We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Powhatan Resort to your Saves list
The Historic Powhatan Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 40% off!
Ranked #37 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Based on other reviews I was a little unsure, I was pleasantly surprised - the resort is great with indoor and outdoor pool, tennis, water features etc... the ground floor two bedroom we had was excellent clean and nice, even had a washer and dryer, and a hot tub spa in the back patio area. I was pleased with the resort and stay. just decide if you want to hear the timeshare "talk" - we opted out... had a great stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    493
    287
    153
    128
See reviews for
753
279
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Powhatan for our anniversary. I booked the room through an online discount site, and for the price I was very pleased with the suite we received. It was supposed to be a one bedroom, but we ended up in a two bedroom, 2 bathroom suite, which was very nice. We had plenty of room, since it was just the two of us. The suite we were in was dated, nothing really new other than the flatscreen tv. (later we were told that the newly renovated rooms were reserved for owners) That being said, it was not run down either. Everything worked fine and was clean, so we really couldn't complain. Kitchen was stocked well enough to cook if you wanted to, but we didn't. Oh, and the hot tub was drained and not working, but I was not expecting to have a hot tub either, so not really a loss. The only real complaint I had about the suite itself was that we were on the ground floor, with other guests above us. We could hear them walking around on the floor, which was a little annoying, but that was really the only complaint. We really didn't do anything else at the resort itself, so can't comment on their other amenities, but it looked like the grounds were nice and they had a couple pools and walking areas.

I will say that if you stay here they will try to get you to attend a timeshare presentation. We were called in advance and asked about it, so I thought maybe we would not get asked upon arrival, but I was wrong. After checking in, they did try to get me to attend one of their promotions. I turned it down, and the girl was a little pushy, but after I told her a second time, she backed off. It's funny because after talking to my wife, we did end up attending so we could get free tickets to Williamsburg. But we have been through the presentations before and no how to say "No." I will say that if you attend, plan on at least 2 hours, maybe 2.5. The girl at the resort desk promised 90 minutes. When I showed that to the salesman at the presentation, he looked shocked. Even after showing him the flyer they had given me saying 90 minutes, and after he skipped taking us over to show us one of the renovated rooms, it still took us 2.25 hours till we left the presentation. But in the end we said no to their pitch and got our tickets (actually we got them in advance so we could visit Williamsburg the day before our TS presentation) and we got another 2 night free stay at the resort (or a few others around the country).

Overall I was pleased with our stay, just be prepared for them to ask you to attend the timeshare presentation, and don't go if you can't say no to a mildly pressured timeshare pitch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here with my mother, sister, eight year old nephew and my almost two year old son. It was the perfect size for us. We had a two bedroom unit that was upstairs. I would have definitely preferred a downstairs unit because my son was obsessed with going up and down the stairs and not having a gate, i was a bit stressed. So if you are traveling with little ones, I'd ask for a bottom unit. The two bedroom units have two bathrooms, kitchen, dining area, deck and laundry in the unit. It was clean and a fully stocked (pots/glasses/plates/silverware/coffee maker) kitchen. The beds were comfortable and plenty of pillows for everyone. My mom was stuck on the pull out couch but she said it was pretty comfortable.
The resort is being renovated and there were definitely a few things in our unit that needed to be fixed. The microwave door was broken at the bottom. Looked like someone had tried to glue it back on, but it came undone as soon as i pulled the door open :( The bathroom towel rod broke off as i attempted to hang my towel on it. The shower floor was very slippery, but clean. The second bathroom had a huge tub.
Our unit was located very close to the pool which i was so happy because some of the units are very very far away. It can be noisy at the pool, but we didn't hear any of that in our unit.
The pool was great. There was an adult only pool, two for teenagers and one for just babies. My son loved the baby pool. I think it would be better to have more shade for the baby pool, but it was clean. They do offer towels, but you have to provide your unit number in order to get one. There is also mini golf ($4) a rec center with indoor pool and game room. We walked the grounds and it is a very pretty resort.
We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again. It is very close to grocery stores, gas stations, Target and plenty of restaurants. It took us about 20 mins to get to Busch Gardens. That, in my opinion, was great.
Overall, we had a great stay. The unit was clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit near the pool. Ask for a renovated unit. Bottom unit if you have small kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are pleased to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here at The Historic Powhatan Resort and that the appointment and the size of your apartment was to your satisfaction. As you have accurately noted, are currently undergoing a refurbishment and issues like ones listed by you will not be a problem for much longer, however, we are of course sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We are glad to learn that you do intend to visit us in the future and we are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here on an RCI certificate in mid-March very nice place great location not very touristy at all. It’s set back in a neighborhood area by itself. The resort is very large but the way it’s laid out you feel very secluded from all the other units. The entrance area is fabulous with a long drive and the historic house at the end with ponds on both sides then you branch out into the different streets were the buildings are. The units are not new but very modern with nice furniture with granite counter tops and flat screen TVs with some of the best beds and liens I have seen on any vacation. The units are steeped against each other so they seem very private. We stayed in an upstairs unit and were very happy. The unit was clean especially in the bath area which is a big one for me.
Major shopping was minutes from the resort and all the historic stuff less than 10 minutes. Virginia Beach is about an hour away and D.C is about 2 ½ hours. The resort has fabulous grounds and a 17th century house built on it which is open to tour whenever you want. One of the favorite things at the resort was the nightly drum and fief players’ …very patriotic. They played around dusk for about an hour.

