We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Golf Getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Powhatan Resort to your Saves list
The Historic Powhatan Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Repeat Golf Getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Perfect location for Williamsburg golf. Units at resort are in serious need of an upgrade. Furniture is old, carpet had bleach stains, TV's in unit was antiquated . They have also implemented a new rule which only allows one vehicle per unit. An additional vehicle had to be parked in the "overflow" lot which was not nearby. The beds slept very nice and the hot tub is an added plus. SInce it was just us guys it was okay. If family there with me I would be a bit disappointed

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    467
    276
    148
    124
See reviews for
718
260
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed a week in April- not quite warm enough to REALLY enjoy the beautiful outdoor pool. Lap pool was closed all week. Outdoor leisure pool was HUGE, lots of chairs and towels available on deck, but it was not heated, so very very cold. My kids tried it a couple days because it was sunny & warm out (we come from cloudy upstate NY), but didn't stay in long and ended up in the indoor pool. This pool was nice, almost too warm, with 2 hot tubs that kids were not allowed into. We stayed in a 3 bedroom, which had lots of space for us (hubby & I and 14, 12 & 9 year old kids) and TVs in the livingroom, master bedroom and 2nd bedroom. DVD player in livingroom was stored standing up between Tv and wall with no flat place to set it on for use. We ended up moving a tall chair from breakfast bar over near the TV to put the DVD player on. Hot tub didn't get/stay very hot- more like warm bath water. But it was nice to have one right in our unit. Four of the doors in the place were falling off their hinges, so the doors could not be closed for privacy/sleeping. Some mornings the geese were VERY loud early, like 5:00am! These were really the only problems with the place- nothing terrible. Overall, we had a great stay here. the location is awesome! We did lots of sightseeing- Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestowne, Busch Gardens, go-karting, William & Mary College- everything was within a 10 minute drive! Check-in was very smooth, we were encouraged to sit thru the sales thing and get discount tickets to Busch Gardens, but I said "No" (twice) and then never heard another thing about it. Had plenty of kitchen supplies.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Our stay was very nice.The unit was ok I really like the hot tub in the unit.The grounds were ok lots of geese..The staff were very friendly.the resort has everything you need and is very close to all the area attractions.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

This resort is very picturesque. It has a histroric plantation house with Drum and fife show on fridays - nice colonial touch. Lots of geese around and their droppings! - this can get annoying after a while. This resort has no real sidewalks just the paved roads through the resort, so walkers have to watch for traffic, also no real lighting at night. They offer bike rentals - but no bike trails - you cannot take the rentals off the property.

The 2 bedroom condo was nice - the masterbed was comfortable. The adjoining bathroom only had a tub - no shower. The hot tub was showing it's age, also the one in our unit was installed improperly as the stairs going into the tub were not lined up with the stairs in the tub. This would be a problem with someone with limited flexibility!

The main issue I had was the in-suite laundry. It was built into a space ajacent to the kitchen, therefore it had no door to close in order to minimize noise. It had the smallest washing machine I've ever seen and to make matters more annoying, the dryer needed 3 cycles to dry one load.

Others have complained about the thin walls - and being able to hear upstairs neighbours. This is very true! We were luck that we had very considerate upstairs neighbours, but you certainly can hear every step!

This was a good location for Williamsburg area - we got a GOOD rate on VRBO - check it out, also Ebay has good rates too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

The room has been run hard and put away wet. We called maintenance four times during our week-long stay- one each for most of the major appliances. The dishwasher broke and leaked the first day, the dryer wouldn't dry the second day, the oven wouldn't start the third day, and the washer tried to shake itself apart on the fourth day. The carpet is at least ten years old--but spotless, really, for all of that (except for the permanent stains). There are over 900 units here, and the pool will hold a whopping 35 people. The minigolf was fun, except for the part where the greens are coming apart and the decking on the holes is warped. Oh, and it cost extra.

That being said, the place is visually gorgeous. Our understanding is that the units are being overhauled. However (comma), the place is seriously run down.

We don't need much when we travel, basically a roof over our heads and a decent bed. We got that....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

After reading the reviews of Historic Powhatan Resort, we were really worried about the place and our expectations were low. But for $59/night, we figured we'd check it out since we were not planning on spending much time in the room. I am so glad we took the risk. Based on the reviews, we called and emailed requests for a restored room, which we got and I believe that is the one determining factor that separates the bad experiences from the good. Our room was a 1 bedroom upstairs with a loft. It had a king bed and 2 twins in the loft. It had 2 full bathrooms, a balcony, a living/eating area, and a kitchen. Everything was brand new. There was a large (47-50") flat screen Sharp tv in the living area and another 46" flat screen Sharp TV in the master bedroom. The kitchen and bathrooms had cherry wood and granite. The furnishings were very nice and bedding was high end. All in all, the place was beautiful. I am not always easily impressed, but honestly, if you get a renovated room, you'll love the resort. I am sure I would have been unhappy if our room were outdated like so many reviewers write about. The only minor things I noticed with our room: no clock or phone in the bedroom, and they probably need to check their plumbing (the hot and cold water faucets were reversed in a bathroom and 1 toilet ran some--needed to jiggle the handle. Didn't think it was worth calling about though as we only noticed it when we went to bed and a simple jiggle took care of it.

The outdoor pool was open and our teens hung out there and at the indoor pool at night. The indoor pool was fine--nothing super big, but typical for a hotel indoor pool. there were two hot tubs there as well. The grill was OK. The teens liked it and ate there both nights. I wish they had more healthy options on the menu. The grounds are beautiful. The only reason I give service a lower rating is because there was a very efficient lady at the front desk who had no social skills whatsoever. She answered our phone call when we asked for a late check out and made a comment about how we should have called sooner (it was 8am) and then when we did check out, we met her and she had the same attitude. She needs to learn to smile and make guests feel like they are welcome. There was also a guy that tried to help us when we arrived (with directions, restaurants, etc). He fumbled a bit, but was OK I guess.

If there were a way to guarantee a restored room, I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

okay - I will be honest - I was a little worried what the resort & rooms would look like after reading some of the reviews on this site. I was more than pleasantly surprised as my rental was a two bedroom condo with a kitchenette and I found the room to be clean (and I am clean freak) and spacious for the price that I paid. My two children (ages 3 and 6) spent 3 days 2 nights at the HPR and had a great time. The resort is conveniently located to restaurants, movie theater, and shopping. We are pretty active so my intention was never to sit in the room and watch TV - can do that at home so having a 19inch TV was a non-issue for us. We spent most of our time at Busch Gardens and surrounding areas. The indoor pool is a basic pool but my children are young and couldn't care less, they had a blast anyway. The washer and dryer inside our room was a god send to wash/dry wet bathing suits after swimming. I found the resort to be well kept, clean, and priced right. If you are looking for a resort such as the St. Regis or Four Seasons this is not the place but then again the resort is not charging 5 star accomodiation pricing. Have realistic expectations and I can ensure you that you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Powhatan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.