We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Holiday Inn Express - Some Positives, but One Significant Negative” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1452 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
1,168 helpful votes 1,168 helpful votes
“Typical Holiday Inn Express - Some Positives, but One Significant Negative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in early December while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. This is a pretty typical Holiday Inn Express (I've stayed in several other Holiday Inn Express hotels).

The positives included:

1. Good, helpful front desk staff. Nice fireplace in reception area.

2. Good breakfast, particularly enjoyed the ham / Canadian bacon one moring. Plenty of seating for breakfast and good layout (unlike others whether the food and dining area has been crowded, this was well-designed and spacious).

3. Excellent, modern high-speed PC set-up in lounge area for those who don't carry their laptops with them.

4. Nice, modern, clean hotel in safe area. Housekeeping, however, could have been improved in the bathroom in my room. The tub tile walls and the toliet needed a thoroug scrubbing as there was some dirt and mold.

The negatives were limited to:

1. No real spa / hot tub. There is an indoor pool area that was nice and clean. The pool room itself was well-heated, but the water could have been warmer. This may have explained the lack of activity at the pool. The major disappointment (and a big NEGATIVE) in my view was there was no separate spa. You could turn jets on in a part of the pool, but the seating arrangement was awkward and the water temp was no warmer than in the rest of the pool. This is not a spa, in my view! I enjoy relaxing in a spa and this was not available here.

2. The location was OK, but there was no where that you could easily and quickly walk to a restaurant and / or bar without crossing a major highway. The Express hotels do not provide facilities, which is fine, but many are better located with a nearer source of evening food and entertainment. There are many other hotels in Williamsburg that at either closer to Colonial Williamsburg or other attractions or next to places to dine.

Room Tip: Only one evelator, so can be a wait if you are on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACEY S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express for your lodging needs. We appreciate your feedback as that serves as our measuring stick on how well we are meeting our guests needs.
Please except my sincere apology for the inconvenience you experience with your bathroom and the pool.
Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. There's no excuse for anything less than complete guest satisfaction. We look foward to serving you again in the near future.

At Your Service,

Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    81
    30
    15
    20
See reviews for
103
43
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temple Hills, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I would like to commend the Holiday Inn Express for the excellent customer service I recieved while visiting. From the time i checked in until the time i checked out, i was treated like royalty. Everyone was kind, friendly and most helpful when i needed help. I could not have asked for better accommodations. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice get-away.

I would also like to give special recognition to the General Manager (Tracey) for her assistance.

Zeke Craddock

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDREW1452, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and look forward to helping with any future lodging needs that you may have. We take great satisfaction in knowing that your needs were met and that this was a great experience for you.


At Your Service,

Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Room 221 is Haunted. "Someone" called 911 from our room making the cops show up and bang on our door twice in the middle of the night. However our phone was dead everytime we checked it. Cops said this is the 3RD time since labor day that this has happened from the same exact room. We ended up getting our room comped though which was nice.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACEY S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express for your lodging needs. Please except my sincere apology for the inconvenience you experience during your stay with us. I am happy to inform you that the phone has been repaired. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

At Your Service,


Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

If you have to pay full price, don't bother. It's an older hotel that shows its wear.

The good:
-We only paid $62/night through Hotwire. That made it a good deal for us.
-Seemed pretty clean.
-We liked the location...places to eat nearby, and not too far from Colonial Williamsburg.

The bad:
-Our first night was on the first floor at the end of the hall near the door. People using it woke us up *way* earlier than we wanted.
-If you don't want room service, be sure to put your do not disturb sign out, otherwise, they will come pounding on your door at 9:15am. That was early for us with the schedule we were keeping at the time.
-The towels were ROUGH! My two year old complained they hurt.
-The housekeeping staff were super loud...yelling from one end of the hall to the other -- not professional.
-Housekeeping staff smoked outside the side and back entrances, allowing the smell to make its way into the building, and causing us to have to walk through it with our two little ones.
-No vents in the bathrooms. Any temperature shower makes the bathroom steamy.
-Normal wear and tear could be better maintained.

