We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Historic Powhatan Resort to your Saves list
The Historic Powhatan Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 30%
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend in Williamsburg - just girlfriends. We have stayed at Powhatan Resort numerous times in the past, and thought we knew what to expect.

First, let me say that NOT ALL 2 BEDROOM UNITS HAVE A FULL KITCHEN. When I called prior to making my reservation, I was advised that all 2 bedrooms had full kitchens. In fact, there are two buildings that still have convection ovens instead of full-sized ovens. Since we were planning to mostly cook dinner in (and had particular needs for a full-sized oven), I had to request a room change. At first they weren't sure that they could accomodate our change since they were fully booked, but they did move us. This may be due more to the fact that there was a water leak from our unit that had been detected by maintenance, and maintenance wanted to shut off the water, rather than due to our needs.

The switch to another unit took another hour since we had partially unloaded our stuff prior to discovering the oven problem. So everything had to be taken back downstairs, packed in the cars again, etc. It was a frustrating start to our long weekend.

On the plus side, we were switched to a recently renovated unit, which was MUCH nicer than the unit that we were originally assigned.

The bedding situation - again, when we had stayed at Powhatan in the past, there was a king-size bed in the master bedroom and two twin beds in the 2nd bedroom - perfect for four adult women. This unit had queen-sized beds in both rooms. I was very surprised, since Williamsburg is a "family" destination I thought they would have kept the same types of beds in the rooms. Perhaps other units are configured with king and twin beds - you should verify with the resort if this is important to you.

Nonetheless Powhatan was able to resolve our "kitchen" problem, and we enjoyed our "down time" at the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Historic Powhatan. There appears to have been some misunderstanding regarding the kitchen facilities at our resort, however we would like to advise that all our 2 bedroom apartments indeed have full kitchens, however some of the appliances may vary. We are happy, however, that your request to move to a different apartment could be fulfilled and you have been able to enjoy the rest of your stay. Referring to the beds situation, our 2 bedroom lock-offs and ground floor apartments have twin beds available. The upstairs apartments have only king/queen size beds. This information is available on our website and during the booking process. We apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused. It does appear, however, that you had an otherwise enjoyable time here at Powhatan and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Jeffrey Honeycutt
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    443
    264
    143
    118
See reviews for
691
249
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Purchased a special 3 night deal on AmazonLocal and despite some not positive reviews on Trip Advisor, we had a great experience at the Resort. We had a 1st floor one bedroom suite that included our own private hot tub. What a treat. While the furnishings were not modern they were comfortable and clean. We also had a full kitchen. The grounds were lovely and well kept and we enjoyed the exercise room. We did not answer the telephone when the sales office called to invite us to a sales presentation. All in all, we would love to return to this restful site.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room on the first floor with a private hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Just got home from a long weekend at this resort, it was great. We were contacted prior to our arrival by a customer relations person who was so nice. Gave us several ideas for things to do even though we visit Williamsburg every year. The resort was clean and beautiful. Our condo was really nice, huge and although not everything was not brand new, it was all good. The people were very friendly, from the reception to the Bar and Grill staff, we enjoyed everyone. We did the sales-shark presentation, enjoyed meeting Sean, super nice guy. We didn't "become members" so they had a side-kick come try to offer another deal. Nice guy too, just doing his job, but once you say no and mean it, they are understandably and visibly disappointed. I didn't expect anything different than what I experienced other than the resort was way better than what I had read here. I even told several employees that I would write a review much better than what I've seen, so here it is! Yes, we would stay here again, we got a fabulous deal through LivingSocial.com, lucky us!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here. Our staff, including Sean, appreciates the kind words you had for them. We were very pleased to read that our accommodations, price, resort grounds, and staff met, if not exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation of our resort is very much appreciated, and we are very grateful to able to accommodate guests like yourself. We hope you are able to stay with us again soon, and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We purchased a long weekend at this time share through Amazon Local. We verified with Amazon Local that we would not have to sit through a "presentation". When we arrived we were told we had a reservation for our presentation that day. We reiterated what was discussed with Amazon Local. Twice during our stay we were called on the room phone to offer out $$ for us to come and sit through the presentation!

The room was clean but the 2 BR room had no sofa, only two chairs, the kitchen table had three old chairs and was dented and peeling. The hall shower was cracked and peeling while the master bath had a tub so deep you could never get out of it! We were told there was daily housekeeping, there was not.

Avoid this at all costs. There are better places to stay closer to downtown Williamsburg that are cheaper and nicer.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here at The Historic Powhatan Resort. As we strive to provide exceptional hospitality, quality services, and offer comfortable, relaxing accommodations to each of our guests who stay with us; it is truly concerning to read that our accommodations, customer service, and price did not meet your expectations. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership resort, solicitation of a sales presentation is a part of the check in process. However, as you were advised by your booking website, you are not required to attend one of these presentations. We sincerely apologize for any confusion about this presentation that may have been brought up by our concierge staff. They will be coached properly to make sure a situation such as this is not repeated again for our future guests. While we do provide complimentary weekly housekeeping for our guests who are staying with us for at least one week; daily housekeeping is available, and can be reserved through our front desk for a nominal fee. We regret any confusion over this policy that may have been advised to you earlier. Our front desk staff is always willing to look into any issues with the furniture in your unit during your stay, however, we are truly sorry that this wasn’t fixed before your arrival. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I loved everything about this resort. From the landscaping to the layout of the condos. The Concierge was great, helpful, and friendly. They knew everything about the tourist attractions. I would definitely recommend this resort to EVERYBODY!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanceboro, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just got back from staying at the Powhatan. It was THE perfect place for our family of 4, which included our teenage son and daughter. We didn't take part in any activities at the resort, since we were there to visit Colonial Williamsburg and didn't spend much time at the resort. We would definately stay again! Only thing that would keep me from rating it with 5 stars was the cleanliness. It wasn't filthy but there were a lot of cobwebs up high on the lights and quite a bit of mold on the inside of the shower. The kitchen and bedroom areas were excellent and we stayed in two different condos, both being the same.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn Dale, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights,November 9-11. Place is clean but unit need to be updated. We had a one queen bedroom unit on the second floor, with twins beds on the loft level and two bathrooms. TV's are old. Good location near Newtown Center where there is plenty of shopping, restuarants and movies. This place is ok if the price is right and ambience is not important to you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We’re sorry to read that you were disappointed by aspects of your recent stay at the Historic Powhatan Resort. This property is currently undergoing an extensive program of refurbishment, which will bring all the accommodation back to the standard you have every right to expect from a Diamond resort.

We hope that you’ll give the Historic Powhatan Resort another try, and we feel sure that if you do return here, you’ll appreciate the changes we’re making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Powhatan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.