We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Save Saved
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family I booked through II. We stayed in the Cottages. The place was nice and comfortable. The activities led by Nelson was awesome for the family. We loved the chocolate making activity. Great place!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Nelson is a valued part of the King’s Creek Plantation team and he enjoys making your experience with us fun for everyone in the family. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    136
    69
    39
    52
See reviews for
196
108
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed at this resort and loved EVERYTHING about it! The space was a 2-bedroom townhouse style and a lock-off 1-bedroom. It felt like home! The space was so large and spacious! There was a large dining room table for the whole family, a huge kitchen, living room with fireplace, 3 larger master bedrooms with 2 jacuzzi tubs and a large deck! There was a outside grill, playground, miniature golf, tennis, basketball, inside/outside pool, sauna, steam room and tons of activities! We went during the winter season when there is not much going on in Williamsburg. But this resort filled in a lot of blanks! We had a great time... And will definitely say that this is the best resort there!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D. C.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Quality cottage (called duplexes yesteryear), two-story units on lovely winding roads. Enchanting, homey. But as noted elsewhere, poor soundproofing, Extremely noisy plumbing in our unit, bathroom fan from hell, refrigerator hum to drown out a Dylan harmonica. Abundant parking, balcony, woods are plusses. But amenities like pool, spa, exercise facility are a hike from most units. Attractions, however, are very convenient. Price to buy ratchets down quickly if you resist. It's up to you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are pleased to hear you found our location and grounds to be enjoyable. Our staff works very hard to maintain a homey feel both in our accommodations and throughout the resort. We are in the process of updating all of our units replacing carpet, repairing appliances and any other items needing assistance. We appreciate your feedback, we are able to address issues at our resort because of your help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom unit off of Dakota drive. The kitchen was updated with new stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. It was clean and stocked nicely with glasses, plates, pots & pans of all kinds. The living room area was nice and cozy. The electric fireplace was a nice surprise (since interval told us that it wouldn't have one); However the blower was broken on it and it didn't actually blow the heat out. The dishwasher was broken, maintenance quickly came out to fix it. The bedroom was very nice and included a nice sized jacuzzi hot tub and doors to a balcony. The balcony however was very small. The bed was horrible. Mattresses were very worn and included dips and lumps. Sleep did not come easy and my back was in pain the next day. When we told the front desk about this, and asked for at least egg crate, it took them all day & into the night to bring it out.
The grounds were nice however didn't really include any amenities and activities outside of a pool. (Not much off a pleasure in the winter , even if heated). There is no real restaurant on site. There is a BBQ food truck that was stationed by the clubhouse that included a tent covered dusty area of picnic tables. I had no desire to eat there.
Also, we were there on an exchange (not a promo tour free stay). Yet the front desk called us and pretty much bamboozled us into a tour. They actually said in the call that as a thank you for staying with them, they wanted us to come up for light refreshments where they "will explain what's available on the premises, explain any changes being made within interval and offer us a free gift". No where in the entire conversation did she say a tour presentation. We get to the front desk and they say, go to the clubhouse, when we walked in, I knew what it was right away and was a bit upset. I asked the man that was assigned to us if this was indeed a tour presentation and he replied "that's what u signed up for, that's what it is". That was so troubling. Do they believe we would have even considered buying with a company who wasn't even upfront about a tour? Integrity clearly wasn't at the top if their list. Oh and for the free gift.....a gift card that could only be used at the outlets. Unfortunately, we had already spent a nice amount of time and money at the coach, izod, converse and north face stores.....day late dollar short. The other gift was a restaurant.com gift card. :( there were only about 5 participating restaurants..and two of them were closed down. I mean really guys!
Service, beds and lack of amenities and events lead me to give this community less than a poorer average. I do believe they have potential though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We always are happy to see our Exchange guests visiting Williamsburg, Va. We apologize that our front desk was not clear with their intentions to come to the Clubhouse. King’s Creek Plantation does not commend misleading our guests, your experience is troubling and we will address this with our sales team. Our sales team truly believes that our resort is the best vacationing spot in Williamsburg and sometimes their excitement gets lost in translation and the message is not best conveyed. One of the things we pride ourselves on is the different experience our guests have with us during a resort preview. We hope you come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Cottages at Kings Creek Plantation over Christmas. Check in was easy, they make you pick up your parking pass at a separate desk area and that is when they make their play to get you to make an appt. for the sales tour. We declined and that was the last we where bothered by the sales force. We had the complete unit, 3 bedrooms each with their own bathroom and a powder room downstairs. Full kitchen and a lockout unit with a half kitchen. While showing some wear the unit was clean, kitchen had all the needed equipment and everything felt like home for our Christmas vacation. Two bedrooms are up stairs and it looked like most units had stairs to get into the units. We liked that this property felt like a house unlike some timeshares that feel more like an apartment. The property is large and getting to the pools and amenities
Will be a hike if you are on the outer edges of the layout. We would not hesitate to stay in the cottages again when traveling to Williamsburg.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Christmas in Williamsburg is a memorable experience with unique performances and lights at Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens, Christmas Town. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodation, the cottages are very quaint and do give you the feel of being at home. For your next visit with us, please mention your preference of where you would like to be located and we will do our best to accommodate your request to be closer to some of our amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

From the warm welcome at the check in to help with our washing machine, I'd say the service here is excellent. No smells! Quiet. Great for power walking. Swim and gym facilities are fantastic. Good kitchen, towels, bed very comfortable. Clean! And yes close to everything. We came here with an Interval Get-away for a couple of hundred$ and couldn't believe the warm treatment we were afforded. Highly recommended. We are Marriott owners at 3 resorts. We are picky

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are always so pleased to hear our exchange guests enjoy themselves at our resort. It is our pleasure to have you stay with us this Winter. Not only do we have many activities to do in the Winter but we also have some really fun things going on in the Spring and Summer both on site and around town! We hope you come to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

And I mean they were up all night! What could they possibly be doing up there? Sound proofing needs an upgrade in the townhouses. The desk was rude and everything was pretty old and worn and smelly in the unit we were in. The location is convenient and the prices in line with the area.

Room Tip: Ask to see the unit first, before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCreekPlantation, Owner at King's Creek Plantation Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
You have our sincerest apologies for the disturbances you experienced during your recent stay with us. We can certainly appreciate the complaint because the Townhomes, while boasting many advantages, do share neighboring walls with the units around it. Our convenient location, our current upgrades and renovations along with our variety of accommodations to suit everyone’s preferences gives you every reason to come again. We recommend you try our “stand alone” Cottages, especially known for its privacy and often described by our guests as “home away from home”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.