We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avg. property but fun vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Save Saved
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Middletown, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avg. property but fun vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We bought a 3 night/4 day trip at the Delaware State Fair. I did book our trip at the last minute so I had to pay extra to stay in the larger estates than the cottage I originally paid for as they. We're sold out. The reservation center was pleasant but the offer changed every time i spoketo them and they insisted i had 3 children, when i am pretty sure i only have 2. The property was spacious which we enjoyed. I would say based on the age of the estates I would be concerned about long term upkeep and visiting again in the future. Although the unit was generally clean, the walls and baseboard clearly had not been washed down, maybe ever. The walls are very thin. I kept thinking my kids had gotten out of bed when it was actually the neighbors milling around.

As for the timeshare presentation, they definitely went well past the 1 hr to 1 1/2 hrs we were promised when we bought the package. It is true that after you decline the high priced timeshare, they take you upstairs to try to sell you again. I know this sounds petty but if you say the presentation includes breakfast, and you want me to spend $25,000, you might want to offer more than powdered creamer and donuts.

We did enjoy the size of the unit, the shuffle board and indoor pool (3 hrs with no towels at pool though). We had a fun time as a family and the resort didn't make or break or trip. I would definitely visit williamsburg again and rent a timeshare, just not sure it would be this one

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We appreciate the time you spent with us and sincerely apologize if an extended Sale Preview interfered with precious family vacation time. Your time and the confidence you placed in King’s Creek is very valuable to us. We work very hard to maintain the upkeep of our accommodations and are always working on improvements to ensure all of our Guests enjoy their visit. Our goal was to enhance your vacation experiences. To that end, we will continue to work harder to accomplish that goal. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    136
    69
    39
    52
See reviews for
196
108
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bohemia, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Within a 10 mile radius to Water Country, Busch Gardens and Colonial Wiliamsburg the place was great with nice pools, activities for the children and a nice atmosphere. Barbecues are available for use and the pools are well maintained and set up so kids of all ages can play there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us! We always enjoy hearing that our Guests had a great time while staying at King’s Creek. Why not start planning now for your next visit…?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom cottage as part of the timeshare sales pitch arrangement and we were surprisingly thrilled with the cleanliness, space and extras included in our room! It was spotless, had two new TVs, a very and comfortable king bed, well equipped kitchen right down to the paper towels, a jetted tub that worked beautifully and a new washer and dryer. The staff was very cheerful and helpful. We attended the timeshare presentation and talked with Cathleen for about 2 1/2 hrs. We made it clear from the start that we weren't there to buy any property but we wanted to learn what it was all about. We were not pressured but must say that Cathleen definitely knows how to do her job!! The homes in the development are lovely with perfect landscaping and beautiful swimming pools. We especially liked that it was soooo close to Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. I would give our particular experience there a 5-star rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are happy to hear that we met your expectations and our goal of satisfying our Guests! We do boast a wonderful location, beautiful grounds and informed staff. It means so much more when we can play a small part in the enjoyment of a family vacation. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We had gotten a discounted package for a one bedroom cottage for $99. We were told it was very spacious, and there were no hidden fees. Once we got inside, we immediately took notice of how small and unlit the cottage was. There were dead bugs and spiderwebs everywhere, and the amount of mosquitos in the area was dreadfully high. When we went to the front office to complain, they said that they could not do anything or upgrade us to a better room and to call the company. When we called the company, we were told that we had to pay $300 for missing a mandatory tour. We had no idea whatsoever that this tour was mandatory, and the lady said it could not be rescheduled. Overall i was terribly unhappy with this place. I do not recommend reserving at this place. Absolutely horrible service and space.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are sorry that you did not find your accommodations suitable for your needs. A great advantage of purchasing a discounted promotion (that is associated with an opportunity to purchase with the Resort) is the opportunity to experience 4 days and 3 nights for $99 plus you are gifted after your presentation (if you attend). While it is true, our 1 Bedroom Cottage- Suite has the least square footage of all our accommodations, many of our Guests prefer it because of the “total” value.

