We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Williamsburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonies at Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Colonies at Williamsburg to your Saves list
The Colonies at Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5380 Olde Towne Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel amenities
Buford, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Williamsburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here Labor Day weekend and the week after. Our 2 BR 2 BA condo was beautiful and the property, while still under construction in some areas, was really nice. Great pool, children's playground, and fitness center. The hot tub was closed the whole week, so that was disappointing and the indoor pool was closed a few days after Labor Day. The only bad thing I have to say about the experience is the parking. We had to park next to the pool over Labor Day weekend because there was not enough spaces by our condo. I think if there's more than one vehicle per condo, the second vehicle should park in the overflow lot so that everyone can park by their condo.

Room Tip: If you have any issues with stairs, ask for a condo on the bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We really appreciate that you took the time to share your recommendation of The Colonies at Williamsburg. We’re sorry that some of the amenities were unavailable during your visit and for the parking issue you had, but are glad to know that you still enjoyed your time at the resort. We hope that we may have an opportunity to share our hospitality with you again on your next Williamsburg vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    58
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
117
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were disappointed in how we were treated by the front desk staff at The Colonies. The rooms were nice and the pool was fun, but the landscaping, fit and finish and overall presentation were not great.

There are so many properties to chose from we would not go back here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re sorry that we didn’t provide you with a positive vacation experience. Your review didn’t detail the issue you had with our front desk staff. Although we can’t comment specifically on the issue, we never want a guest to feel as if they didn’t receive the best customer service possible and we’re sorry that we have now left a negative impression. We hope that you will reconsider and return and allow us another opportunity to prove that we offer the best hospitality in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our second stay at this resort this past August 2013 (first time was the week of Hurricane Irene in 2011). When we booked, the listing was for a 4 bedroom (we didn't need a 4 bedroom but it was the only on available for exchange). In actuality, it was two 2 bedroom units with a common "key access" hallway (not a lockout). If we had known this going in we would have considered inviting another family with us, since they would have had their own private 2 bedroom unit, but it was not that big of a deal.

The unit was very nice and well appointed - full kitchen, 2 bathrooms (one with a deluxe shower, the other with a jacuzzi tub), electric fireplace, 3 widescreen tv's, small balcony, roomy and comfortable overall. Free wi-fi was a big plus.

The exterior is not quite as nice as the interior however. Not much in the way of landscaping, although it appeared that they were trying to plant some areas. Parking is VERY LIMITED. There did not appear to be enough spaces for the number of units!

The centerpiece of the resort is the pool area, which included a hot tub, and cool sprinkler park that my 7 y.o. daughter could not get enough of. (Be advised that there are no lifeguards or staff monitoring the pool areas, and there is a slide which young children might get hurt on without a parent supervising). Adjoining is the indoor heated pool which was also very nice. Tennis courts adjacent to the pool. But this resort does not offer any kind of food or beverage service other then the free coffee machine in the lobby (and a soda machine or two). There is a small game room with arcade style games and a ping pong table. The exercise room was very basic. There was a schedule of "resort activities", but we did not participate in any and so cannot comment.

Overall this is a nice place to stay in Williamsburg. It is convenient to Richmond Rd. and Rt. 199 (15-20 minutes away form Busch Gardens, 10 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg). Many great restaurants right nearby.

Room Tip: We always request a top floor so we do not have to listen to neighbors above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on The Colonies at Williamsburg. We work hard to provide all the comforts of home for our vacationing guests and we appreciate you sharing in detail what you found that made your stay enjoyable. We hope that we may share our hospitality with you and your family again the next time you visit Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Colonies is a great place to stay in Williamsburg. We had a two bedroom, two bathroom suite with full kitchen/dining room. It was modern, clean, well appointed and provided everything a family of four could need, even a washer/dryer, laundry basket and detergent. The shower in the master bedroom could have probably held five people easily. The outdoor pool with a slide and lazy river were a lot of fun for our kids, although it was a bit cold in September to really use. The indoor pool made up for that. This is a timeshare with the typical sales pitch to buy but it was low pressure. We sat through it and got a free breakfast at the Astronomical Pancake House for our whole family (the food was very good by the way) and free adult tickets to Busch Gardens (tons of fun and things to do even for toddlers), so it was worth the time spent. The Colonies' proximity to everything (Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, Busch Gardens, premium outlets, bounce house, bowling, and TONS of restaurants) made it ideal for our family. They organize group activities too, like a bus trip to Washington DC. We were busy with our own itinerary so we did not partake, but appreciated what they organized daily. By going off-season in Sept., the Colonies was not crowded nor were the attractions. They are adding more buildings so there is construction on site, but we never really heard it so it was not bothersome. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! Naturally we feel we’re one of the best values in the area but it is always a pleasure to hear from guests who appreciate our spacious accommodations and home-like amenities at The Colonies at Williamsburg. Thank you again for taking the time to post your recommendation and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were given a 3 day 2 night pass as a promotion, and I have to say this place was GREAT! The staff was friendly, and the rooms were fantastic! It is set up like townhouse apartments, ours was a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. The master bath has a great jacuzzi tub. It also has a dining area, fully stocked kitchen (down to paper towels and a water pitcher in the fridge) that even has dishwasher and disposal, living room with fireplace, and little porch in the back. There were 3 TV in the unit, one in the living room and one in each bedroom and they all had DVD players attached (with free movies for checkout in the clubhouse). Only downside was WIFI wasn't free in the rooms, you have to pay a fee for a password, however there are 3 computers and a printer available in the clubhoue for no additional charge. All in all HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your 5-star recommendation! Guest satisfaction is our number one priority here at The Colonies at Williamsburg and we’re thrilled to know we have exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family and I spent the night at the Colonies at Williamsburg and didn't want to leave. The property was beautiful. It has two huge pools, a game room for the kids and beautiful walking/jogging trails. It's located near Premium Outlet, so that was a plus. There's so much to do in Williamsburg and this property is located near everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed all the amenities that we provide at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for a longer stay (hopefully!) the next time you’re in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just came back and sad to be home. This place was great. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The kitchen had everything you would need. Very well stocked. The outdoor pool and kids pool slide and play area was great. My 3 year old had a great time. Stores are all very close by including the supermarket. Cooking is great saves money. We went to Busch Gardens which was only 20min or less away expensive be prepared but was worth it. My stay was amazing love love this place, and will return ASAP.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely recommendation and we’re delighted you enjoyed your time at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We’re so happy that we could provide you with a great vacation experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colonies at Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonies at Williamsburg

Address: 5380 Olde Towne Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonies at Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Colonies at Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonies at Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.