We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just returned from a week here and enjoyed it. The one-bedroom apartment is roomy and there are pools, tennis courts, a gym, etc. We did not use any of the amenities because there was so much to do in the area. It was convenient to Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, the Mariners Museum, and was next door to Water Country USA. Busch Gardens was 10 minutes away. We did have a problem with our dishwasher and we called and told them there was no water. They came, but it was not fixed. We called again and again it was not fixed. They did not seem to believe lack of water was the problem. We called a third time and it was fixed. The water was starting to come from the bottom but was immediately draining, so water was the issue after all. The grounds were pretty. There was never anyone in the guard house, so we don't know what the security is there. We chose not to do the 90-minute sales presentation. Our balcony overlooked large pine trees, so it was very quiet. In regards to one review which seemed to imply they discriminate against blacks, we saw white and black guests, so I can't say I would agree.

Room Tip: Our unit was on Dakota and was upstairs. Some balconies on some streets overlooked the street, but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
It is great to hear that our guests are enjoying themselves in Williamsburg! We are sorry to hear about the dishwasher not working properly! Just for you information, our guard house has manned personnel from 5 pm to 7 am, seven (7) days a week. They also check the grounds periodically to add to the security of our guests and environment. You may have missed seeing them during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    166
    89
    51
    58
See reviews for
238
133
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Townes at Kings Creek May 17-24. We had a great stay. The condo was equipped with everything and then some. I was very pleasantly surprised with the property due to some previous reviews I had read. Not sure what their complaints were about. We had more room than we needed and everyone was very congenial. If we are ever in the area for vacation we would stay at Kings Creek.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
The Townes are a great getaway spot. We are so happy that you experienced a wonderful vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and i were planning a weekend get away. we used getaway deals to book our trip fro advertised price of $179. Sounded good to us, so we booked it. Our card was charged $220. We called getaway and they told us that was the price was higher for that month. Discouraged but still wanting to go, we went. When we arrived our check-in was great, but when we got to our house it was more like a couple large closets and a large bathroom. We found that the pictures that were on the webside were different. While i was standing there discouaged, i sat on a hard red couch and looked up at the wall to see a 15 inch tv, and then looked over to the mini-kitchen. We wanted to check out, So we did, 15 minutes after check-in. We called getaway deals to find we would only get $71 back after our cancelation fee. Needless to say, I would never do business with either business again. We did find another great hotel across town where we could walk to several resturants, so we still had a great time. We were still out of almost $150 due to the great getaway deals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
King’s Creek Plantation apologizes that you did get an opportunity to enjoy your stay with us and especially if you did not receive accurate information in advance about your accommodations. It sounds like you were in a 1 Bedroom Cottage, the smallest of our units since it is the “lock-out arm” of our 3 bedroom Cottage.

We offer three different kinds of units: Cottages, Estates, and Townes ranging from 1 to 4 Bedrooms, many floor plans are very spacious (our 2 Bedroom Townes unit is 1300 square feet) and our newest section, the Estates is the “luxurious” choice. Each accommodation offers an array of amenities and are quite different from one another so that our guest’s unique interests are met. We hope that you will consider another visit with these options in mind.

Getaway Deals is a vendor that can book reservations for King’s Creek Plantation so we will contact them to ensure that our standards and requirements are being met. We appreciate your feedback and invite you to contact us directly at 877-557-3529.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently returned from a stay at this beautiful property. We had a two bed, two bath unit with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. There was plenty of space for everything, and everyone. Our unit was spacious and well appointed. Even though the weather didn't cooperate for a couple of days, that was fine. We just hunkered down by the fireplace and enjoyed a good book. Everyone we encountered whether it was on the property or out and about, was nice, pleasant and very helpful.

This property is centrally located to the sights, shopping and Historic Williamsburg. Nothing seemed to be more than a half hour away. Williamsburg is only 10 minutes from the property. This was a much needed and very relaxing vacation. I look forward to going back in the future.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
There is nothing like a good book on a rainy day while sharing a cozy Resort with family and friends. We hope you are able to come back and visit us again when the weather is much better. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

No complaints at all. i booked the cottage and was upgraded to the Estates. We had a 1 bedroom upstairs unit. It took some getting used to the stairs, and we were surprised to open the front door only to be met by a staircase, bur once we made it upstairs it was lovely. Everything brand new. Large flatscreens, stainless steel appliances, clean carpet (it looked freshly steamed cleaned). The bedroom was huge (I let mom have it), the shower was roomy, and i loved the washer dryer in the cabin. The leather sofa bed in the living room was very comfy. It felt just like home. The staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint was being haggled to buy a timeshare and there were no EV charging stations to charge my Chevy Volt so I had to run the car off of gas the entire stay. I would stay again and rent an entire villa for a family stay. The entire triangle area was very lovely and relaxing. We stayed 10-17 May 2013. Nice weather, hardly any kids. Great vacation!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself with us during a beautiful time in Williamsburg! Thank you for the unique and helpful recommendation of adding the “EV charging station”. We always want to hear what we can consider in order to improve the services we provide to our Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed in this resort for three nights during Easter time this year. From the start, I was not impressed with the staff. I seemed to be bothering them each time that I asked a question. Sometimes, they were even rude to me. This is not the standard that I am familiar with at "resorts." The condo itself was large and roomy. Yes, there was a hole in the wall and other minor things. Overall, I liked the condo. This was not a "gold rated" property as they stated. I've stayed in gold and this falls well below. The pool and the fitness center were simply okay. No real food opportunities on the resort except a BBQ trailer. When we visited a time share presentation, that's when we were left with a very bitter taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your satisfaction or our usual high standards. We fully expect that in the rare case where accommodations are not suitable, our Guests will immediately let the Front Desk know so that adjustments can be made. Our Guest Services Staff is there to make your visit with us as perfect as possible. That includes handling any requests with patience and pleasantness. King’s Creek’s standard is to always provide superior customer service. We truly apologize if the service you received fell short of that. We appreciate your feedback and are hopeful of another opportunity to host you and exceed your highest expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We exchanged our unit that we own in Colorado for this one and were very happy here. We had an upper 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit at the very end of the complex and it was enormous. There was even an extra room with sofa and TV next to the bedroom. For a family, this would be excellent. There was a very large, rectangular dining table and a passthrough "window" to the well appointed kitchen. Our corner unit looked out onto nothing but trees and it was completely quiet -- no street noise, no people noise, nothing. It was really wonderful.

Everything was clean and we had everything we needed. I really wanted to give this resort an excellent rating but I didn't want to mislead anyone. We were pretty sure, in advance, that we would get an older unit that needs an overhaul. And this was the case. Yes, it was very dated (1990s?) and the furniture and decoration is in need of updating but it was still fine for our use. We cooked our breakfasts there and then came home for dessert. We weren't in the unit long and the master bathroom had a huge tub (that we didn't use because we aren't tub people) and was very large and accommodating. We know that condos undergo renovations and since this wasn't our home resort, we were ok with this.

We loved that we had a washer/dryer in our unit. We also loved that we were only 10 minutes away from Colonial Williamsburg. Be sure to bring your GPS for your vehicle with you; Colonial Williamsburg can be very, very confusing if you venture out much in search of groceries or dinner. For us, it was a grand adventure.

We did not use any of the facilities (pools, etc.) so can't speak to that. The grounds are really lovely and many in the unit opposite ours were grilling their dinners out on the 2 grills in front.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.