We spoke with the front desk about the noise due to the door. They allowed us to change rooms to a much quieter location the next night. We were happy there.

We also addressed the issue with housekeeping pounding on the door. They said that is policy because some people just check out and don't tell them when they leave. I've traveled a lot and never encountered this elsewhere. I think another approach would be better, one that doesn't bother the guests until after checkout time, at least.

Because of the price, we would try Hotwire for this location again, but we would not pay the full price the hotel asks.

Room Tip: The third floor at the end of the hall was nice and quiet. Rooms on the north side look out onto an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACEY S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on you stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express. I'm concerned about the problems you experiences with the noise and my staff. Please except my sincere apology. Please be assured that all issues you've raised have been addressed. Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.


At Your Service,

Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Upon arrival we were booked into a room right next to the pump room. While the AC was running this didn't seem to be a problem, however, as soon as it shut off we realized the pumps were loud, and vibrated. There were also two large AC units right outside our window. Unfortunately, there were no other rooms available that night, but we could move the next day. The vibrations were awful and kept me up all night. The front desk staff was extremely understanding and helpful, and as promised, got us a different room the next day. I booked this through a discount travel program instead of my usual method of using my Priority Club status, and wonder if this was the reason for the room assignment. After the first awful night, our stay was great. Very clean rooms, good breakfast, and friendly staff. Good place to stay, but if you are sensitive to vibrations ask to be well away from the pump room.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the pump room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACEY S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express for your lodging needs and the feedback regarding your stay. Please except my sincere apology for the inconvenience you experience the first night with the noise. It's great to hear that your problems was resolved during your stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.


At Your Service,

Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We only stayed one night, and didn't use any of the amenities or food service as we were too busy elsewhere. Found it to be clean and comfortable, and the staff was very polite. I liked the queen sized beds - so done with full size. I would not have a problem staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACEY S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we can help with any future lodging needs that you may have. We take great satisfaction in knowing that your needs were met and that this was a good experience for you.


At Your Service,

Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Pros -- The location is good, though there are a number of hotels with similar convenience to areas of interest. Breakfast a little better than expected. Good shower pressure and quiet air conditioner. When the outside temperature was comfortable, we were able to leave the window open a bit and get some fresh air, which you can't do in some hotels.

Cons -- Folding closet door (mirrored) was missing. Stain on duvet, for which we received some compensation because it could not be replaced when we checked in late at night. Hallway light was missing its plastic shade. Towels not as plush as we hoped. Hotel felt a bit tired. Found a Goldfish cracker on the floor of our room. Hotel entrance not as well-lit or as welcoming as you might expect. We arrived a little before 11 pm, and the entrance was locked because the receptionist needed to attend to a guest's issue.

Somewhat disappointed because we've stayed at somewhat fresher hotels in this chain and didn't feel that this one was quite as up-to-date or as well-maintained.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDREW1452, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your lodging needs and the feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate all the feedback as that serves as a measuring stick of how well we are meeting our guest needs. I apology for the unsatisfactory service experience during your stay. Please be assured that all issues you've raised have been addressed. Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.


At Your Service,

Tracey Spencer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Address: 1452 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg has won a 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence! The hotel completed a renovation in Summer 2013. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East in Historic Williamsburg Virginia provides a sensible choice for travelers to Virginias historic triangle of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown Located in the heart of the historic district, nearby attractions include Busch Gardens, home of the new roller coaster The Griffon, Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William & Mary, Merchants Square, Premium Outlets, NewTown Shopping and Entertainment, Yankee Candle, Ripley s Believe it or Not,Mariners Museum, Virginia Living Museum, Williamsburg Winery and The Williamsburg Pottery. Golfers can experience 15 championship golf courses such as Kingsmill, Stonehouse, Royal New Kent and Golden Horse Shoe. Local corporations include Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Sentara, Ball Metal, Surry Power Plant and Riverside Health Systems. Nearby government facilities include National Center for State Courts, Camp Perry, Cheatham Annex, Yorktown Naval Weapons Depot, West Point Armor Group International Training and Fort Eustis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.