We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family meeting place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greensprings Vacation Resort

Save Saved
You added Greensprings Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Greensprings Vacation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family meeting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a family reunion, 4 generations, a total of 12 people stayed in 3 units. (Included 2 babies under a year old). We had a severe summer storm while we were there and the staff at the pool kept us fully informed regarding the approaching storm so we could avoid getting caught. Also we had a power outage that lasted for about 5 hours. These were not the most pleasant of vacation situations, but in all cases everything was handled in an efficient manner. Also, when we had problems ( a continual coffee pot issue) they were handled in an efficient way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    139
    56
    27
    21
See reviews for
218
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We decided to come here at the last minute, and got a good rate through a budget site. As such, my expectations were tempered. But when we walked in to the room, we were impressed. Our room had a living room and dining room, plus kitchen, deck and two spacious bedrooms. The bathroom had a spa tub. We've spent a few vacations in a standard two-double hotel room, and this felt huge. It wasn't terribly stylish if that's your thing, but very clean and comfortable.

There is shopping nearby to get groceries, and Colonial Williamsburg was not a long drive. The time share at check in wasn't over the top, and they offer a goodie bag of coupons for just stepping up to the desk. The pool was very nice for the kids, not very deep, and there was an amusement area to the side, and a basketball court. We went there to cool off after spending our day downtown.

One annoyance: I reserved a room for a relative in his name, explaining when he would arrive and explicitly asking for him to check in on his own. I was told this was fine. The room was prepaid and, although I had already checked in and they had a credit card on file (and he was willing to hand his over as well), they wouldn't allow him to check in without me present. He waited 15 minutes in line at check in before he was curtly informed he couldn't check in, alerted me, I came to the lobby and we had to wait another 20 minutes in line before checking him in. While we waited, three time share concierges sat idle as the front desk was short-staffed.

Williamsburg wasn't super high on our list, but our family loved it. At 10 and 8, our kids were the perfect age to discover the history and craft-making on display. They got to see how things actually are made, like a lock and key. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are pleased to read that you have some good memories following your stay and we are glad to know that you would consider paying us another visit! Please accept our apologies for the misunderstanding which appears to have taken place during check in, we would like to assure you that we will investigate this issue and are sorry for any inconvenience caused. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Deptford, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

It was clean & conveniently located. We loved the pool & the tiki bar - good food & drinks at a decent price. The staff was friendly. (Timeshare was not pushed as other reviewers stated. We politely refused & they didn't insist or get annoyed.) We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family and I just got back from Greensprings Plantation. It was perfect for my family of five. When we arrived we were greeted graciously by the front desk, and the concierge serves was awesome. We were greeted with a welcome packet with directions and phone numbers to local attractions and stores. I have stayed in alot of resorts and hotels, but this was one of the best. The condo was very spacious and clean. The appliances were well kept. My wife wanted the water temperature turned up and they came right over. The kids I traveled with were 12, 10, & 5 and they thoroughly enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools. I am definitely looking forward to going back and staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are delighted to read that you would not hesitate to come and stay with us again and we are happy to know that you and your family had an enjoyable time here at Greensprings Vacation Resort. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Greensprings Plantation was perfect for my family of five. We stayed her June 10-16, 2013. The condo was large! My children are 15, 20, and 23,so we basically have five adults in our party. Having two full baths was wonderful. It was VERY clean, and we are picky about our condos. I didn't feel like I had to clean anything before feeling comfortable. All the kitchen small appliances seemed new. The master bedroom was large as was the master bath. The tub was very nice and large. We did ask for a recently renovated unit. It was quiet and very affordable. The public areas, pool and so on, were very nice as well. When the weekend rolled around it did seem to fill up with some loud, rude, and obnoxious guests, but it was peaceful during the week. We told them at check-in that we had no interest in the time share and were not going to a presentation. They didn't bother us again until the last day. They left a message on our phone offering again and we simply didn't return the call. Overall, a great place to stay while visiting Williamsburg!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at Greensprings Vacation Resort – thank you for your review! We hope you’ll consider us for future vacations in Williamsburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

When we arrived, we had kind of a long check-in wait. After checking in, they sent us to the concierge desk, where we were given a welcome packet with information about the area. They did NOT ask me to attend any sort of presentation (I was very surprised they didn't). When I got to the condo, I was pleased to find it in wonderful shape...very clean and spacious. They even had starter washing detergent, dishwashing detergent, salt and pepper, paper towels, and toilet paper. There were flat screen TV's in living room and master bedroom. The 2nd bedroom had an old fashioned tube TV, but that was ok. All three TV's had DVD players and cable. The master bathroom had a wonderful, HUGE jetted jacuzzi tub. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen had Cuisinart appliances (coffee maker, blender, toaster) and Cuisinart pots and pans...plenty of wine glasses and pyrex dishes. I was pleased with the well-equipped kitchen. There was a nice patio set on back porch with grills and picnic tables everywhere. The pool had a great cabana, which served sandwiches, appetizers, and booze at very reasonable prices.

The resort was in a great location, central to all of the attractions. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area. There were tons of activities at the resort for the kids...dive-in movies, mommy/daughter pedicures, craft sessions, etc. We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Greensprings Vacation Resort. We were pleased to see that you a wonderful time here, and that our accommodations, amenities, activities, and location contributed to your overall positive review. While our front desk staff works diligently to ensure our guests are checked in to their accommodations in an efficient manner, there may be times, especially around the 4pm check in time, where it may take a little longer than normal to check in. Your recommendation of our resort is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you and your party here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We just returned from staying at Greensprings for 4 days. After reading the reviews I requested a renovated room which we received and it was on the top floor. We had a 2 bedroom condo with full kitchen inlcuding microwave, dishwasher, washer/dryer dishes, pots, fridge etc. It was large, we are a family of 3. The rooms were nice and large. My son is 12 and had his own bedroom. The tv did not work in his room though. But we also had tv's in the living room and master bedroom. The place was clean, sheets were clean. The bed was firm but not unbearable. We also had a balcony that was very large with 4 chairs and a table. We went to Busch Gardens in WIlliamsburg and Colonial Williamsburg which were great. The only thing that did not make this trip wonderful was Sheila at the concierge desk. Upon checking in we were told to go to concierge and pick up brochures. When I went over, Sheila asked for my ID. I asked her why she needed it just get brochures and she said "I don't need this". WIth an very nasty attitude and tone. And she proceeded to stick the brochures in my face. OK, fine. Then on our last day she had the nerve to call our room and ask if we wanted to purchase something for $179 so we can enter a drawing for a free stay. Are you kidding ? Obviously I told her no. So yes I would recommend this hotel but AVOID CONCIERGE AT ALL COST ESPECIALLY SHEILA WHO WAS RUDE AND NASTY. The hotel needs to get better staff and teach them proper customer service.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room on a higher floor. Stay away from concierge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It is a part of our ethos to deliver an exceptional standard of accommodation and customer care in order to create a home like experience, ensuring that all our guests can relax in a friendly atmosphere. therefore it is just as disappointing to us to read that you were given a negative impression by one of our team and felt the need to share it on travel sites. We are sorry if you feel that you were approached in an inappropriate manner and we hope that this will not deter you from considering staying with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Address: 3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greensprings Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.