Room Tip: For us when we came to this area for the historic attractions this resort just seemed to add to it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

When we drove on to the grounds we thought we were in for a rare treat, but we were terribly wrong, which was proven out when we stood in an extremely long line for check in. After having driven 11 hours to get there for a weekend family reunion, we were anxious to get into the room and relax a bit. After 30 minutes of standing in line and being asked our names at least three times, and watching family after family ahead of us go up to the counter and get their rooms, it was finally our turn. But we were not taken up to the counter, which was a red flat. Instead we were taken to another room where there were card tables set up and sandwiches outlining the tables. I said to my husband, "I don't like the looks of this." As it turns out, I was right to be concerned. We sat down and were immediately immersed into a timeshare presentation. Even with emphatic "nos" it took another 30 minutes for the lady to get the point. Then she became exceptionally rude and practically threw our paperwork at us. We got our keys and then she argued with us that we were not permitted to have our family there because she, personally, didn't know about it. Even with our confirmation number stating how many were staying, she seemed to think it was a personal slight.

We got through that and finally got our keys and a map to the location of the condo. As it turns out, we were put in the very last building on the grounds. The further away we got from the reservation building, the more run down the grounds became, the worst groundskeeping being our location. Cobwebs decorated the front porch. Spiders were crawling all over. There was crime scene tape cordoning off a condo across from us. Our front lock looked as if it had been jimmied multiple times. The roof looked as if it needed replacing.

We opened the door and were greeted with a smell of mold mixed with cigarette smoke. The carpet was very dated and probably hadn't been replaced in years. We walked up the stairs with great trepidation and as it turns out, we probably should have run back out the door before we got to the top of the stairs. The walls needed paint. The tile surrounding the fireplace was cracked. The porch furniture was so filthy there was no way to sit on it without taking the dirt away on our clothing. The wooden rail surrounding the balcony hadn't been painted in years and was rotted in places. The shelving in some of the closets was only shored up on three sides and almost falling down. The tile in the bathrooms was cracked and needed new grout. The pots and pans in the kitchenette hadn't been replaced in years, the teflon practically scraped out of the bottom. Several pieces of plastic kitchen utensils had melted to the point of being useless.

I think sleeping outside would have been cleaner and more comfortable.

While I appreciate that the place is an historical landmark, that doesn't mean the interior and exterior upkeep should date back that far. Our refusal to engage in a timeshare activity the minute we walked in the door should not have profiled us as lesser individuals deserving of inferior accommodations if, indeed, this is what they did. You'll never convince me it was anything but that.

The nicest and most helpful individuals in the place were the security guards at the front gate. I only wish they had told us to run as fast as we could in the opposite direction.

Although this rat trap timeshare is conveniently located to Williamsburg, save yourselves and stay somewhere else. It isn't worth it.

