We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interval international exchange” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Creek Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added King's Creek Plantation Resort to your Saves list
King's Creek Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ravenna, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interval international exchange”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on an exchange so that we could enjoy Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, and Colonial Williamsburg. The location is close to all 3 and very close to the water park. We purchased bounce passes through the Busch Gardens website which I highly recommend if you plan on visiting all 3.

We stayed in the cottages which have a lockout feature, depending on how much space you need. Our unit was a 2 bedroom plus sleeper sofa and did not include the additional space of the lockout. The bedrooms were on the second floor,king sized in one, two twins in the other. The bedrooms each had a full bath and there was a half bath on the first floor. There is a full kitchen, ample utensils, etc. The washer and dryer were stackable variety and dryer took a minimum of two cycles to dry anything (load size didn't matter). The rooms were clean and in good condition for not being one of the newly remodeled units. We had no issues with noise from the adjoining side as others have noted in the past, although we weren't in the Townes.

The pool facilities were very nice and we were fortunate enough to be close to both the indoor and outdoor. If you plan on using them I would try to request this when you book as some units are quite a distance from the pool (including the much pricier Estates,which currently have no pool). They will send someone to pick you up if your unit is farther away and you have mobility issues (per staff conversation).

Overall we were satisfied with our visit. We found most but not all staff to be friendly, though not overly so. I would recommend skipping the timeshare presentation for now. As commonly noted, they do not keep to their promised timeframe and they are clearly coached to push one product (ICE) I order to sell the real product (points). If it doesn't fit your needs, too bad, they just bring in someone else to pitch it again. This sales force would greatly benefit from additional coaching around their own product so that they can sell with confidence instead of struggling to articulate the finer details of their own program when educated questions are asked. We may have seen the benefit to being an owner if they could make the points system tangible in a formal presentation instead of just speaking in generic terms. It would be highly beneficial to have merchandising to support this instead of scribbling figures on notebook paper (highly unprofessional). It is worth noting that we attended this because we are looking to add to our portfolio (albeit probably not for 3-6 months) and did not stay here based on one of their deals that required us to attend. We have been very satisfied with our existing timeshare but were interested to hear from others as we only have experience with our own.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    146
    77
    42
    53
See reviews for
210
115
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nj
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The location is one driveway away from Watercountry USA and the reason I booked it. For this reason alone, it met our requirements. I exchanged my Marriott timeshare and this is not the quality of a Marriott. The pool area has a stand for towels, but is not always staffed. There is no snack bar or cafe to purchase lunch or dinner. There is no music or activities for kids at pool. The pool is nice as it has 3 different sections and depths. However, the sign says that kids are not permitted in the deepest pool, but no one was enforcing this. There are no lifeguards. There is a large indoor pool, which is also a reason I booked this location....figuring if it rains, the kids will still have somewhere to swim. Not so. The pool is not grounded so due to thunder, the inside pool had to be evacuated as well. The mattresses are very soft. The unit was clean and well stocked in the kitchen, minus any sort of tupperware.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in the Estates -- a 1-bedroom. Very nice and well-equipped studio convenient to Williamsburg. However, we went to the sales presentation and had a ridiculous experience. The sales person was VERY high pressure -- 45 minutes into it, he was asking why we weren't convinced this was a great way to travel. When we tried to explain that we don't make major financial decisions in one day, he cut us off and talked over us. Unbelievably rude!!!! We got up to leave and asked for our gift certificate. They wouldn't give it to us because we hadn't spent 90 minutes with them. Don't go unless you can endure high pressure!! Otherwise, I would recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We rented a 3 bedroom cottage and it was wonderful. (7/15 to 7/22) We purchased a 7 day Bush Garden/WaterCountry pass (on line prior to our trip). From the parking lot of WaterCountry to our front door took 3 minutes. Bush Gardens was only 5 minutes away.
This cottage reminded me of a fairy tale cottage. Two of the bedrooms had King Size Beds and
the 3rd bedroom had (2) Twin Beds. Every bedroom had a widescreen TV and private bath with a 1/2 bath downstairs. Very clean and well kept. If i were to build a home it would be a replica of this cottage. There were (2) outside pools and (1) olympic size pool in the plantation
complex. The units had a gas grill to use and the maintenance people came around and emptied your garbage can every morning. We only got a call once for a sales pitch but declined. My daughter-in-law found this deal on craigslist. I have been to Williamsburg, VA for
the last (6) years and there is no doubt that when i come back it will be to KingsCreek Plantation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We booked through Fun and Sun, NEVER, use this scam company. We arrived very early to check in and found King's Creek had no electricity so no air, pools, basically nothing. After speaking with the manager we decided to cancel. She said no problem, Fun and Sun said no problem. However, no one will return our money. The manager claims she spoke with them and worked everything out. We asked to have it is writting and she said she could not do that. It is all a huge scam. DO NOT GO TO KINGS CREEK IN WILLIAMSBURG AND NEVER USE FUN AND SUN. The electric was not back on until two days later (it was June 30, and about 98 degrees out).

Room Tip: was not able to see rooms
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at King's Creek from June 29th thru July 4th. We had a 2 bedroom cottage that was perfect for our family of 4. It was well kept and we didn't have any issues at all. The beds were pillow tops and wonderful to come home to after exploring the area! The place was very clean and comfortable. We had large flat screen tvs in both bedrooms and the living room. We did the sales meeting the second day we were there and the man was not pushy at all. He told us about the plan, left us alone to discuss and when we said we weren't interested he said "Okay, you folks have a great vacation." Even the second guy we were then sent downstairs to who offered to cut the price in half was polite and just said, "Alright, enjoy your the rest of the week." The hour spent was definitely worth what we paid to stay in a 2 bedroom home! We would defintely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

overall the resort was very nice - we stayed 3 nights/4 days over in the Estates right after 4th of july- the place was very clean and comfortable for 4 of us - didn't like though that there was no door between the bathroom sink and the master bedroom! You had a "slider" door between the shower/toilet & the sink and another door that went between the toilet & living room - but guess it was o.k. The salesperson we had during our tour got a little pushy during the ending of the presentation as we told him we just couldn't afford it now; then we had to go see a woman known as "the closer" and she was even worse! well, if i lower the prices can you afford it, she said, and we still said no, and you can see she was irritated that we didn't committ right then & there but we just didn't have the deposit. it was a nice place too that it was right next door to water country! outdoor/indoor pool was nice as well. overall nice place but just didn't appreciate the persistance of the sales people, but guess that's their job to sell you a timeshare. They tried every which way to get us to buy, but we just couldn't now.. even said we will come back but they were like, oh, these offers will be gone soon! so, all in all, vac was good, weather hot but that's the summertime for you!

Room Tip: liked being upstairs in the "Estates" section, didn't have folks walking above you! do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Creek Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Creek Plantation Resort

Address: 191 Cottage Cove Lane, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Creek Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King's Creek Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Creek Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Kings Creek Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Creek Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;