We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfied customer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1452 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
nyc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“satisfied customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we had a good 3 nights stay in this hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious, the beds were very ok but my only problem was the bathrom shower curtains were too small. Breakfast area and the breakfast itself were very good. the staff were very nice and helpful special mention to the very nice lady in the front desk ,PATRA who was very helpful and nice the other lady too in the front desk who i forgot to ask her name. It is also near to everything shopping , restaurants, attractions and the church. Our overall experience has been very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for visiting us at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure I let Patra know about your comments. I look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    87
    33
    15
    20
See reviews for
107
46
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

As a platinum member of IHG I am a huge fan of the IHG family bit this place is terrible. Filthy doesn't even begin to describe it. Piles of hair in the bathroom upon arrival. All that takes is sweeping to remove. Obviously this bathroom hasn't seen a broom in a while.

Customer service is nonexistent.

Obvious maintenance issues that have been ignored. All the walls are scuffed up and wallpaper torn, again easy fixes of someone cared but it has been ignored.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I would like to thank you for letting me know about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg. We are currently in the process of updating the property to include replacing the torn and marked wall paper in the guest hallways. I will be speaking with my staff about your concerns so that we may continue to strive to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Decent hotel. Clean. Pretty good free breakfast. Small Indoor pool. Queen suite is good sized room with small fridge and microwave. Bathroom had no exhaust fan which was a inconvenience. Fitness center a bit tiny and inadequate with no weight machine(only had 2 treadmills & a bike and no tv) Hotel management had work done on the elevators at night with lots of noise one night and the workers setting off the hotel fire alarm on another night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for visiting with us at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg. I am very sorry for the fire alarm that sounded, we have finished the elevator work that was taking place during your stay. We are happy to say that we have replaced the TV that was missing from the fitness center so that on your next visit you will be able to watch your favorite show or news cast. On your next visit you will see some addtional chagnes that have happened. We now have updated our furniture in the breakfast area, along with the additional feature of the community table that has power and wired internet access. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in this location. Our overall experience was great. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff in the front desk and the breakfast area were good. The breakfast buffet was good. The hotel is close to the area attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for visit us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very late for check in and were greeted by a friendly, helpful employee. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. There were fresh baked cookies in the lobby on Thursday night but none Friday night. The hotel is in a great location, close to shopping and the historic area. The pool was a bit cloudy but that was our only complaint. Overall is was a great stay in a perfect location!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg. I do appologize for the pool. I look forward to being able to service you the next time you find yourself in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A decent value for the price. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly, the bed was comfortable and -best of all- the room was quiet. Wasn't in town to spend much time in the hotel, so it was all perfectly adequate.
A couple of small annoyances however, like there wasn't any soap in the bathroom upon our very late night arrival. Husband went to front desk where they scrounged up a small bar. No new soap was left by housekeeping the next day either and then on the last day, they left a full-size bar. Kind of strange.
Also strange was that the light blocking drapes were barely wide enough to cover the windows and on the one window, it hung down over the air conditioning unit, so air flow was restricted.
If you're used to eating breakfast at fast food restaurants, the free breakfast here will be fine for you. Another option is to eat at one of the many pancake houses around here or the Manhattan Bagel across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your experience at the Holiday Inn Express. You will be happy to know that we have replaced all the draperies in our guest rooms so on your next visit, you will not have that morning light shinning into the room until you are ready. I look forward to your next visit to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This perfectly located hotel has location, a breakfast, and great value when compared to all the others located side by side in this tourist friendly town. It is an older hotel, very well maintained. Our room had two double beds, a microwave, fridge, flat screen tv, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, nice hot water and soaps, shampoo, etc, and a coffee pot. The air conditioner could be set for your comfort, and even though the hotel was full, it was extremely quiet. There was a swimming pool, but we were there to see Colonial Williamsburg, not to swim.
The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had in many years of traveling. Pots of coffee, juices, fresh fruit and fruit salad, yogurt, cereal, bagels, french toast, english muffins and bread for toasting, instant grits and oatmeal, then the hot food,,,,,,,biscuits, sausage gravy, hot cinnamon rolls, bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs. There were folks with pancakes, so there must have been some kind of griddle. A word of advice, check the hours as they change on the weekends. I found that the 6:30 was the best, a quiet time to eat and read your complimentary paper. It does fill up fast, and seating seemed to be for 20-25 people, but they don't mind if you take your food to your room. If you arrive late, there are menus in the food for delivery.
The staff was extremely friendly, especially the breakfast room managers. She said that guest were listened to, that is why the buffet is so large. This hotel is a good choice, have a great visit!!

Room Tip: Perhaps the sooner the better, we booked late for the July 4th weekend, kind of a spur of the moment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for letting me know about your visit with us at the Holiday Inn Express. I am please you had a great Holiday Weekend. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Address: 1452 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg has won a 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence! The hotel completed a renovation in Summer 2013. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East in Historic Williamsburg Virginia provides a sensible choice for travelers to Virginias historic triangle of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown Located in the heart of the historic district, nearby attractions include Busch Gardens, home of the new roller coaster The Griffon, Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William & Mary, Merchants Square, Premium Outlets, NewTown Shopping and Entertainment, Yankee Candle, Ripley s Believe it or Not,Mariners Museum, Virginia Living Museum, Williamsburg Winery and The Williamsburg Pottery. Golfers can experience 15 championship golf courses such as Kingsmill, Stonehouse, Royal New Kent and Golden Horse Shoe. Local corporations include Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Sentara, Ball Metal, Surry Power Plant and Riverside Health Systems. Nearby government facilities include National Center for State Courts, Camp Perry, Cheatham Annex, Yorktown Naval Weapons Depot, West Point Armor Group International Training and Fort Eustis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.