We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Illumination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area to your Saves list
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 York street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #52 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grand Illumination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is in a great location and was very reasonable. My family and I travel to Williamsburg every year and we tried a different hotel since the one we always stayed at closed down. This hotel had a very friendly staff and great service. Also, the indoor pool and breakfast were excellent. On our next trip to Williamsburg in 2013 we know where to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Good Afternoon Jim,

We appreciate the chance to serve as your lodging choice while you were visiting Williamsburg. We look forward to seeing you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    23
    19
    28
See reviews for
90
34
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We weren't very impressed when we arrived at this hotel as it looks very tired. Our room had a musty smell but we thought it would be ok for one night. The pool area is ok - the jets in the spa weren't working but it was warm - and had bits of leaf in it (not sure how as it's indoors) and didn't look all that clean - we didn't stay there long. The shower took a long time to run any warm water but it was ok. So I thought it was cheap so my expectations weren't high. But even cheap shouldn't mean mouldy food on the breakfast buffet. The waffle maker wasn't working but there was hot coffee/tea etc. The cereals were in a large dispenser and they seemed a bit stuck together. Still there were bagels - fortunately I noticed the one I picked up was covered in mould - not just a small bit but a well established growth. The bottom was covered in green mould - made me feel sick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Good Afternoon Angela,

I do sincerlely apologize about the experience you had with us and I can assure you we have rectified most of the issues and we are currently working to ensure a permanent solution to keep the pool/spa area well maintained and not in disrepair. We have recently received our new spa jet blower and I can assure you that the moldy bagels is a one time incident that will definitely never happen again. I wish that this not be a lasing impression of the brand and I would like to talk with you about your experience. You may contact me via email at gm.va222@choicehotels.com or via phone at 757-220-3100. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Checked in yesterday, 12/6/12, for a 2 night stay. Location is great and the woman who checked is in was very helpful. You're about 3 miles from Busch Gardens and a short walk to the Historic district. The free coffee and tea in the lobby is also a nice perk. The room we are in is a nightmare! It is filthy from top to bottom - we are staying in an outside corridor room that is pet friendly. Maybe that's where we went wrong. The furniture is covered in dirt, carpets are disgusting, there are dead bugs on the lights and the list goes on. I'll post photos, as well. I only hope the inner hotel rooms are nicer because if they're all this disgusting, then this hotel is in some serious need of an overhaul!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Good Afternoon Katie,

I thank you for taking the time to post the comments as we do appreciate all feedback. I do personally apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. Since your posting We have steam cleaned all rooms on December 30-31. I have rectified the cleanliness and housekeeping issues. Upon receiving this comment, I personally did some investigating and the room should not have been left in that condition and again I personally apologize. I can assure you that no matter if you are in the interior or exterior building your room should be clean, neat and organized. However the interior corridor rooms are larger and more spacious than the exterior building.

I would like to discuss your stay and I ask that you email me at gm.va222@choicehotels.com or via phone at 757-220-3100.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We (me, my husband and 16yr old daughter) are here for an extended stay - staying in a one bedroom suite. This includes a nice size living area with comfortable, attractive furnishings - and Flat Screen TV, Cable and Free WiFi. The kitchen is large enough to easily cook a meal in with a full size range, oven and fridge. Dishes, utensils, pots & pants are included. The separate bedroom is large with 2 double beds and a good size bathroom - includes a bathtub & shower. The beds are wonderful and extremely comfortable with thick white comforters and crisp sheets. No problems sleeping in these beds. The bedroom also has a flat screen T,V. We are in a pet-friendly room and there are plenty of places to walk our 2 dogs... the open field in front of the hotel is great. No problems at all. We are taking full advantage of the beautiful, heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Both are crystal blue and just the right temps.A very lovely pool area with much attention to details.
I would be remiss not to mention the wonderful, friendly and helpful staff. General Manager, Chad Ledford, has made sure we have a room perfect for our extended stay and has been attentive to any problems - large or small. Andre at the Front Desk has been very helpful with familiarizing us with how to use the WiFi in our suite on our own pc. He has also made sure we have everything we need at any time of day or night - from garbage bags to toilet paper! The Housekeeping staff are exceptional - again friendly, helpful and attentive. Everyone is willing to answer our questions and they never fail to smile and say "hi" ask how we are and if there is anything we need. Carolyn is especially concerned with setting up weekly cleaning schedule for our room. There is also a laundry area available for our use.
We are going into week 3 of our extended stay and feel very comfortable and very much "at home" in our 3rd floor suite. This hotel is not extremely fancy or extravagant or elegant... it is much better than that. It is inviting, welcoming, friendly, comfortable, with attention to detail. The 3 of us are having a great stay.... and are very happy we chose this hotel for our extended stay. And the cost of the suite for our stay is exceptional with the amenities offered - including a full breakfast.
Feels like home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife, my twin boys and I stayed at this Quality Inn for a couple of days in late November while visiting Bush Garden's Christmas Town and we had a good experince with the hotel. It is very convenient if traveling with a dog (by the way we saw other dogs in the hotel but didn't hear any barking at night). It is 6 mins away from Bush Gardens and there are many restaurants nearby. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the indoor pool is nice. Decent breakfast. overall great value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I were visiting Williamsburg for a weekend getaway. We booked at the Quality Inn and were glad with the service, price, location and the hotel overall. The housekeepers did a great job cleaning the room.. Also, the breakfast area was welcoming with a sitting area and had make your own waffles. This hotel is great value and my wife and I will be booking here next time we come back to Williamsburg.

Room Tip: Prices are great at this hotel for what they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here in November. The room was clean quiet and comfortable. Overall the hotel could do with a reno but for three nights it represented good value. This morning we walked to Colonial Williamsburg from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area

Address: 505 York street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.