We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a Lifetime Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Getaway Package
Ranked #13 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Once in a Lifetime Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our experience echoed those of most of the other reviewers. Staying in one of these homes or tavern rooms immerses you in the ambience of Colonial Williamsburg. Our room in the Market Square Tavern was very spacious, clean and tidy, with a modern bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, and the tavern was very quiet. The central location is excellent. And you can't avoid the history - Thomas Jefferson lived in this very building while studying law.

Contrary to a previous review, you can choose your room, I think you just have to do so well in advance (almost a year ahead for us). After studying the floor plans and reading TripAdvisor reviews, I requested and received an upstairs room overlooking Duke of Gloucester Street. If you get a chance, don't pass up the opportunity to stay in one of these homes or tavern rooms.

Room Tip: Reserve as far in advance as possible, and make it very clear what room you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    66
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
50
89
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The Robert Carter Kitchen is right on the Palace Green! We would stop back throughout the day for a cold drink and a restroom break! What a luxury to be able to do that on a hot summer day! 3 words! Location, location, location!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern US
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Brick House Tavern for a couple of nights in May 2013. The location on the main boulevard is fantastic: walk out the front door and you're in the heart of colonial Williamsburg. Staying here adds to the feeling of stepping back in time.

The room was quite small, but for the most part we didn't mind. The room would be a bit too small and lacked a seating area, so I wouldn't want to spend a lot of time inside. We were in an upper room, and the shower was wedged in under the roofline. I'm not the largest person, but I was still pretty cramped in the shower. But, we didn't expect a large, modern room, so we can't really complain.

We checked in at the Williamsburg Inn, which is about a quarter mile away from where our room was. The Williamsburg Inn is a very upscale resort, but they didn't have their act together.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited Williamsburg in June 2013 as part of a tour of Virginia.

It was our second time staying in the Colonial Houses, and I had requested and been allocated the Robert Orell Kitchen, which is a charming little cottage with a living room, bedroom and two bathrooms in its own grounds. It also has the benefit of being right at the bottom of the Williamsburg Inn drive, which makes it handy for breakfast!

I find the call centre of Historic Williamsburg (with whom I booked a house) a little hit and miss as they refuse to tell you in advance what property you will be staying in, but I did get my request. Thankfully, once I’d booked, people who stay in the Colonial Houses have the same privileges as guests at the Williamsburg Inn (the poshest hotel in the group), so you benefit from the concierge service, room service, housekeeping, breakfasts etc. I can’t emphasise how helpful the inn staff and the concierge in particular is. We were so impressed by Dora Lynn Hornatt, who facilitated our entire trip via emails between the UK and the US and my requirements were not simple – in addition to restaurant reservations, I also wanted theatre tickets, concert tickets, carriage rides and a spa trip. All done perfectly.

We love Colonial Williamsburg and love to immerse ourselves in the historic atmosphere there. We were a five minute walk from Duke of Gloucester street, which meant we were quiet at night. I love walking through the streets and taking in the atmosphere.

We had good meals at all four of the taverns, although my favourite was the Kings Head. Make sure you try one of their punches! We also had a good meal at the Regency Room in the Williamsburg Inn, which is excellent fine dining and a knowledgeable sommelier!

There is so much to see in the historic triangle, but perhaps my favourite trip was to Berkley Plantation up the James River Road, where we had a picnic on our last day in beautiful British style country gardens.

My only complaint was that the aircon in the cottage is rather old and was certainly noisy and ineffective in the upstairs room. It could do with replacing. It wasn't helped by a radiator going full blast in the upstairs bathroom when it was 35c outside, but maintinence sorted it out on the same day.

Overall, the experience has to be done rather than described. We can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Robert Orell kitchen is a nice private cottage for a couple. If you want privacy, be sure to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Colonial Houses accommodations in Williamsburg are great for special occasions! It's like stepping back in time with colonial furnishings with modern conveniences! Go between Jan. 2 and middle of march for cheaper rates!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were so thrilled to be able to stay in an original colonial home on our spring break trip with our teenage boys. We stayed at the Brick House Shop just off the main road of Colonial Williamsburg. About 10 minutes after we checked in, we could hear the fife and drums coming down the street! We loved being so close to the main street and all that it has to offer, and it was quiet at night. This is an experience my kids will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

From our check in through checkout, this was a fabulous place to stay.
The wood plank floors, the canopy bed, the location on the main street of the colonial town, we had a great stay!
Everything in the tavern was in period, the living room for the tavern was a great place to relax after a day of exploring the town.
Everyone at the lodge was truly interested in our experience and went out of their way to make sure we had a good time.

Room Tip: The Market Square Tavern first floor street side is the place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 136 East Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic reproductions of colonial houses with 18th century antique furnishings, set in historic area. Authentic period reproductions such as a canopy bed and a crackling fire in the hearth. Stay in the heart of the Revolutionary City with all the comforts of home. Enjoy access to dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.