We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, but in need of an update” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greensprings Vacation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Greensprings Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Greensprings Vacation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Sussex, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Spacious, but in need of an update”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our family and another family stayed here for a week over spring break. We were very pleased with the size of the condo. It was very spacious. Our family of six was very comfortable in it! The kitchen was well stocked and having a washer and dryer was a great added benefit.

The decor was pretty outdated and worn- I'm thinking 1980's. The TVs and kitchen appliances were new though. The master bath was huge with a good-sized jacuzzi tub but the shower was one of the worst I've ever seen! It was tiny and very shelf in it was slanted so nothing remained on them. Shampoo, soap, etc. all ended up on the shower floor. Weird for such a large room.

The property is convient to shopping and close to all of the attractions. There are also a lot of activities on the resort. We were able to check out board games and rent movies through them. We tried to swim (indoor pool) but the chlorine was extremely strong. Just sitting in the building made your eyes burn.

Overall, though, we found the accommodations very comfortable (except that shower) and would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Greensprings Vacation Resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the close proximity to the local sightseeing. While we continue to make property upgrades and improvements at our resort, our goal is to always maintain the original colonial spirits. Our maintenance team has been notified of the issues regarding the chlorine levels at the pool and will make adjustments as needed. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    150
    62
    29
    23
See reviews for
236
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goochland, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We are repeat visitors (6) times to this timeshare and have found it to be one of the largest and most fully furnished, it's so complete you could live here fulltime. XWe return at least once a year. Very nice pool area. Not close to historical area or waterparks.

Room Tip: No restaurants or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoy staying at Greensprings Vacation Resort, and that the resort has everything you need for a great vacation! Our front desk team will be happy to provide guests with guidance on getting to local attractions from the resort, so please do feel free to speak to them if you need any assistance. We hope you’ll choose to come back here for a seventh visit – we’d love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We recently stayed at Greensprings for the first time. It was beautiful, our room was fully stocked with cookware, dishes and utensils. I loved the fact the master bedroom had such privacy and the place was very clean. It is very close to major attractions and ample shopping. There is a playground if you have children and a indoor/ outdoor pool area along with a basketball court, which my son loved! There were a few stains on the counter near the bar stools and the master bedroom curtains on one side were ripped. Another thing I wasn't really too keen on was the sales part. we all have our agendas and need to make money but if a person tells you they are not interested that should be respected.

Room Tip: The two bedroom condo is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments. While we are happy that you liked our convenient location, and enjoyed the comforts of home in the fully equipped kitchen of our spacious accommodations, we are saddened to read your impressions of our sales presentation offering.
While many of our guests are interested to find out more about our products and the free gifts that are included for attending a vacation ownership sales presentation, unless you are staying on a promotional trip, you are not required to attend this presentation and need only decline the first time not to receive and further offers. If you would like to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in future; our friendly staffs eagerly awaits to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently stayed at Greensprings Plantation; our third time staying here. This is a very nice property right next to a golf course with spacious rooms, great amenities, ample parking, and beautiful scenery. It's also near several local activies such as Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg. We discovered that nothing had changed since our last visit 6 years ago and that while the rooms are large, comfortable and extremely clean, the decor is sadly outdated, the furniture is old and in desperate need of replacing. The kitchen also needs some modern touches. We had hoped that the new property management would bring new furnishings and a colonial decor, but we were sadly mistaken.

The buildings have 6 apartments each, two on each floor. They are connected by a single entry way, so if you are a large party, you can have two adjoining apartments, but are able to close the front inner door for privacy, if you wish. Be aware that these buildings are three stories and though there are no elevators, the best views are from the top floor.

Something we were quite disgruntled about was the rudeness and pushy attitude of the front desk staff. We were harassed by them to attend a presentation, which we declined. Other than that, we had a pleasant stay and we would consider staying here again, once the furnishings & decor have been renovated.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view. No elevator, though, so be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhorn, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We've stayed at Greensprings before and been impressed. We stayed again for a couple of days on our way to Florida and experienced a very nice updated unit. They really are doing a very good job. As a Diamond owner I can highly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We took a spring break trip to Williamsburg. I found a deal for this resort on groupon. We were very pleased with accommodations. Even though our room was an older outdated decor room, everything was in very good condition & clean. They are in the process of renovating the rooms. The kitchen was well stocked. However I would've liked to have known what was available in the condo & from the front desk before we came. We packed a crockpot for easy suppers & I could've requested one from the front desk. I've included a pic of the stuff provided. We had an A/C problem but they were quick to resolve it. My boys loved the jet tub!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing you and your family’s recent experience while staying here at Greensprings Vacation Resort. We were very pleased to read that our accommodations, activities offered, and customer service, if not exceeded your family’s expectations. We will definitely look into seeing how we can more easily provide a list of amenities (currently available on our website) for our guests prior to their arrival. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were two families vacationing together so we had separate condos that were right across from one another which was very convenient. Ample parking in our area and we returned at different hours each day. Furnishings were up to date and loved the appliances. Washer and dryer in the unit which was very convenient. We cooked breakfast every morning and a couple of dinners - we had what we needed to prepare the meals. Near shopping so if you need a bathing suit or groceries, it's all close by. Several restaurants near the property and even had pizza delivered to the unit. Downside is the high pressure to attend the sales seminar. After you check in you meet with the concierge who also doubles as a sales person. We signed up to attend the presentation, but cancelled. When we went to the concierge we were asked for $20 to "reserve" our spot at the presentation with a promise to return our money if we did not attend. We should have just said no to this tactic. Upon departing we went to the main office to check out and request our money. We were told that they did not keep any money there and would have to go to another building. We did, and it was about a mile away! Another downside is that Wifi is not free in the units. There are two computers in the main building if you want to use free Internet. Resort has indoor and outdoor pool plus other activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Address: 3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greensprings Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.