Room Tip: Sit through a timeshare presentation. You may get better accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We would be most interested to hear a little more and which room you stayed in. As you know, we are an older property, but we have a very strong commitment to keep our apartments up-to-date and we go through an extensive and well-thought restoration programme in order to ensure that The Historic Powhatan Resort is always presented at its best and in its full glory - we would like to take this opportunity to clarify that the “crime tape” you are referring to was likely the caution tape around a section of rooms we are working on at this time, making improvements.
We are sorry if the delayed check in and the fact that you were approached by the sales team has inconvenienced you in any way. We would like to assure you that we do not advocate ‘pushy’ sales approach and basing on what we have read in your review, the representative’s behaviour was not acceptable. Again, should you wish to contact us directly and provide the details of the person you were in contact with, we would address this issue immediately.
We are sorry if this experience influenced your entire stay and left you with an impression that you may have been treated as a less valued customer. We would like to assure you that we cherish all our guests and want nothing more than to provider every one of them with fantastic holiday experience. We regret that this was not the case on this occasion. We wish you all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We scheduled this stay on an exchange with RCI. It was not the nicest place we've ever stayed, but it was fine. We enjoyed our breakfast on the patio every morning. Our check in was relatively easy, and they only called a couple of times to try to schedule us for a "timeshare update." We refused and they were not pushy. This was a good location not too far from things to do. The kitchen was very nice for those that like to cook instead of eat out all the time.

Room Tip: We wanted a quiet balcony, so we emailed ahead of time to ask for one on the perimeter that faced th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Although we are members of the RCI exchange company, we booked this resort for only one night through hotwire.com. We paid $74 a night. We were pleased with the security check in and the size of the resort. Our actual check in was quick and easy. We were directed to another counter to get our welcome packet (a map and brochures). We were not asked to take a tour, and no one tried to sell us a timeshare. This was a suprise, but we just assumed it was because it was late and we were checking out the next morning. The staff seemed friendly, but we only encountered a couple of people during our one night stay.
The rooms seemed clean and well stocked with the items we needed except for an ironing board and an iron. We requested a two bedroom with two twin beds in the second bedroom. This worked out great for our two kids. The air conditioner was not working properly, and even with it set on 65, our condo was in the mid 70's all night. We called the front desk and asked for a box fan because the only ceiling fan was in the living room. They brought it about 30-45 minutes later.
We decided to take the kids to the pool, and because of the tropical storm we had to use the indoor one. I can only review it. I have never been to an indoor pool with so much chlorine in my life. We stayed for maybe ten minutes before we had to leave. The kids got into the pool, however, my husband and I never made it. My daughter got out complaining about being cold before I had given up on trying to breathe! Needless to say that when we complained on our way out, the staff said "oh is it still that bad in there?" Ummmmm.....ya and I am assuming we are not the first to complain. We also asked about the game room, but we were told they were moving it and it was unavailable. Even though we could not play putt putt due to the rain, I noticed the sign for it on the wall. The resort makes it seem as if it is free. It is NOT!! I can't remember exactly how much it is per person, but to charge a hotel guest to use a ball and a putter is crazy.
Back to our room we went.....and we discovered that the hot tub was locked in a glass room, and the shades were down. We travel a lot, and while I understand that some places may close their tubs in the summer, it should still be disclosed when checking in. Normally hot tubs are left open all year. This place does need a few updates, but I can honestly say I have stayed in worse places.
My husband says that I am a "hotel snob." If being friendly, clean, and comfortable is too much of a demand I suppose he is correct :) This resort was clean, but it lacked comfort. I am giving it a 3, but with only a little bit of work this resort would be fabulous!

Room Tip: Ask for what you want in a room when you check in. They were happy to give us twin beds in our two b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, we regret to read that there were some aspects of your stay which proved dissatisfactory to you and we apologise if you have experienced any inconvenience with regards to the facilities available in your apartment or in the leisure centre. We hope that this has not marred your stay and that you have otherwise enjoyed your visit here with us. We hope that you will decide to pay us another visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Powhatan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.