We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings Creek Cottages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Save Saved
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Kings Creek Cottages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We are RCI members and stayed at Kings Creek Cottages for a few days off season in December. The Cottages are rather older and certainly only a silver star rating as far as furnishings etc. go and could certainly use some updating. We stayed in a 1 bedroom and itt was very functional, all we really needed although the living room/kitchen cominbation was very small and our neighbors in the adjoining 2 bedroom were quite loud. We weren't there very much so it wasn't that big a deal.. The amenities, hot tub indoor pool etc were outstanding and improves my rating from a 3 to a 4. We did tour the estates for the $100 gift card incentive and found those to be quite lovely, but are brand new so of course they have the latest and greatest of everything. I would certainly stay there again next time in Williamsburg for such an inexpensive point exchange, definitely not a gold crown and am glad I was only expecting silver as RCI quoted.

Room Tip: We stayed in 202B which was a perfect location where we could walk over to the indoor pool facility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    144
    71
    40
    52
See reviews for
207
108
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellwood City PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at a 2 bedroom condo, which included a kitchen, dining area, a living room, a sitting room just off of the master bedroom and 2 full baths. The sitting area could be used as a 3rd bedroom, also, since the couch was a fold out. Very nice amenities, pool, sauna, numerous play areas for the kids, mini golf, a nice bbq restaurant onsite with a smoker that smelled divine. We didn't have the chance to try out his bbq, but it smelled wonderful. Very close to shopping, and close to amenities. Very clean, friendly folk. The water pressure was a bit low, but enough to wash my thick hair. Jacuzzi plus a shower stall in the master bedroom. Electric fireplace in the living room, 4 cable tv's, laundry in the unit, and a full kitchen with dishes, cookware, towels, etc - you just bring the food. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, but we forgot to bring our own pillows, which I highly suggest to anyone else. We'll return. We've been to the time share things before - you just say no, and move on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great location and very clean. Only issue was that some units have a separate shower and you think that would be nice, but it is very small and low water pressure. But the place has a playground, shuffle board, indoor and outdoor pools a jacuzzi's

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia,USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

before we went to Kings Creek, i have read a lot of reviews about this place and was hesitant at first to join my friends because of the more poor reviews i have read and also about the tour they were talking about persuading you to tears to get or join their time sharing thing. My friend had signed me up to one of those tour. when we arrived,staffs were ok, the place was great-2 bedrooms- and really, did not find anything wrong with the place, towels look very clean, beds were ok, location is great too. the tour /persuasions were long but we ended up not joining and it was ok, i didn't cry of frustrations to tell them that i don't want to get time sharing. Overall, our 3 days stay was very pleasant....especially the shopping at the premium outlet mall....and by the way i ended up getting this time share thing after a night of deep thinking if it is worthwhile for me....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I want to give this place 5 stars, I really do, but I can't for reasons I should explain. We were in one of the newer units at King’s Creek Estates, a one-bedroom, and it was lovely. There was an electric fireplace in the living room, a double Jacuzzi tub in the bedroom, two cable TVs, and even laundry facilities. We booked through Interval, and did not experience a hard sell when we got there, which was really appreciated. It may have worked in our favor that we were there in the off season. Also, as a clean freak, I can tell you that it was very clean.

More pros: The location is fantastic. Next to Water Country (closed for the season) and a short way away from everything, but not right on top of everything. VERY quiet in the off-season.
Wifi (started working our third day there)
Fully stocked condo, as unlike other places we’ve stayed, they had coffee filters, laundry detergent, and dish soap for us.
Really nice aquatic and fitness center on the property
About two miles away is a Harris Teeter, a nice supermarket, and it’s in a center with a fantastic Chinese takeout place.
About 15 miles from Williamsburg’s Town Center, which has a nice movie theater and a lot of restaurants and shops
Extremely knowledgeable and friendly staff
Husband loved the golf in the area, and I took advantage of the Premium Outlets

Cons (Here’s why I can’t give it 5 stars):
There was a mildew smell that greeted us in the front hallway each time we returned to the unit. We were there last week, about five days after Hurricane Sandy blew through, so we chalked it up to that.
Our unit, as one of the newer ones, backed up to the construction lot, where the workers not-so-kindly started at 7:00 a.m. a few mornings. Ugh.
The beds were oddly squishy…almost like waterbeds, except that they weren’t. Made for some comedy when you tried to get up in the morning. Not a big deal.
For me, the main problem was the towels and the sheets. It took me almost 5 days to realize that the allergy problems I was having in the unit were because I was allergic to the detergent they use on the linens. I’m not that slow, I swear; the last time this happened was more than 15 years ago. We travel a lot, so when I say this was bad, trust me. There is a Target almost next door where we picked up a couple of allergy-friendly (i.e. new and clean) towels.
There is no maid service. They charge $99 for the smaller units if you want someone to come in. We did not.

All in all, if we brought our own sheets/towels next time, we’d go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myersville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Kings Creek Plantation is a great get away. Close to Jamestown, Yorktown and Williamsburg, the location cannot be beat. The property is clean, quiet, and the resort has a wonderful large aquatic center with work out facilities. Staff are pleasant and very accomodating. This is a time share community, so we had a one bedroom unt with mini kitchen and living room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were totally impressed. The facilities were very nice and spacious, every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful, the resort itself has a "neighborhood" feel as opposed to an apartment/condo atomosphere, which we liked very much. We liked it so much that we took the plunge and bought a wee piece of it. The "sales pitch" was in no way an unpleasant experience, we weren't pressured or insulted or pestered. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.