We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant setting and near many area attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting and near many area attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent one week unit was 2 bedrooms unit. Clean, couch old looking. Pools were nice. Basketball court is on tennis courts. This was a challenge for when courts are being used at same time. Trips to Norfolk & Newport News were easy. Area family friendly. Lots to do locally.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed Williamsburg and the area’s local attractions while at King’s Creek. We agree, there is always lots to do in the area and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    153
    78
    44
    54
See reviews for
218
118
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our family has stayed at this property July 4th week for the past 4 years. We stay in the estates it has all the bells and whistles you would expect from a world class resort, we have also stayed in other phases in the past as we have upgraded throughout the years and now own a 4 bedroom in the estates. We booked this year and unfortunately at the last minute we found out that we won't be able to actually go, so we have been forced to rent out our week this year. I would recommend this resort to any family looking to have an outstanding holiday week. There are many pictures of this resort and all the amenities, each place in the estates has its own grill and it has its own pool area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful referral. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoy yourselves at our resort. We hope you are able to visit us next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Kings Creek Plantation while we visited historical sites in the region. Its location for our purposes was great with quick access to Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown. The rooms were well appointed with updated kitchens and appliances. The bedroom was large and very comfortable. The living room was quite small and the furniture was showing some wear. The dining room was nonexistent and consisted of a small table on the distal side of the living room. You had to rearrange the living room to pull out the table to use it. The grounds were nice and clean and the rows of houses gave it a neighborhood feeling. The front desk was helpful and courteous. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are so happy you were able to enjoy your experience in Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown. It sounds like you stayed with us in one of our 1-Bedroom Cottage Suites. It does have the least square footage of any of the other accommodations on property. Many request it for the “value” of being at King’s Creek. For your next visit, we would highly recommend upgrading to either our 2 Bedroom Cottage Suite or our 2 Bedroom Townes unit-with a Sunroom. Thank you again for being our Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom cottages at Kings Creek Plantation from May 25-June 1, 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. The development which includes cottages, town homes and larger "estates" provides very convenient access to both I-64 and the Colonial Historic Parkway. You could be at the Colonial Willamsburg Visitor Center in less than 10 minutes. It is very quiet in the development and the pool facilities were nice with both indoor and outdoor options. A concierge is available 24/7 to help with sightseeing, golf and other arrangements. The kitchen was reasonably well stocked for those that wish to avoid the expense of eating all their meals out. We would not hesitate to stay here again should we return to the Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We love it when a great vacation comes together…and especially if King’s Creek provides a “memorable backdrop”. Thanks for sharing and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We take a yearly trip to Williamsburg at the beginning of each summer. The first two times we stayed here, we were very pleased. Nicely equipped kitchen, clean well kept units. Grounds and pool are also very nice. I enjoy having a condo setup rather than a hotel room. The location is very convenient to Busch Gardens and Water Country, which is great since that is where we spend most of our time on these trips.
The only problems I experienced here were on our most recent stay. It was 2 years ago and we have stayed elsewhere since. We arrived late, maybe 11 pm. I had booked through orbitz and prepaid. They didn't have my reservation when I got there. So, check in took forever. But they did eventually find a unit for us. This was a different area from where we had stayed within complex previously. These were bigger buildings, and more neighbors on every side as well as upstairs from us. Otherwise when we got in, everything looked fine. As we were checking things out, I noticed a door in the hall. Assuming from the layout that it must attach to the other unit, imagine my surprise when it was unlocked, and I was able to look right into the kitchen/dining area of the (occupied) neighboring unit! There was no way to lock it from my side, presenting a major security issue. This was really never effectively resolved. What they did was remove and reinstall the lock, putting the locking capability on our side of the door. Fine for me, big problem for those next to us. But I was the one complaining, so I ended up with the security that should be expected always between adjoining rooms or units. I lost confidence in the management of this place at that point and have not returned. That was disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are sorry that you may have felt uncomfortable regarding the door locks. We would like to shed some light on how our three Bedroom Cottages are currently set up, which will surely ease your mind. We have one door that separates the one bedroom unit from the two bedrooms; however, there are two locks. One on each side – the one bedroom side lock is higher up than the two bedroom side lock. Each works independent of the other. This allows guests to each have the option to secure the door. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our family just vacationed for a week at King’s Creek Plantation. Our unit was reasonably clean and fairly well stocked. Our unit had a nice porch with one plastic chair on it. As we looked around the property, the porches were either empty, or had only one chair….not very functional for relaxing with family. The bedding was outdated and the pillows were hard and flat. The resort states that pool towels are available. What they don’t tell you is that you have to go to the main desk and leave a room key to get them, which you then have to go back to collect after you leave your towels in the hamper at the pool. This applied to all pools and was very inconvenient. Very few people at the pools were using hotel towels. We bought towels, as did most other guests we met. During our stay, we used the pool everyday. The only time an employee was ever at a towel kiosk , was for 90 minutes, when prospective time share buyers were looking at the pool area. Three minutes after the tour was over the employees took the towels and left. In addition, time-share owners are allowed to use resort amenities anytime. We met several owners at the outdoor pools who live in the area and only own a time share for the purpose of bringing family and friends to the pool….thus turning the resort pool into a community pool. Not what I had in mind when I booked a vacation here. Bathrooms near the pool were locked two of the days. Jacuzzi jets were not working three days (different pools). The “concierge” also called our unit several times to try to get us to come to the time-share sales pitch. Again, not what I had in mind for a relaxing vacation. This was an OK resort. I doubt we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet or exceed your vacation expectations. Thank you for the feedback about the availability of our Pool towels. Perhaps we can reevaluate our current policy in the light of varying circumstances to see how we can better accommodate all of our Guests. While it is true that a unique benefit to being an Owner at King’s Creek is to have access to some of the amenities all year-round, it should never affect the quality or availability of our amenities to all Guests. If that should happen, Guests are urged to inform our Front Desk Management so that adjustments can be made. Our goal as you accepted our invitation to visit was to enhance your vacation experience. To that end, we will continue to work harder to accomplish that goal, and we are hopeful of another opportunity to prove it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at KCP recently with some friends who belong to RCI. Very pleased with our 2 bedroom condo. There was more than enough space for our family, and I liked that the sleeping areas were away from the eating/living areas to allow us to sleep in in the morning after the kids woke up. Staff was very pleasant (did not have the same problems others have referred to), and the staff accommodated all our needs happily every time we needed anything. We did have one day where there was a TON of rain and it was clear these units were not built to sustain this kind of rain. We had a leak in one of the bedrooms, which was responded to by maintenance within 30 minutes. They offered us another unit if we wanted, but in the end the leak stopped and we were able to stay in our room. Loved having the full kitchen, plenty of bathrooms, and TV's. Great option for our family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that making improvements, repairs and updates to our accommodations is a priority and the key to maintaining a Resort that our guests love. We truly appreciate your feedback. We are confident that your next visit will be even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.