We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for your money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Save Saved
You added The Historic Powhatan Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #38 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Gaborone, Botswana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the apartments. 2 very spacious bedrooms both with en-suite bathrooms, well equipped kitchen. Beautiful grounds. The kids loved the tennis courts which were in good condition, if you are a serious tennis player, take your own gear, if you just want to play around the free rental rackets will do just fine.
Very accessible to shopping outlets. The sales pitch is close to 2 hours .... Some enticing discounts if you do have the time to go and listen.
It was a wonderful break from small hotel rooms.
Will most definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    407
    244
    136
    113
See reviews for
643
232
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I do not understand the bad reviews for the Powhatan Resort. I have a large family in Williamsburg and visit often. Have always found outstanding deals for the Powhatan. For our last visit the week of April 23 we have only one issue. The sofa needs to be replaced. It resembled four flat tires. You could see upgrades everywhere in the room.

Two weeks at $69 per night for a two bedroom suite with a full kitchen with washer and dryer. Who can complain about the rates for that room? The grounds are wonderful and the staff could not have been better. We only ate breakfast but the quality and value were very reasonable and service could not have been better.

Timeshare? Yes, they do hit you up on this. However, my family has stayed at this resort over twenty times over the years and I let the staff know up front that a timeshare is not of interest because of this. Compared to Mexico where they push this on you daily it was of no issue to me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We sincerely appreciate and thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here The Historic Powhatan Resort. Your comments and tips will be of great help for future potential guests. We were thrilled to see that our accommodations, amenities, customer service, and restaurant met, if not exceeded, your expectations. In regard to the sofa in your unit, we will definitely investigate this further, and make needed changes for future guests who stay in this particular unit. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We sent an email and also called the morning of check in to request a renovated room (after reading the reviews here of the non renovated rooms!!) When I called, a very nice gentleman told me that we were receiving a renovated room and would be very happy with the location, etc etc.. YAY!
So upon arrival, we are told that our room wasn't ready yet and she will try to find us another one. She gets on the phone to someone about doing a "housekeeping check" on the room they had just moved people from. So I asked her "Dare I ask why they were moved?", and she said "NO!" LOL I said "Seriously, was there a problem with the room?" She rolled her eyes and said that they had complained of a weird smell in the room. Ugh. After a rather snotty run around from her (me asking her what about the room we were supposed to be getting based on my earlier phone call, her saying there is no guaranty of receiving a renovated room, me saying I know but I called earlier and he said we were getting one, isn't that the one you just said wasn't ready??, her saying if we don't take THIS one we aren't getting one, etc) So we decide to take the room and see if we think there is a smell, with the understanding that if we don't take this one we are getting an old room :(
Well, there was a smell, like OLD FISH. Blechk!! We decided that the room was otherwise very nice and that we would try to fix the problem ourselves. Turned the AC down, threw open some windows and pinpointed the problem to the garbage disposal. ran hot water down it for awhile and then left the stopper in it so the smell couldn't escape as easily. Made BLTs for a late lunch and that helped disguise the smell also. By the time we retuned later that night it was no longer an issue, COOL!

PROS: Granite countertops, fairly comfy beds, flat screen in living room, newer looking furniture, lots of space, lovely deck with woods view, good array of kitchen supplies, gorgeous grounds
CONS: Of course the crummy check in experience, followed by a very condescending and snotty timeshare woman, so wrong! The carpet looked like it had not been vacuumed, I found pieces of Hershey bar and wrapper under the dining table, a few popcorn kernels here and there and spaghetti sauce crusted on the kitchen floor. Otherwise (and that's a big otherwise!!) the unit did seem clean and dust free. Uncovered electrical outlet in the master bath. Very rickety wooden steps leading up to the unit. OLD TV in master, NO TV in second bedroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Suite was clean. Was pleased to have unit with flat screen tv which was an upgrade from last year. The unit still needs a furniture update as it looks like the furniture is about 30 years old at least. Seems like they could afford to put a flat screen in the master bedroom instead of the dinosaur tube tv. Why are they charging for WiFi? Who does that? Staff friendly and responsive. Would definitely return. Great place for golf outing with the fellas.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Condo was run down. Timeshare people were obnoxious. The plantation and grounds are beautiful. Staff was unhelpful from grounds, pool, front desk with the exception of Emily Flowers, historian, who was amazing! Check out is very early, 10:00am- the cleaning girl was knocking at our door at 9:30 and waited outside for 1/2 hour for us to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this place not sure what it was. Found it on Priceline for $60 a night. It was really gorgeous. It looks like a plantation and our $60 room was like a condo. It had all amenities and more than one bed and 2 bathrooms. It is the snazziest place it's historic and redone well. The bed wasn't great but the pillows were :). I'd stay here again if I got that price

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I booked a weekend stay at The Historic Powhatan Resort with Diamond International to relax for my anniversy weekend. I paid for the trip in full upon booking. When I arrived, I was really impressed with the look of the resort. I went inside to check in, and everyone was friendly. The staff tried to re-direct me to a separate waiting area, where it appeared folks were involved in a timeshare presentation, but the staff member assured me that it was not a presentation. She then took me back to the registration desk to check in. Upon checking in, I was directed to the Concierge desk to receive a welcome packet. There I was told that I was pre-booked for a meeting the next morning at 9:00 am. I informed that staff at the concierge desk that I was not there for a timeshare presentation. I told her that I paid for my stay, and I was only there to relax during the short trip. She would not take no for an answer, and kept explaining that I was pre-booked and all of the guests are signed up for this meeting. She told me that nothing opens until 10:00 am anyway, and I would be out of the meeting by 10:30. My husband and I reluctantly agreed, because we were tired of being badgered about this meeting. In exchange, we would receive a monetary gift as well as a free return 3 day/2night stay. I was then asked to provide a $20 deposit for the meeting that I was not interested in attending. If we failed to show up, my deposit would be forfeited.

My husband and I wake up early to head over to the "meeting", which is a timeshare presentation. The presentation started at 9:00am, and after telling three different salesmen "NO" and over 2 hours later, we were finally able to leave the meeting and begin our day.

The rooms were nice and clean, the resort was beautiful. However, I think that the reservations team should explain that we would be asked to take part in a timeshare presenation at the time of booking so that you don't feel so overwhelmed when you arrive. If the guest declines, it should be left at that - not shoved down there throat as if it is mandatory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Powhatan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.