We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a timeshare resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greensprings Vacation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Greensprings Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Greensprings Vacation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not bad for a timeshare resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

A family relative has a timeshare here and invited us along. We were on the third floor (no elevator) but at least you did not have people running above you. It was a two bedroom unit with a deck the overlooked the golf course. They had a lot of amenities that even included pool towels. They had indoor (spelled of chlorine that burned my eyes) and outdoor pools, tennis courts, gym, basketball and volleyball courts. They also had board games you could borrow and movies you could rent. The unit was nice but the furniture could use some updating. They do supply a service of eight dishes, etc. The pots/pans,toaster, coffee maker, etc were cuisinart and looked new. The location was very convenient to Busch Gardens, water country, colonial Williamsburg
and Jamestown/Yorktown plus a lot of area shops and restaurants. If you have time check out the movie tavern, it is a movie theatre were you order food and they bring it to you. To my surprise the food was good, theater was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    171
    68
    30
    25
See reviews for
257
95
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

The Greensprings Vacation Resort was a superb surprise for us. From the friendly Guard on the gate, to the very welcoming ladies on Reception, to the excellently appointed two bedroom apartment, the two swimming pools, etc, etc, it was teriffic! We only had two nights there but we could happily have stayed for weeks.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

I've stayed at Greensprings 3 times over the past 6 years. I just returned from my stay June 6-12. I stayed in a 4 br/4 b unit. (It is really a two 2br/2b that share a common door.) I requested 2 renovated units on the first floor since I knew the "resort" didn't have elevators for myself and another family traveling with me. When I arrived we were placed in Bldg 21 on the 2nd & 3rd floors. The units not only weren't renovated but they weren't even in good working order. One of the showers in the 3rd floor unit wouldn't work. One dryer took 2 hours and 45 minutes to dry 4 bath towels. On the final night, one ac unit completely shut down at 2am.

The layout is great for families. The unit are large and roomy. That is where the positive comments end. Ownership MUST spend some big money to improve these outdated units. Teal carpet, bright blue vinyl furniture, blue laminate countertops, and circa early 1990's wallpaper need to go.

I am done with this place! Time to head to Kingsmill next year...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed in a 2BR Villa (2nd floor of a 3-story building, no elevator), obtained as an RCI extra vacation. The floor plan provided pleasant and large areas for living, dining, kitchen, and bath…and also a sizable patio with small table and 4 chairs overlooking the golf course. Bedrooms are less spacious, but adequate and equipped with comfortable beds. The unit was quiet, with little sound spillover from adjoining units. Staff members were friendly and helpful. You must ask for your safe key at the front desk if you wish to use the in-room safe, as the key is not provided automatically.

The master bath had a steam shower. That feature worked for us, but there is no guarantee it will work for you. Greensprings is not maintaining the steam option, as parts for it are hard to come by.

The swimming pools, both indoor and outdoor, are well above average. You pick up and return towels as you need them from the activity desk in the pool area. The exercise room is nice and decently equipped.

There is no midweek housecleaning, so no fresh towels for the unit. No problem, though, as the in-unit laundry works just fine. Maintenance was responsive and friendly. Unfortunately, we needed it on 3 occasions.

This is a good resort for young children. A review from a child next door, seen scrawled in colored chalk on the sidewalk, said: “Hello people…I like it here.”

When planning a stay at a Diamond resort, be aware that Diamond has two types of units…Club Properties (for owners) and Developer Properties (for others). Club Properties are gorgeous, at the level of Marriott and Starwood/Westin. Developer properties are of lesser quality. The unit we were given was of the latter type. In our travels with Interval International, we have always been treated as owners. This did not happen with this RCI extra vacation.

Here are a few reasons why we did not rate our Greensprings stay more highly:
- There is no draining rack for dishes, and no baking tray for heating rolls or pizzas.
- The dishwasher does not always get dishes and utensils clean.
- The cooking dishes are not of Pyrex quality. We accidentally broke one when a hot dish encountered cooler water.
- There is no TV in the guest bedroom.
- There is no CD player or sound system (does have a DVD player for the TV)
- There is an annoying $29.95 charge for WiFi service unless you are an AT&T customer. This service was initially so slow as to be unusable (0.05 Mbps download speed, less than 1% of what it should be). The same falloff in service happened again two nights later. Otherwise the download speeds ranged from 1.0 to 1.55 Mbps, and were sometimes even slower. We were seldom able to use our MagicJack for telephone communication over the internet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed for a week and there were things we really liked about the unit (the cookware, the kitchen, the location, security, the speediness of maintenance). There were things we didn't like (the repetitive requests for us to join their open house to look at the property, the discomfort of the furniture, the charge for paying for wifi). The DVD player didn't work. The towels were shoddy and not plentiful. There was a no pets clause, but clearly someone was feeding a very fat bunny behind our units. The "concierge" was a ersatz time share host, who accosted you at every visit to join their next open house tour.
The front desk was nice and helpful, but our room was not ready at the appointed check in. They also tried to give us a "sub-floor" unit. I did not go on vacation to spend it in the basement. The units could have been cleaned more thoroughly. I don't think they have been dusted in quite some time. Things were orderly, but it looks like they just tidy everything up. We ran everything through the dishwasher before using. My husband found a piece of old spaghetti stuck to a pot. Of other concern is that they tell you "not" to strip the beds when you check out. That is my first time encountering that in a time share. Greensprings was not awful. We have just stayed at much nicer properties previously. This is was the best out of what was available, and it served its purpose.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We loved the resort at Greensprings Plantation. We went to Williamsburg for the historical aspects, and were completely satisfied. It was very close to Colonial Williamsburg, where we toured and saw reenactments. We got to visit Jamestown and Yorktown too, both which were a short drive away. The hotel was even on a former plantation! They offered plenty to do while we were there, and the amenities were superfluous.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

I recently stayed at the Greensprings Resort for a week. We were originally in units across the street from the clubhouse,which by the way was beautiful, as was the pool and the grounds. Not so for the accomodations. The first unit had a broken window, so they moved us 2 doors down and that one had a smell that was sickening. Even the entry smelled horrible as you walked into the building. We tried for 2 days to get the room sprayed, but it didn't help. The towels had black marks on them and had to be replaced, twice,and there was a roach on the bathroom sink. There was no screen on the bedroom window and the exterior siding was full of mold...the outside chair cushions had bird mess on them.
I must say we were then transfered to the units that you see in the pictures. what a difference. That was what we thought we were getting, but were told we were "upgraded" due to all the problems. On their website, there was no mention of upgraded accomodations. Nor was there any mention of the downgraded rooms we originally were given. If you stay in the newer remodeled section you will enjoy your stay, but watch out for the older ones. That horrible smell stayed with us all week.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Address: 3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Groupon, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greensprings Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.