We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patrick Henry Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Patrick Henry Square to your Saves list
Patrick Henry Square
249 York Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Eastern NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a studio room, there were four of us. If this had been a relaxing vacation we would probably have been cramped but we were not in our room much at all during the day. Everything was compact, space was not wasted. The bed was very comfortable, the two that slept on the couch said it slept well. We appreciated the fridge, the microwave/convection oven, and the dishwasher. We even used the countertop burners. We had everything we needed as far as the kitchen was concerned. The bathroom was fine, everything was neat and clean, we never had to call down and ask for anything. The toilet handle malfunctioned once and the maintenance man was there in minutes and it only took him a couple of minutes to repair it. We spent some time in the fitness room, it was great. Staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The reason we were in Williamsburg was to tour Colonial Williamsburg and we were able to walk across the street and do that, the location could not have been better. Plenty of restaurants, grocery stores, etc. were very close also.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, you might request a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is what you would expect from Bluegreen. The rooms were neat and clean. The beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The dishwasher did not work well. The dishes did not come out clean. My biggest complaint is the noise. You could hear someone walk down the hall and every footstep from above. We have four kids and security was called on us twice from the room below us and beside us because of the noise from our kids. I will be the first to admit that my kids can be noisy but in all of our years of traveling we have never received a complaint. I could have just as easily complained about the room above us or beside us but I realized that it was the construction of the hotel not the guests staying there.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The Perfect Honeymoon & Valentine Anniversary spot! Good food, rooms with a bottle of Sparkling Cider or your choice. The service was great and fast. Close to all Williamsburg has to offer with transportation if you need it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruce45@earthlink.net
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suite and enjoyed our stay as well as the amenities of the room. Guaranteed this is not even close to Big Cedar in Branson, however, it was updated and very clean. I saw the other bldg that they are going to tear down. It's definitely an eyesore. I would stay here again if I ever came back. Bluegreen just acquired this lately I assume and with that this can only get better!!!!!

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite was roomy and had two full bathrooms! We had the last room down a hallway whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was sorry to read, in Senior Reviewer's statement, that this hotel is going to be torn down. I have stayed at this property, several times over the years, and was SO pleased to find lodgings that were reasonable, allowed dogs, had polite staff, AND was close to Colonial Williamsburg. Hotels that offer all of this are VERY hard to find anywhere.

I hope whatever they replace this property with, has the same amenities. But newer properties seldom do. I guess we all just have to wait and see.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have been Bluegreen owners for many years, but have never been as disappointed with one of their properties as this. We were there for two weeks. We had conversation and emails from/with them prior to arriving. The emails stated that there were all kinds of activities available for adults and children on site, and the phone conversation said the outdoor pool would remain open until the first of October. After arriving, we find out that they stopped doing the activities for the rest of the season and the pool was closed! The pool is in the middle courtyard of the Old Patrick Henry Inn next door. It is not heated, but we only were interested in sitting outside next to it to enjoy the lovely weather, as there are no room balconies or other outdoor spaces in which to sit. The only outdoor seating is next to the entrance doors. This is where the smokers sit - makes you gag when going in or out the doors. The pool WAS open our first day there. The next day we went over there and there was a sign that said CLOSED, the gates were all locked and the outdoor furniture taken away! They are tearing down that hotel (Patrick Henry Inn) soon, so apparently were no longer interested in their guests' wishes. Since there were no activities and no pool, thank goodness we did not have children with us to keep entertained! We (two adults) were in a studio. It was quite confining for two weeks, but we knew ahead of time it would be small. The furniture was fairly comfortable, but the placement of it was terrible. The bed was placed directly in front of a small corner window (the ONLY window) and was right up against the wall. You had to stand or crawl over the bed to open/close the blinds or to make the bed - getting up during the night was a trick! We thought of several other ways the room could have been arranged to be much more "user friendly" and comfortable - wish they would too. There was also a sofa-bed, though I can't imagine more than two people in the room. The kitchenette was small, but well-stocked. The full-sized refridgerator, dishwasher, stove top, and the micro/convection oven were very nice. The bathroom was also nice. We had a problem with our ice-maker and the housekeeping/maintenance staff fixed it within minutes. Most of the front desk staff were great, but a couple of them didn't seem too sure of some things. Jeri B. and Celeste were outstanding. The location is wonderful - almost across the street from Colonial Williamsburg and only a couple of miles from Busch Gardens. Others have complained of the train noise behind the building. We were not bothered by it even though it was day & night. If we return, it will definitely depend on what they do with the property, etc. after razing Patrick Henry Inn. At this point, it was hardly better than a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel was nice and very clean. I arrived at night so it was very dark.. once the sun came up i realized just how beautiful williamsburg was.. the resort is across the street from a ranch or something.. lol. i know i saw horses..

had a studio apt rm, so it was cozy..

i just couldn't stand the leaking in the shower.. i had to put a towel in the tub so i wouldn't hear the dripping..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
5.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patrick Henry Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patrick Henry Square

Address: 249 York Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Patrick Henry Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patrick Henry Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.