We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1452 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have not been disappointed with the Holiday Inn group of hotels. This one is at the top and would highly recommend it. Rough start when at the reception desk we found out that the central reservation desk lost (cancelled) part of our reservation. The staff was friendly, kind and very helpful. Even with the hotel being full they were able to fulfill our reservation to the best of their ability. The rooms were spotless, as were the linens and towels. Their free breakfast was as most typical hotel free breakfasts are, but when on the run it was good to have a hot breakfast. I only wish they would get better coffee. Over all I would stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the first floor, the pool is there and close to the room and you could hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    79
    28
    15
    20
See reviews for
98
43
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wytheville, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting Williamsburg. Check in was super quick & easy, staff was friendly. Great location, room was clean, comfy & quiet. There was a large teenage choir group staying there, but we didn't hear a sound! Breakfast area was crowded, but there was plenty of food, that actually was quite good. We would stay here again if ever visiting Williamsburg again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here as an overnight trip for my Wifes birthday. The hotel had everthing we needed and our stay was quite comfortable. The location is great. It's close to lots of dining and shopping. The free breakfast is decent as well. We'd come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was very disappointed in The Holiday Inn Express. It was very dirty and the smell was so bad that when we put the air on high, mold blew all over the white sheets and made a mess of the bed. I finally called down the third day to get our room changed. When we moved to our new room it was better(no mold blowing from the air unit) but I found dirty q-tips and wrappers on the floor. We had a total of 5 in the room. even though we booked the room this way we had 4 towels and 1 bottle of shampoo. When I called down to request more they seemed put out by my request. The roll away bed was not made up and I could not find sheets for the bed in the room. I had to call down to get sheet sent up. The pool was nice for my kids and they enjoyed the free breakfast. Location was good, we were close to everything. We enjoyed our trip, I just wished we would have stayed in a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear JonelleAnnapolis,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I was delighted to read that after some initial issues with your room, you were transferred to a room with better conditions. We will always endeavor to ensure that all our guests stays are comfortable. I would still like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and found the hotel to be very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Check-in was quick and they allowed us to go up to our room well before 3pm. The room was standard and comfortable, but there was no clock, which seems like a basic amenity. The bed was a bit firm, but they kindly provided both soft and firm pillows. It was also very quiet. We hardly heard any outside noise at all, even though our room was facing the road.
The location couldn't be beat- on one side of the hotel was Colonial Williamsburg, just a few miles away- and in the other direction is a boulevard filled with a multitude of restaurants and shops. Any dining option you could want is just a few minutes away. The hotel also has an on-site restaurant, pool and fitness center. And very importantly, the hotel has excellent security.
For the price and the location, this hotel can't be beat. I highly recommend it to those staying a few days in Williamsburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whar a bad experience, they couldn't handle the breakfast rush, need more than 1 lady wroking, and the lady that was working really mean too the kids. Also had a clogged drainb in the shower, when they c;leaned it, they left the hair in the commode. I notified the hotel of my poor service, never heard back from anyone, I guess they really don't care.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I am sorry to hear about your dissapointment with your stay with us. We strive everyday to be the best and we never like to hear we were not. Your comments will be brought up and our next management meeting in hopes that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We travel to Williamsburg 3-4 times a year and have stayed in various hotels including the Williamsburg hotels. This is a little gem. The rooms are spacious, clean and I am not sure I have received better hospitality from the staff. I use to travel 3-4 months out of the year for 10 years throughout the country - so this says a lot. They were helpful, courteous, and always smiling. For a budget conscious family, you cannot go wrong.

We traveled with an 8 and 12 year-old to visit Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg at Christmas and had a great time. We love Williamsburg and will be staying here again. 5 stars. Kudos to your staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. It is always nice to hear when our guests have had a nice stay with us and write about it. This will be shared with all of our staff. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Address: 1452 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg has won a 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence! The hotel completed a renovation in Summer 2013. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East in Historic Williamsburg Virginia provides a sensible choice for travelers to Virginias historic triangle of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown Located in the heart of the historic district, nearby attractions include Busch Gardens, home of the new roller coaster The Griffon, Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William & Mary, Merchants Square, Premium Outlets, NewTown Shopping and Entertainment, Yankee Candle, Ripley s Believe it or Not,Mariners Museum, Virginia Living Museum, Williamsburg Winery and The Williamsburg Pottery. Golfers can experience 15 championship golf courses such as Kingsmill, Stonehouse, Royal New Kent and Golden Horse Shoe. Local corporations include Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Sentara, Ball Metal, Surry Power Plant and Riverside Health Systems. Nearby government facilities include National Center for State Courts, Camp Perry, Cheatham Annex, Yorktown Naval Weapons Depot, West Point Armor Group International Training and Fort Eustis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.