We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Powhatan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Powhatan Resort to your Saves list
The Historic Powhatan Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 40% off!
Ranked #37 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Don't let negative reviews scare you, I was so afraid to find a dump of a place but to my surprise (after reading reviews here) I found a beautiful and very well kept resort.
Our 2 bedroom suite was fantastic, everything was clean and in perfect working order. The beds and linen were like a 4 star hotel. The carpets were so clean I walked barefoot.
The hot tub was a great treat and the view, I just can't wait to go back. The pool area was fantastic with so much space for averyone plus they offer daily activities that the kids love, like a magic show. don't hesitate to book here. I have gone to 4 timeshare resorts this year (we have a large family and we need the 2 bedrooms plus living area) 2 in poconos, one in miami and this one was by far the best of them all.

Room Tip: we got a room that was renovated in 2007 but it looked brand new
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    488
    285
    151
    127
See reviews for
746
277
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I go to Williamsburg every year for a long weekend. I book a room where I can get a great deal. Because of the negative reviews, I passed up The Historic Powhatan Resort many times.

Vacation money was tight this year because we traveled a lot. I booked this place for a wind and a song...it was cheap. I chose a 1 BR with loft and 2 bath second floor condo and held my breath.

Boy was I surprised! The place was a great bargain. It was well stocked with everything we needed. The hair dryer was brand new (never used). Kitchen towels were new also. Laundry soap was provided. The master bedroom was well appointed and bed linens were very nice. The 2 twin beds in the loft were also nice. The bathrooms and carpets were clean. The whole condo was just painted. The kitchen was great.(no dishwasher though) We declined the time share presentation at check in and were not contacted further.

I have to add that the TV was old and small. The dinette table and chairs were well used and showing their age, but for the money we paid, we hardly noticed.

We never ate at the resturant or used the pool or visited the store, etc.

This place is 15 minutes from the attractions in Williamsburg, but close to stores and shops. We used our GPS to find it. If you go with small children, bring baby gates...there is no door blocking off the stairs in the loft or the stairs to the first floor.

If you can book this place for cheap...go for it. There's plenty of room here compared to a small room on Richmond Road.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex County, NJ
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We would like to rate this as a 3½ star (not optional when choosing above).

Via RCI, we did an exchange with our Club Intrawest timeshare. We were very nervous about booking here due to all the negative reviews. Well, we’re glad we did.
The rooms: we got two, 2 bedroom units. I called in advance requesting our rooms be together since we were 3 families traveling together. We got a “lock-off”. A main door leading to a common foyer with 2 additional locked doors. One door to the upstairs unit, one to the ground level unit. We left those 2 doors open the entire time. We had some of the kids in 1 room and one on the pull out couch (which he found terribly uncomfortable). The adults had the 3 other bedrooms. The queen & king beds were comfortable. The layout was: the ground floor had 1 bedroom with a king bed & bathroom withOUT a shower, 1 bedroom with 2 twin beds. The other small bathroom in the unit did have a shower. Living room/dining room & galley kitchen. Upstairs, 1 bedroom had a queen bed with a bathroom, again withOUT a shower, the other bedroom had a king bed with a door leading into the other bathroom that had the shower (there was also a door from the common area). Living room/dining room & galley kitchen. Showering with all of us was quite the challenge. They really need to update the bathrooms at least by adding a shower (there are tubs there, why no shower head?). Note: we did ask for a recently renovated room and these were. We also had a grill right outside the back door which was very convenient since we all planned on BBQing while there.

The grounds are huge and we didn’t see all of it. What we did enjoy were the amenities they had: outdoor pools, 1 for adults only. There was a bar with food by the pool as well. They have an indoor pool, gym, racquetball courts (which we used – they have equipment to use at no charge), volleyball, horseshoes, mini golf and shuffleboard (I think I covered everything). They also have a convenience store. They have activities as well. Movie night by the pool, bingo (which they charge for – tacky, tacky, tacky) as well as other things.

They also charge for internet. If you are there for a week, the rate is a few dollars less for the entire week vs daily.

Why only 3 stars? We stayed at Greensprings last year. The rooms were much nicer. We were able to get 3 two bedroom units for 3 families (that is an RCI issue). Each unit had 2 bathrooms and both bathrooms were a good size and had showers which made life so much easier. They did not have the amenities but seeing that we always used the kitchens and played cards and other games in the evenings, those niceties make a difference when being inside.

We would recommend Powhatan. Just don’t go there expecting a 5 star room experience. We would go back (hoping for more space for the larger group) since they have the amenities right there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My family took a 400 mile drive from NY & rented a 1 bedroom condo (first floor) last weekend. My experience with the resort are great. Though we never tried the clubhouse pool, the jacuzzi inside our condo is worth the $$$, especially after a long day at the parks. We rented a renovated condo, the bed are nice & there's a pull out sofa bed is great for my 2 children. The place is very clean, & will come back again next year....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in a beautifully appointed 2 bedroom suite. Perfect for our family of 5. Very clean & comfortable. Our family can't wait to return again to enjoy all that Williamsburg has to offer.

Room Tip: Not sure if all suites have been refurbished now but make sure to ask for one when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We exchanged into this resort from our timeshare. We found this to be the least well-maintained place we had stayed, though there was evidence that some updated has occurred [new kitchen and bath counters]. Our rug had a large number of odd stains in the living room area, and had stretched so a portion didn't lie flat. The deck paint was peeling big time. One lamp was in 2 pieces and fell apart if you touched it. We found them stingier with towels than most places and NO BATHMATS. Many places also provide a kitchen towel, which Powhatan does not. We just washed towels midweek in the in-unit washer/dryer and had someone joining us later pack bathmats and kitchen towels. As with most timeshares, there is a push for you to take a sales pitch - just keep saying no unless you are interested in buying. On the plus side, there was better lighting in our unit than in just about any other timeshare of hotel we've been in. Also the soundproofing between units was very good - never heard the folks downstairs. Kitchen was well-equipped. Location is very convenient to Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a very nice stay here last week. We had a one bedroom unit that was very spacious and clean. We were travelling with a lot of family and were able to host about 20 people for an informal dinner in our unit. The pools were very nice, we got a lot of use of the very large 3-4 foot pool with our two kids. Conveniently located near grocery stores, restaurants, Starbucks, panera, etc. We did get ambushed right at check in by the timeshare agents, but was able to escape with only a little effort. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Powhatan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.