During the process of confirming your package, representatives are required and make every effort to make clearly known what the qualifications are (including attending the Sales Preview) as required by the Resort. We reiterate this requirement on 3 different occasions prior to your visit (email package confirmation, the reservation confirmation letter, and a confirmation call from one of our representatives). We apologize if our high standards of customer service were not reached during your stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we would welcome another opportunity to have you as our Guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The estates are the newest edition to kings creek. Rooms are very clean. Layout is amazing in units and resort. Pools are amazing. Water country is 100 yards away. And busch gardens is a left turn and a right turn away. So easy to navagate from here. One of my favorite timeshares.. you wont be dissapointed here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful recommendation of King’s Creek Plantation. We are so pleased you enjoyed the Resort, its great location and the wonderful attractions. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed at King's Creek in a Cottage (2-story villa) through an Interval International exchange, a total of four adults and two small children. The villa itself was spacious inside with separate kitchen and dining (table for six) and two master bedrooms and bathrooms upstairs. We found the unit and grounds clean and attractive. The location couldn't be better -- right off of I-64 (exit 242 B) and next door to Water Country. The drive to Busch Gardens was only about ten minutes and the drive to Yorktown via the Colonial Parkway (which was two minutes away) only took fifteen minutes. All-in-all, we were extremely satisfied with our stay as the total experience was better than expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us while vacationing in Williamsburg. King’s Creek does boast and benefit from a very convenient location. More important though is when our Guests take full advantage of that to enjoy other area attractions. Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family of 4 purchased a 3 night package and stayed in one of the Cottages. We were required to attend a "sales preview" in order to get 4 Water Country USA tickets. First I will review the resort and then the sales preview.

The resort itself was actually nicer than I had expected. The cottage that we stayed in was very clean and quite a bit nicer than some of the condos we have stayed in down in Orlando. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen and living rooms were very spacious. They provide plenty of toilet paper, garbage bags, soap, etc. They even provided paper towels! Nice flat screen tv's and dvd players in all of the rooms. It was very quiet, which was very nice. So I would actually give the cottage 5 stars.

The resort itself has some good and bad's -- the gym is actually very good for such a small resort. The only problem is that the gym isn't open early, so if you are like me and want to get your workout in at 6 a.m., you are out of luck. There are only 2 medium size pools though, and only one hot tub. The game room was a bit of a junky joke -- not very many games and it was really in a run-down room. We didn't use the DVD rental system so I am not sure how that works. Even though there is a "guard house" when you first come into the resort, there is no guard on duty so anyone could come and go if they wanted to. There are also no sidewalks around the resort, so if you want to walk up to the main pool or gym, you have to walk in the street. I like to go out and jog and there are no jogging trails nearby, you just have to run several laps around the resort. So I give the resort itself 3 stars. If they improved their game room, added another nice pool w/hot tub, and added a jogging trail and side walks, I would give it 4 stars.

Now, the "sales preview"... I had read some horrible reviews prior to going so I expected the worst. We were told that we could call no earlier than 10 days prior to our arrival to schedule the sales preview. They offer them 3 times a day -- at 8:30, 11:30, and 1:30. Well, we got told they only available time was the 1:30 one, which really sucked because it is right in the middle of the day and you pretty much lose that entire day (can't go to any parks, etc.). We did, however, ask once we checked-in if we could get into the 0830 one and were told we had to call a reservation number to change our appt. I called the number and the lady was actually quite helpful and rescheduled our preview to the last day we were there at 0830. She even gave us our Water Park tickets early so we could used them.

We showed up at 0830 for our preview and got assigned to a salesperson (each couple gets assigned to their own salesperson). They had coffee, tea, water and donuts. Our salesperson was very nice, asked a lot of questions, and talked, and talked, and talked. We were there almost 3 hours! She spent a considerable amount of time building rapport and telling us stories of her vacations and how it is so awesome to have those experiences. She spent more time doing this than talking about the actual timeshare specifics. They then show you the rentals, and quote an outrageous price (starts at $49K). They then give you 4-5 other options, going down in price. They were not overly pushy or rude, just persistent though. When they keep going down in price, you are actually not getting a better deal because they keep slashing the points down with the price. Either way, we declined and finally left after almost 3 hours. If I ever do this again, I would say upfront that we are only staying the required 90 minutes and that if they haven't convinced us by then, we are leaving. 3 hours is ridiculous...

Room Tip: The cottages were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and the thorough candid review of “all aspects” of your visit. King’s Creek does have Security Personnel on the property at all times, even when you do not see them at the front gate. Starting in 2014, the front gate will be manned 24 hours every day! Your comments about the Sales Preview were very helpful as well. The satisfaction of all of our Guest and Owners is our priority. Balanced feedback such as this will certainly help us to improve. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.