We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted for breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shorty's Diner

Shorty's Diner
627 Merrimac Trail, James-York Plaza Shopping Center, Williamsburg, VA
757-603-6674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 303 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Hamburgers, Ice Cream, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: We are a family owned and operated diner using our own family recipes, open daily from 6 AM - 2 PM. We offer homemade soups and salad dressings, fresh whipped cream on our French Toast and cakes and only the best quality meats and cheeses. Because we serve 100% all Beef hand pressed Burgers, our soon to be famous Shorty's fresh cut fries and Ms. Bonnie's special recipes, you're sure to see and taste the difference.Shorty's Sweet Side is now open daily from 3 PM - 9 PM. Enjoy soft serve ice cream, sno-balls, milkshakes, malts and more!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted for breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Spent several days in the Williamsburg area, and we were happy to find Shorty's for breakfast. fluffy biscuits, creamy grits, eggs properly cooked .Food not greasy at all. Wait staff pleasant and eager to please.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    75
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Food was excellent! Variety on the menu although only tried breakfast items. Eggs were cooked properly so A+. Prices were good. Staff very efficient. Definitely recommend

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Found this on Trip Advisor. Great find. Great customer service, good food at good prices. Met Shorty and what a personable guy. Runs a tight ship. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Perhaps Williamsburg's Only True Diner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great diner food, with daily specials like meatloaf, catfish, fried chicken livers and the like. Great cole slaw. Bountiful breakfast. Good hearty fare served up by very pleasant wait staff and often times, Shorty himself, who has great pride in this local establishment.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Md.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place isn't fancy but you can't beat the breakfast selections. Quick service, good food, low prices - you can't go wrong!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shorty's Diner also viewed

 
Williamsburg, VA
 

Been to Shorty's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorty's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.