We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time share disaster” 2 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Time share disaster”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

"if you purchase the timeshare special - expect to get what you pay for" said the Salesman for this property: Very little. We paid $189 for 3 nights with a promise of a AMEX gift card after the presentation. There are two areas to this property: rentals and owners property. The biggest mistake that this company makes is booking you in the smallest, oldest, scariest 1 bedroom "closest- like" rental lock off room, then trying to upsell you with the brand new models (again a direct quote from the salesman).....somehow that seems counterproductive- doesn't it? The rentals are old and in disrepair. The walls are paper thin as this until was never meant to be a "separate" rental - just an additional mother-in-law suite for the main house(yet another quote from the salesman). The broom closest had a hanging rod about 3 feet from the floor for your clothing. We did the mandatory timeshare presentation and complained - then went through the express version of the usual pressuring....we spoke to the marketing manager about their accommodations. In all fairness, she did offer us a change of room, but we had enough of this place, then decided to check out after we received the amex gift card. The location is good but the rentals are terrible. My advise is to be sure and ask for a new room or enjoy your stay in the Bates Motel.

Room Tip: demand a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    163
    87
    50
    58
See reviews for
234
130
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at this nice facility. We purchased a 5 day / 4 night stay at our local Home Show expo for a really great price. The catch: we had to endure a timeshare pitch. It really wasn't bad, they weren't pushy. And we received free tickets to Water Country!

The condo was clean and well laid out when we arrived; the ice maker in the freezer didn't work, but it was no big deal. My only issue with the facility was how we could hear EVERY move the people upstairs made. They'd walk, we'd hear it. They flushed the toilet, we'd hear it. They'd take a shower, we'd hear it. I'm not sure what they could have done differently, but in my house, we hear nothing of what is going on upstairs!

All in all it was a nice stay; the grounds were quiet. The facility is located right next door to Water Country, not in the center of Williamsburg, but a short 15 minute drive and we were in the heart of everything. Just next door to Water Country is a Super Target & Best Buy, nice and convenient to pick up the things we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a great week in Williamsburg VA. This resort was very clean and well kept. We had some minor problems with ants in the unit and the electric stove had some issues but the maintenance workers addressed those issues very quickly. We didn't do much of the history stuff this time (did it in the past), this week was mostly about the parks "Busch Garedns and Water Country USA". This resort is ideally located just 1 block from Water Country and 5 minutes from Busch Garedns and Downtown Williamsburg!! We bought 7 day park hopper passes from AAA for $75.50 pp (an awesome deal if you ask me) which also included parking, which is $13.00 a day. The one sour note, I left my phone charger in the unit and returned for it shortly after we checked out but someone had already taken it and the tip that I left for housekeeping and housekeeping haden't been in the unit yet. Hummmmm??

Room Tip: The cottages are individual units and offer more privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here for one week in July 2012; very clean & efficiently run; Although the 1st part of check-in was quick and efficient, we were then passed to another member of Staff to get our "Car Pass" - however, beware that this is the same person who will "badger" you to make an appointment to see their new properties on the Estate with a view to buying/renting etc - their approach was too aggressive for my liking and I subsequently refused! However, I don;t want this to take away from the great location of this place - there is a multitude of things to see in the Williamsburg area and beyond to Jamestowne, Yorktown etc; The Apartments/Houses (we stayed in a 2-bedroom) have all the mod cons and Grills right outside your Door; they are both spacious and clean with plenty of Room for at least 4 people. All in all a good place to stay, recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom, two-bathrom condo in the Townes section, right by the pool. The unit was upstairs, so getting groceries in and out was a little strenuous. The kitchen was well equipped, and we used the outside grill to barbeque some chicken one night. My parents joined us for a few nights, and there was plenty of space to sleep 6 comfortably.
We had really hot weather, and the pool was so warm it wasn't refreshing at all.
We attended the presentation and found it to be really low pressure for us. We already own time-shares, so they understood we were not in the market to buy another. We were able to get passes for the whole week to Busch Gardens for our kids for $20 (total). We knew we were going to buy tickets already, and it would have cost us about $70 each.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on an exchange so that we could enjoy Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, and Colonial Williamsburg. The location is close to all 3 and very close to the water park. We purchased bounce passes through the Busch Gardens website which I highly recommend if you plan on visiting all 3.

We stayed in the cottages which have a lockout feature, depending on how much space you need. Our unit was a 2 bedroom plus sleeper sofa and did not include the additional space of the lockout. The bedrooms were on the second floor,king sized in one, two twins in the other. The bedrooms each had a full bath and there was a half bath on the first floor. There is a full kitchen, ample utensils, etc. The washer and dryer were stackable variety and dryer took a minimum of two cycles to dry anything (load size didn't matter). The rooms were clean and in good condition for not being one of the newly remodeled units. We had no issues with noise from the adjoining side as others have noted in the past, although we weren't in the Townes.

The pool facilities were very nice and we were fortunate enough to be close to both the indoor and outdoor. If you plan on using them I would try to request this when you book as some units are quite a distance from the pool (including the much pricier Estates,which currently have no pool). They will send someone to pick you up if your unit is farther away and you have mobility issues (per staff conversation).

Overall we were satisfied with our visit. We found most but not all staff to be friendly, though not overly so. I would recommend skipping the timeshare presentation for now. As commonly noted, they do not keep to their promised timeframe and they are clearly coached to push one product (ICE) I order to sell the real product (points). If it doesn't fit your needs, too bad, they just bring in someone else to pitch it again. This sales force would greatly benefit from additional coaching around their own product so that they can sell with confidence instead of struggling to articulate the finer details of their own program when educated questions are asked. We may have seen the benefit to being an owner if they could make the points system tangible in a formal presentation instead of just speaking in generic terms. It would be highly beneficial to have merchandising to support this instead of scribbling figures on notebook paper (highly unprofessional). It is worth noting that we attended this because we are looking to add to our portfolio (albeit probably not for 3-6 months) and did not stay here based on one of their deals that required us to attend. We have been very satisfied with our existing timeshare but were interested to hear from others as we only have experience with our own.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The location is one driveway away from Watercountry USA and the reason I booked it. For this reason alone, it met our requirements. I exchanged my Marriott timeshare and this is not the quality of a Marriott. The pool area has a stand for towels, but is not always staffed. There is no snack bar or cafe to purchase lunch or dinner. There is no music or activities for kids at pool. The pool is nice as it has 3 different sections and depths. However, the sign says that kids are not permitted in the deepest pool, but no one was enforcing this. There are no lifeguards. There is a large indoor pool, which is also a reason I booked this location....figuring if it rains, the kids will still have somewhere to swim. Not so. The pool is not grounded so due to thunder, the inside pool had to be evacuated as well. The mattresses are very soft. The unit was clean and well stocked in the kitchen, minus any sort of tupperware.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.