We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location & quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1452 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Forest, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ideal location & quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is ideally located - easy to get to Colonial Williamsburg, the Williamsburg Pottery (totally new buildings on main road), etc. Hotel front desk service was excellent and also great breakfast. Nice indoor pool. Stayrd from December 21 -26, 2012. Stayed previously here Nov 1 & 2, 2012..

Room Tip: Rooms are basically sound proof, you can here sounds out in the hallway but not room-to-room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are always happy to hear our guest enjoyed their stay with us. Look forward to having you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    87
    33
    15
    20
See reviews for
107
46
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

From the moment we walked in the staff was extremely helpful, giving directions and suggestions for a great place for dinner. Room and pool were great. Great location to all attractions and plenty of dining. Breakfast buffet was great although we skipped it Sunday because there were no tables.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. It is always great to hear good comments about our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Let's start with the most amazing positive: This hotel had the best free breakfast that I've had at a hotel ever. There were eggs, bacon, pancakes, cereals, breads of all kinds, yogurt, fruit -- and it was all hot and free. Pair that with the tastefully decorated dining area and it was a good morning.

The rooms, on the other hand, were simply average. The furniture and linens were dated and the towels were comfortably numb.

It was a huge room, though -- with a pull-out sofa. A family could really spread out in this space comfortably. There was also a microwave and a good sized fridge with freezer in the room too.

All in all, I'd probably stay here again if I were traveling with my family because I can't afford much more! If I'm traveling on the company's dime, though, I'm probably picking another location.

Room Tip: Look out for the Turkey Vultures on the Roof! (Seriously, there were like 40. Didn't disturb o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments, first just to let you know we are going to be under a renovation here in the next few months, please come back and see us then, I'm sure you will like what you see. And yes we are working on the turkey issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed overnight here this past weekend. The hotel room and common areas were clean and very well maintained. Staff was friendly and easily available. The breakfast buffet has hot options along with the usual breads, cereals and yogurt, not the same as the many pancake houses down the street, but adequate and included in your stay. The pool room was nice and warm on a cold, dreary day, pool decent but small. I was the only one in there so it hardly mattered. They also did a great job with my request to be as close to the lobby/elevator as possible, to make things easier on my mother after a long day of outlet shopping. I'll be choosing this hotel again for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your great comments about your stay. We are always happy to hear about our guests having a wonderful stay and plan to come back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I found this hotel to be very clean, with all the amenities you would expect in a price point of 110/night hotel. The pool was well kept. The breakfast buffet was adequate for a free buffet. I am into more quality food so I ate down the road. VERY centrally located amongst a bunch of other hotels and food places.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very clean, very friendly front desk. Rooms are a little small, but it was a good value. Breakfast was what you would expect. It did have eggs and sausage so a little better that just a continental breakfast. Overall a pleasant stay. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kstudwell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to tell us about your stay. We look forword to having you back when you are in our area next
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

You need to level set your expectations. It's a Holiday Inn Express-to me if it's clean, is well located and has a decent breakfast, that's really all you can ask for for the price. Check in process was fine, I booked the hotel via Busch Gardens and they had inadvertently booked me into a smoking room. Luckily, the desk clerk made sure this was the room I wanted and quickly changed it once I told them I did not want a smoking room. The room was clean, had a king size bed with ample and soft pillows, clean linens. There was also a small sitting area with a pull out couch, coffee table and working desk. Bathroom, though basic, was clean and functioning well, which is all we needed for this trip since we were only there to sleep after a busy day at Busch Gardens. Breakfast the next morning was good. A little more than the basic continental breakfast, but about what you'd expect. We did not use the pool; seemed small and the water seemed a bit cloudy. Location was great; just a mile or so to downtown Colonial W'Burg.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room towards the back of the hotel; easier access to more private parking in the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Address: 1452 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg has won a 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence! The hotel completed a renovation in Summer 2013. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East in Historic Williamsburg Virginia provides a sensible choice for travelers to Virginias historic triangle of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown Located in the heart of the historic district, nearby attractions include Busch Gardens, home of the new roller coaster The Griffon, Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William & Mary, Merchants Square, Premium Outlets, NewTown Shopping and Entertainment, Yankee Candle, Ripley s Believe it or Not,Mariners Museum, Virginia Living Museum, Williamsburg Winery and The Williamsburg Pottery. Golfers can experience 15 championship golf courses such as Kingsmill, Stonehouse, Royal New Kent and Golden Horse Shoe. Local corporations include Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Sentara, Ball Metal, Surry Power Plant and Riverside Health Systems. Nearby government facilities include National Center for State Courts, Camp Perry, Cheatham Annex, Yorktown Naval Weapons Depot, West Point Armor Group International Training and Fort Eustis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.