn't have credit cards and pay cash for everything! Kings Creek charged me an additional $300 because they turned me down from taking a tour! I have credit because I own a home and a time share but I don't carry credit cards! They are the worst when it comes to customer service. Where I work having credit is a must! I will report this to my agency so they won't invite the representatives from Kings Creek again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We make every effort to clarify the terms and requirements when the discounted packages are sold. We apologize if a package you bought was sold to you under terms and conditions that were unclear to you prior to your visit. The terms are in writing in your confirmation letter and reviewed again in the pre-visit confirmation phone call. We certainly welcome all of our Guests regardless of the payment method they would like to use. However, in our discounted packages that are associated with a preview of our Resort, there are stipulations that must be met. If a Guest comes to preview the Resort and does not meet the requirements, a $300 fee is assessed, which is also indicated in the confirmation letter sent prior to the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I purchased a 3 day "golf vacation" at a Golf Show in Hartford, CT. We added 2 additional nights and brought our son and 2 grandsons. My expectation was for a friendly, clean place to spend our vacation. Because Kings Creek is a time share we were required to listen to a sales presentation. I will not comment on thepresentation as it did not influence my review.
The unit that we had was a disappointment. The carpeting was damp and dirty, the entrance way was dirty and full of bugs - The service was very impersonal and not at all friendly. There was no housekeeping.
The first night we went swimming in the indoor pool. The water was cloudy. And the area had a foul smell. We did not use any of the on site facilities because of that experience. When I inquired about our free golf package, I was told to come back later as "the guy who knows about the golf isn't here now." We ended up now playing golf.
I will not go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We encourage any and all Guests to inform the Front Desk if they experience the rare occurrence of what you described. We work very hard to maintain our excellent ratings and would never accept conditions that do not meet our standards or the expectations of our Guests. King’s Creek sincerely apologizes that your experience with us was not satisfactory. We certainly appreciate you sharing this valuable feedback so that we may address areas where improvement is needed. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We bought a 3 night/4 day trip at the Delaware State Fair. I did book our trip at the last minute so I had to pay extra to stay in the larger estates than the cottage I originally paid for as they. We're sold out. The reservation center was pleasant but the offer changed every time i spoketo them and they insisted i had 3 children, when i am pretty sure i only have 2. The property was spacious which we enjoyed. I would say based on the age of the estates I would be concerned about long term upkeep and visiting again in the future. Although the unit was generally clean, the walls and baseboard clearly had not been washed down, maybe ever. The walls are very thin. I kept thinking my kids had gotten out of bed when it was actually the neighbors milling around.

As for the timeshare presentation, they definitely went well past the 1 hr to 1 1/2 hrs we were promised when we bought the package. It is true that after you decline the high priced timeshare, they take you upstairs to try to sell you again. I know this sounds petty but if you say the presentation includes breakfast, and you want me to spend $25,000, you might want to offer more than powdered creamer and donuts.

We did enjoy the size of the unit, the shuffle board and indoor pool (3 hrs with no towels at pool though). We had a fun time as a family and the resort didn't make or break or trip. I would definitely visit williamsburg again and rent a timeshare, just not sure it would be this one

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We appreciate the time you spent with us and sincerely apologize if an extended Sale Preview interfered with precious family vacation time. Your time and the confidence you placed in King’s Creek is very valuable to us. We work very hard to maintain the upkeep of our accommodations and are always working on improvements to ensure all of our Guests enjoy their visit. Our goal was to enhance your vacation experiences. To that end, we will continue to work harder to accomplish that goal. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Within a 10 mile radius to Water Country, Busch Gardens and Colonial Wiliamsburg the place was great with nice pools, activities for the children and a nice atmosphere. Barbecues are available for use and the pools are well maintained and set up so kids of all ages can play there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us! We always enjoy hearing that our Guests had a great time while staying at King’s Creek. Why not start planning now for your next visit…?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom cottage as part of the timeshare sales pitch arrangement and we were surprisingly thrilled with the cleanliness, space and extras included in our room! It was spotless, had two new TVs, a very and comfortable king bed, well equipped kitchen right down to the paper towels, a jetted tub that worked beautifully and a new washer and dryer. The staff was very cheerful and helpful. We attended the timeshare presentation and talked with Cathleen for about 2 1/2 hrs. We made it clear from the start that we weren't there to buy any property but we wanted to learn what it was all about. We were not pressured but must say that Cathleen definitely knows how to do her job!! The homes in the development are lovely with perfect landscaping and beautiful swimming pools. We especially liked that it was soooo close to Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. I would give our particular experience there a 5-star rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are happy to hear that we met your expectations and our goal of satisfying our Guests! We do boast a wonderful location, beautiful grounds and informed staff. It means so much more when we can play a small part in the enjoyment of a family vacation. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We had gotten a discounted package for a one bedroom cottage for $99. We were told it was very spacious, and there were no hidden fees. Once we got inside, we immediately took notice of how small and unlit the cottage was. There were dead bugs and spiderwebs everywhere, and the amount of mosquitos in the area was dreadfully high. When we went to the front office to complain, they said that they could not do anything or upgrade us to a better room and to call the company. When we called the company, we were told that we had to pay $300 for missing a mandatory tour. We had no idea whatsoever that this tour was mandatory, and the lady said it could not be rescheduled. Overall i was terribly unhappy with this place. I do not recommend reserving at this place. Absolutely horrible service and space.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are sorry that you did not find your accommodations suitable for your needs. A great advantage of purchasing a discounted promotion (that is associated with an opportunity to purchase with the Resort) is the opportunity to experience 4 days and 3 nights for $99 plus you are gifted after your presentation (if you attend). While it is true, our 1 Bedroom Cottage- Suite has the least square footage of all our accommodations, many of our Guests prefer it because of the “total” value.

During the process of confirming your package, representatives are required and make every effort to make clearly known what the qualifications are (including attending the Sales Preview) as required by the Resort. We reiterate this requirement on 3 different occasions prior to your visit (email package confirmation, the reservation confirmation letter, and a confirmation call from one of our representatives). We apologize if our high standards of customer service were not reached during your stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we would welcome another opportunity to have you as our Guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.