We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greensprings Vacation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Greensprings Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Greensprings Vacation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Vevay, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Our group consisted of two families. We had two units, basically side by side, with a small alcove between. Both units had been remodeled recently. The units were spotless. The kitchen was equipped with everything needed to prepare meals. Bed and bath linens were quality. A small rechargeable flashlight was plugged into the master bathroom. The two bedroom units had a king size bed in one room, two twin beds in the second room. The unit was the size of a small apartment. One downside to the unit is the furniture in the living room. I spent a week trying to find a comfortable position, and was unsuccessful. Another downside is the noise. We had a second floor unit. It seemed as if the folks above us were running and jumping, sometimes until 1:30AM.
The landscaping is lovely. The pool area is big, with plenty of lounge chairs. Activities included basketball, ping-pong, putt-putt golf, shuffle board, playground and "dive in" movies. Organized activities are offered for children. Charcoal grills are available at every complex.
We found this a perfect location. It is approximately 20 minutes to both Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens/Water Country, about 10 minutes to Jamestown, about 40 minutes to Yorktown. Walmart is about 10 minutes away. I would stay here again. At check in, it was made clear that we were not interested in a time share presentation, and it was never mentioned to us again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    149
    62
    29
    23
See reviews for
236
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

3 adults and two 9 year olds stayed for 3 nights. We had a wonderful time. The staff were pleasant and not pushy, we did not experience any sales pitch, but we are discussing possibly purchasing a unit here due to our great experience.
The movies at the pool in the evening were enjoyed. It was nice to Lie in a lounge chair, order some food and drink from the bar and watch a movie. My favorite was Hotel Transylvania.
Our unit was spotless, the beds were comfortable and their was more than enough space for all of us. We were in the first unit on the left as you go through security.
This resort is managed very well in our opinion.
Our daughter scraped her knee one evening playing at the pool and before I could get out of my lounge chair the young man assembling the movie screen was at our table with a first aid kit, that made such a positive impression with our group.

Room Tip: Request a remodeled room a few days before you leave and call again just before you arrive. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson s Station, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

When I read that there were a lot of steps I called the resort to request a ground floor unit. We are seniors and did not want to climb stairs for seven days. So when we arrived, we were happy to hear that we did get that ground floor unit. Our unit was a two bedroom and was very nice. We do not go on vacation to sit in a unit so we do not demand a five star resort like some people seem to indicate.

Pros: The housekeeping responded quickly to our request of towel exchange.
The front desk was courteous and very helpful.
The pool area was fantastic for all ages.
We had lunch at the cabana which was good since we did not have to leave for lunch.
Lots of fun activities were planned for the week.
The grounds were beautiful.
Security was driving around and felt safe
Our unit was very quiet and we really enjoyed the patio overlooking the golf course
.
Cons: Sales presentation was set for us the day after we got there. Two hours was too long.

Room Tip: There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in June. The unit we had was very outdated. I felt like we had walked back into the eighties. My biggest complaint was that we were in the building behind the reservation office and they turned on the pool stereo at five in the morning. I think they were cleaning the pool but its tough when you are on vacation and get no sleep. The grounds are absolutely beautiful but the unit was definetely tired. We love having the rrom but will probably never go back to Greensprings.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLLINSGCA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have an updated unit and our only complaint is that new furniture in the living room is EXTREMELY uncomfortable. We noticed the same problem in other Diamond resorts in the past with hide a bed couches. All three pieces are not made for comfort. Everything else in unit was fine.

Room Tip: Third floor not for anyone with climbing issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for a long weekend in April - in town for a family wedding. Overall property very nice, well maintained outside, and generally well maintained inside - clean but a little worn in some spots.
We had a 2 bedroom first floor condo. The master suite was for our senior member so that they could be close to accessible bathroom. The bathrrom is large and spacious with a roll in shower, flip down shower seat and handheld shower head - really nice and roomy for 2 people and easy to assist someone in the shower.
Second bedroom only had 2 twin beds - good if you have kids, but not so good for a couple. Beds very comfortable. Second bathroom a little small, and the shower is awkward and very short if your over 5'6". Overall the unit is quite spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. A single call to the front desk quickly brought us a bag of ice and extra towels.
Pool area looked really nice, but unfortunately weather did not allow us to use the ammenities. Location is decent - but you must drive anywhere. No food or restaurants on the property, but there is a food store approximately 10 min drive away - we stocked up for breakfast and snacks.
As mentioned - we were in town for a wedding - some other guests/family stayed at the Powhatan resort (sister property) so we were able to compare property and units. Although the room accommodations are definately older and a little more worn - the property ammenities out weigh Greensprings - much more to do for family and kids, and at least one restaurant on site for eating (driving out gets old).
So, I guess it depends on what your looking for - but I would probably try Powhatan if I were ever to go back - but I would not be opposed to staying at Greensprings.
Must say getting our reservations was a little difficult - but not sure if this was due to the pre-reserved rooms (we had to contact one of 2 people who was not very good about returning calls) Also, one family member's reservation got changed from Greensprings to Powhatan which was an inconvenience under the circumstances.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

It was wonderful to have so much room to spread out with the family and the pool was a hit for the kids. Driving to the main sites wasn't so bad and oodles of markets, shops, etc, all an easy drive away. Dated condo, but it suited us fine. Staff was very friendly at check-in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, General Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
So far the resort has completed 10 out of 29 building refurbishments, and we will start (3) more buildings next January. (This redo is a soft or partial redo). The resort is also replacing the (Couch, and two chairs) in an additional 164 units, this summer. we are in the middle of the following project: Replacing the indoor Hot Tub Atrium, we are 90% complete on the new Mini Golf, Indoor pool resurfacing, Replaced 60 HVAC units in five building, we also replaced the roofs on nine buildings. I hope this helps you understand the resorts future projects. Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Address: 3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greensprings Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.