We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Williamsburg White House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   718 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Suffolk, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Love the Williamsburg White House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is our third stay and John and Debbie make the stay worthwhile - the breakfast was wonderful, the suite spacious, and the conversation interesting, intelligent, and informative! Looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: The TR suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper718, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Steve,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We certainly are happy you enjoyed your 3rd stay and we look forward to having you back for the fourth time!! Thanks again for sending the keys back to us. We are glad you made it home safely and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Debbie and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    42
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
43
266
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is the B&B to stay at in Williamsburg! I chose this through a google search for a surprise weekend getaway for my wife and I and we could not have been more pleased! My wife and I have gone to a number of B&Bs in Charleston, S.C., and Annapolis, MD; however, this one is by far our favorite. The breakfast is the best that we've ever had and in the evenings sherry and wine is available with snacks in the parlor with the fireplace lit (obviously in winter). Bottled water is also always available there as well. It was definitely evident to us that the owners Mr. and Mrs. Keane put more than 100% of their efforts into making everyones stay enjoyable and relaxing. The home is beautiful, the rooms large, and it is in a great location that is within walking distance to the attractions and very accessible to Yorktown and Jamestown, both just a few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper718, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Darryl,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly love our job and have been in the business for over 17 years. Williamsburg is a great place to live and being able to share it with all of our guests just makes our jobs that much more fun! Hope to see you again someday!
Debbie and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Williamsburg White House at least once a year, for well over 10 years. We usually come in the wintertime, because we love the fire in the fireplace, along with the hot chocolate chip cookies, and chilled wine when we arrive. The Innkeepers, John, and Debbie have become friends, and cherish every time we stay there. The breakfasts with the other guests in the Reagan dining room is always full of incredible food, wonderful conversation, and warmth and caring for each person at the table. Yesterday we read books from the JFK library, last night we sat in the living room in front of the fire reading and enjoying the peaceful atmosphere. This morning at our breakfast table was a couple that had 15 children, a lawyer and wife from DC, and man in the US Air Force with his wife, expecting their first child, a software salesman, and his wife, a nursing instructor. We had wonderful conversation with all at the table, and loved the stories that each person brought to the table.
Bed and breakfast Inns are not for everyone. But if you are looking for a warm and caring atmosphere, wonderful USA historical themed B&B, in historical Williamsburg, VA, with the most wonderful innkeepers in the the world, then we would wholeheartedly recommend the Williamsburg White House to anyone looking for a very special place to get away from home.

Room Tip: Each room is themed based on a different US president, with pictures, books, and memorabilia relati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
retiredrnvirginia, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Linda and Mike,
Thank you so much for the beautiful review. It is such a unique job we have in that we get to meet such wonderful people every day and some of them such as you both, have become a part of our family! After 10 years of visits, we value our friendship and look forward to each and every one of your visits. The laughs and stories that are shared are so much fun.
We are glad you both enjoyed your stay and the wonderful new guests that you met during your visit! We certainly had a great houseful during that weekend.
We are glad you enjoyed the fire and the cookies as usual!! We wish you both good health this year and hope to see you again very soon!!
Debbie and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congers New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed at A Wiliamsburg White House before and everytime is like a new experiece. The area is fabulous to visit and John and Debbie Keane the Inns owners make you feel so welcome. A presidents theme to each room, my wife and I love the experinece history and decor of each. The breakfast is amazing, on time and I really feel like so at home. And most important very clean!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
retiredrnvirginia, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our Inn. We are so glad you returned and enjoyed the Inn again,. You are both wonderful people and we hope you think of us again in the future. Maybe next time you can cook the breakfasts as we understand you are great chefs! Have a wonderful rest of the year and we hope to see you again.
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our stay could not have been better. Friends recommended The White House to us and we are glad we listened.
We booked The FDR Suite and we were very comfortable. I am not sure but I think the suite had just been completely updated, everything seemed fresh and new to us.
The innkeepers could not have been more accommodating while not being obtrusive.We both are not big breakfast eaters and asken John if we could just have a continental breakfast. No problem.
We highly recommend The White House but remember to take your sence of humor with you and you will definately enjoy your stay.We will return for another visit, no doubt.
A&J

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
retiredrnvirginia, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Anne and Jack,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. A Continental breakfast was no problem, I am glad you enjoyed it and got on the road early! We are so happy you were successful on your trip to Williamsburg and hope you enjoy your future job endeavors! Wishing you the best and hope to see you again someday!
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the White House B&B after finding a great Groupon special. The innkeeper was kind and generous. He had a great sense of humor and genuinely loves what he does. Breakfast was delicious, and would easily cost over $15 a person at a local restaurant. We stayed in the Washington room, which was lovely. It was relaxing and peaceful, and we will definitely go back for a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper718, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for time in writing a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. We have been in the business for over 16 years and truly enjoy our jobs. It is guests such as yourselves that keeps us going~!.
John and Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been to the White House B&B and plan to return again.

After the first trip last spring we returned for a extra long weekend this past Thanksgiving. We remember enjoying the political feel of the house and all the nick-nacks placed throughout. As we pulled up we saw a Romney flag flying in front of the house. My husband and I book exchanged a glance, how did we not notice this on our first trip. We are liberal West Coasters pulling up to stay 4 nights with a Romney flag out front. I replied that that food was so good and the service was friendly... we can survive I thought to myself.

As John greeted us and walked us to our room he asked which spot we had taken (all the parking spots have labels, Republican, Press Sec, First Lady, Independent, Fence Sitter, Democrat, etc). I told him we had taken the Democrat spot and were trying to forgive him for the flag flying out front. He laughed and made a quick comment to affirm his position. Then that was the end of the politics.

We enjoyed a wonderful 4 nights and wonderful breakfasts each morning. John and Debbie are very personable and even remembered us from our first trip. My husband has a gluten-free diet and has even accommodated for him on both of our stays.

As we walked to our car after check out me husband posed what he thought was a loaded question, "Now that we know they're republicans, do we still come back?" I smiled and said, "I dont even care, they are wonderful!"

While I am a fairly open-minded individual, my support stands strong, for both the democratic party, and the Williamsburg White House B&B. you can guarantee we'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper718, Owner at A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Derek and Rebekah,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your second stay with us. Of course you came in November so politics were pretty vocal during that time and you still seemed to tolerate our flag! Thanks for being tolerant. :)
We know that our theme leads to political discussion and appreciate when guests have different opinions, that is what makes the world go round.
I promise the next time you come there won't be a Romney sign!!
Seriously, it was a pleasure seeing you both again and we hope you return for a third time!
Have a wonderful New Year!
Debbie and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 718 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Century Old Estate is now an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast in Williamsburg Virginia. This Romantic Inn is one of Williamsburg's most significant historic homes and is the oldest home currently operating as an elegant B&B in the City of Williamsburg. Enjoy unique suites, beautiful sitting rooms, manicured grounds and just a 4 block walk to Colonial Williamsburg. Historic and Romance Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Williamsburg White House b&b
a Williamsburg White House Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.