We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Lovely Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Save Saved
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfectly Lovely Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

After reading some mixed reviews, I was concerned about what this experience might be like. To my delight, we found Kings Creek a perfect place to stay. For two grannies and two granddaughters 8 & 10, the two bedroom condo was clean and spacious. We loved having the kitchen and washer-dryer right there. The location makes Jamestown, Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and Water Country very easily accessible. After long days seeing the sights, we found both the indoor and outdoor pools a refreshing treat. While the check-in greeting was a little flat, every questionning call, mostly about the tv/dvd, was met by a knowledgeable front desk staffer who provided a speedy response. DVD's for borrowing also came in handy on last night when we were totally wiped out.

Our only hesitations were about pull out couch--not really sleep worthy. There was an extermination odor in downstairs bathroom. No lifeguards at the pools, at least when we were
there.

Otherwise, I cannot imagine better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    144
    71
    40
    52
See reviews for
207
108
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beautiful property. We stayed in the Cottages section. We were in 310B which was the 1 bedroom lock out of a larger unit. Our condo had late 80's decor and a king bed that drooped in the middle. The walls were paper thin and we could hear entire conversations from the family that was in kitchen/dining room next to our unit. Needless to say we talked in low tones and kept our TV turned down. Our neighbors were morning people and were making breakfast, complete with bacon, at 6:30 a.m.. We finally put a blanket in front of the door to try to minimize the smells. Having a washer and dryer in the unit was nice. No light in the kitchen except under the hood made it hard to see to cook at night.
Very small check in area and fitness area, but the pools looked like they were nice. It was April, so we didn't use them.

Room Tip: I would stay here again only for the location. This resort is very convenient to the interstate and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Overall lovely area, very clean, nice size rooms and efficiently run. Our family stayed for 5 nights and the only issue was the beds. The beds are very firm boardering on hard so that made our stay a little less enjoyable. We also felt a little badgered to complete the timeshare pitch,as others have stated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

POORLY maintained resort. Went there with the whole family few months ago and we stayed at one of the Townes. When we arrived the staff at the front desk were very nice, it was a quick check-in. Thought this is going to be a nice and friendly resort, unfortunately once we entered the Townes we saw the sofa was ripped, light in one of the rooms was not working, and there was a dangling smoke detector off the ceiling. All these were not that important to me. The most annoying thing and specially at night was that the floor and all doors were making squeaky noise and not to mentioned the terrible mattress. Every time when someone went to the bathroom, everybody could hear the door open & close. Thought this will be a fun and relaxing 3 nights at this King's Creek Plantation Resort, but the whole family didn't get any good sleep. They should change their resort to "King's Squeak Plantation.

The next day we went to that so-called orientation, but of course they were trying to sell you time share sort of deal. We sat there for 1/2 hour and listened to the sales guy talked, talked, and talked more. Of course at the end we didn't buy anything as I didn't see the value of their resort specially he said King's Creek is one of their platinum resorts. Cannot imagine what does it look like on their low end resorts. After we rejected the offer, that's when the sales guy gave us the unhappy look and made us sat for another 15 minutes while he went somewhere. When he came back he told us to walk to the next building to get our 2 free tickets to Williamsburg, but once we arrived there was another sales trying to sell us some packages again. As you can predict, we rejected the offer too....He walked us out of his office and handed us the 2 free tickets WHILE talking to the receptionist and WITHOUT looking at us at all. How RUDE!!

I was going to write a review right after the trip few months ago, but I was just being nice and just let the whole thing go since I know I won't go there again. But today I received a phone call and it was from their sales office. The lady on the phone tried to get me to go back, selling me a package, getting me 1 extra free night stay..blah blah blah....I told her: "Thanks for the offer but I'm not interested at this time" She then hung up on me without saying Thanks or anything. Is this how they called this their "Platinum" resort????? You judge this yourself. Good Luck if you already booked the resort.

Room Tip: My tips to choose a good room is....none, just bring ear plugs and air mattresses
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed in 2-bedroom cottage as part of time-share presentation. The cottage was not the best and not updated, but it did the trick. It suited our family of 6 with 2 bedrooms and a pull-out sofa. It was definitely more convenient than a hotel with the full kitchen, 2.5 baths and washer and dryer. We didn't spend much time indoors. The basketball court was right across the street from our cottage and we were able to play a few family games with no interruption. The walk to the pools was about 5-8 minutes. The outdoor pool was nothing special but the kids loved the indoor pool. We played several games of indoor pool volleyball during our stay, so much that the bottom of our feet were hurting! The indoor pool area was huge and also included basketball hoops.

Timeshare presentation was okay. Free coffee and Krispy Kreme was nice :). The newer models have all the upgraded amenities and decor and look great. If you're looking for a timeshare, these are among the lowest cost that I've seen and will work if you plan to exchange more than stay here. The price will drop the more you say no!

Location was as close as it could be to Water Country and we loved Water Country. Too hot for us to try Busch Gardens. All in all, decent stay. I wouldn't call this a vacation resort but rather a neighborhood community with great amenities. Convenient, little bit of fun on site, no big extras.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

"if you purchase the timeshare special - expect to get what you pay for" said the Salesman for this property: Very little. We paid $189 for 3 nights with a promise of a AMEX gift card after the presentation. There are two areas to this property: rentals and owners property. The biggest mistake that this company makes is booking you in the smallest, oldest, scariest 1 bedroom "closest- like" rental lock off room, then trying to upsell you with the brand new models (again a direct quote from the salesman).....somehow that seems counterproductive- doesn't it? The rentals are old and in disrepair. The walls are paper thin as this until was never meant to be a "separate" rental - just an additional mother-in-law suite for the main house(yet another quote from the salesman). The broom closest had a hanging rod about 3 feet from the floor for your clothing. We did the mandatory timeshare presentation and complained - then went through the express version of the usual pressuring....we spoke to the marketing manager about their accommodations. In all fairness, she did offer us a change of room, but we had enough of this place, then decided to check out after we received the amex gift card. The location is good but the rentals are terrible. My advise is to be sure and ask for a new room or enjoy your stay in the Bates Motel.

Room Tip: demand a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at this nice facility. We purchased a 5 day / 4 night stay at our local Home Show expo for a really great price. The catch: we had to endure a timeshare pitch. It really wasn't bad, they weren't pushy. And we received free tickets to Water Country!

The condo was clean and well laid out when we arrived; the ice maker in the freezer didn't work, but it was no big deal. My only issue with the facility was how we could hear EVERY move the people upstairs made. They'd walk, we'd hear it. They flushed the toilet, we'd hear it. They'd take a shower, we'd hear it. I'm not sure what they could have done differently, but in my house, we hear nothing of what is going on upstairs!

All in all it was a nice stay; the grounds were quiet. The facility is located right next door to Water Country, not in the center of Williamsburg, but a short 15 minute drive and we were in the heart of everything. Just next door to Water Country is a Super Target & Best Buy, nice and convenient to pick up the things we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.