We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greensprings Vacation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Greensprings Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Greensprings Vacation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Smyrna
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

spent 3 nights atat the resort it was very nice but the carpeting is outdated the accommodations were great the pool fantastic the only drawback was we had no power what do you think and none of the emergency lights we're working in the hallways it seems there power battery only lasted one hour I would recommend this location to anyone visiting Williamsburg however keep in mind you are 15 to 20 minutes away from any of the attractions be it Busch Gardens or Colonial Williamsburg

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    157
    66
    29
    24
See reviews for
245
83
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I went with our 2 teens for a week. We arrived in the early afternoon and could not check in until 4 pm, which was later than we hoped, but the time quoted for checking in.

We had 2 - 2 bedroom units, adjoined by a common outside door. Both units were clean, roomy and well stocked --- they even had a candy and juice basket awaiting us in each unit! The master bedroom had a king bed, flat screen tv and full bath with jetted tub, walk in shower and 2 vanities (same in both units). The second bedroom had twin beds and a flat screen tv. Each living room had a flat screen tv, couch, chair with a door to an outdoor deck that either looks onto the golf course or green space. There was a common full bath off the living room and a full kitchen (fridge, stove, dishwasher) with dining room for 6.

FYI, there are no elevators, so be aware you may have to carry your luggage up a flight or 2 of stairs.

The facilities were great - weight room, activities people, board games, movies, indoor and outdoor pools with hot tubs. There is also a cabana that serves lunch and drinks (alcoholic too!), a tennis court and beach volleyball court. With a single basketball court and mini golf, there are plenty of activities to do. And there were 2 computers in the lobby to use as you need (print off directions and boarding passes).

This was a quiet, safe, clean and thoroughly enjoyable stay!! We will be back, as we are already time share owners and only had to sit through an update session (60 mins).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We traveled here with our three children ages 9, 8, and 6. The property itself is very beautiful. We enjoyed the outdoor and indoor pools and various activities provided for the children. We stayed in a two bedroom unit, building 21, door 211, room 105E with a king bed and two twin beds. The room was very outdated with linoleum in the kitchen and mdf cabinets, aged blue green carpet and outdated window coverings and furniture. The room was very functional and we enjoyed having two full bathrooms with plenty of hot water for shower time. The dryer made a high pitched squeal noise so we did not run it at night while we were sleeping. The unit was clean and bug free, which is always important. I would have rated higher had the unit been updated and made to feel more comfortable.

Room Tip: For excellent Mexican food, visit Plaza Axteca. And plan on visiting the Yankee Candle Flagship stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Greensprings Vacation Resort! We’re sorry to read your concerns about the accommodation that you stayed in – the resort is undergoing a rolling program of refurbishment, and we’re sorry that it wasn’t possible to allocate a refurbished apartment for you on this occasion. We hope that this didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable vacation, and we feel sure that you’ll notice the difference if you choose to return here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Arrived Friday, June 14th and stayed until Sunday the 16th. Check in was very quick and informative. I had my guard up when sent to the concierge desk because I had no plans of attending any "presentations." Once I explained to the lady that we were on this trip to RELAX and get away from the kids for awhile, she backed off and let us continue on our way.
We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, BEAUTIFUL unit. Everything you could imagine was supplied to us. The unit was clean and fresh. An iron burn was on the master bedroom floor but that was the least of my worries.
The staff at the pool and activities area were so kind and amazing! The Asian pool man (I don't know his name!) rescued a baby bunny after it was drowning in the pool. He tried to revive it and warm it up all while cleaning and sanitizing the pool. I've never seen so much compassion and dedication!
All in All, I would DEFINITELY return! I absolutely enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: if you have kids, request a room near the pool! They are very willing to accommodate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spend 2 days at Greensprings in a 2 bedroom unit (we had booked for one bedroom but they gave us a bigger unit). Great staff, great unit with anything you can ask for. Kitchen really well stocked. Unit extremely clean!
Awesome bed and pillows.
They offered us a timeshare presentation but not pushy at all!!!
You get a lot for your money!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are on our way home from a three-night stay in Greensprings. The units and grounds are beautiful, clean, and well maintained, but the timeshare "concierges" are like vultures waiting to attack. innocent guests. When we registered, the rain from Andrea was pouring and we had just driven through massive lake-like areas on the Interstate; we were obviously in no mood for anything other than a shower, a little rest, and bed. The "concierge" to whom I was directed immediately started her spiel about invitations, snacks, and "presentations." Any fool knows where this leads, so I immediately declined the invitation and asked her to please just leave us alone. She did, after she had rudely slammed some papers down on the counter. We then received three more telephone calls in three days purporting to invite us to presentations and come by for coffee and the welcome package, which we had already received. I know these people are just trying to make a living, but in the timeshare business they should be a little more able to accept rejection pleasantly. Perhaps timeshares were useful before it was possible to reserve exactly what you want when and where you want on the Internet. I would never be satisfied with any system that limited me to certain weeks in certain locations, and the maintenance fees alone are ridiculous and beyond the control of the "owner." If you don't mind this sort of sales pitch, Greensprings is fine. The pools are beautiful and clean, and there was even a little sign under one of the beds that said "We clean here, too." I was just not in the mood for sales spiels, so the whole place left a bitter taste. I will probably go back to Powhatan next time -- there is little or no sales pressure there.

Room Tip: Try to get a unit within easy walking distance from the pool. Some would require a car or a very lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Greensprings Vacation Resort, but we’re sorry to read of your disappointment with our sales team. While many of our guests do appreciate the opportunity to learn more about vacation ownership, we appreciate that it won’t be suitable for everyone – we don’t believe that we there’s a need for high-pressure sales tactics at our resorts, and we’d like to apologize for what appears to have been a very frustrating experience for you.

Please be assured that unless you are staying on a promotional break, you are not obligated to attend any presentations during your stay. We hope that you’ll give Greensprings another chance – we’d love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our check in was quite smooth at Greensprings Vacation Resort on June 23. We were there until 6-30 in Building 14, Door 146 units 68I and 68J. Our two sons and families were there with us sharing the two, two bedroom refurbished units. Everything was clean and ready for occupancy upon our arrival. These units have flat screen televisions in the living rooms and master bedroom. There is a bathroom off each master bedroom and another bath in the hall for the second bathroom with good quality Diamond towels. There were very comfortable king size beds in the master bedrooms and twin beds in the second bedrooms. "Blackout" curtains were not totally opaque but did darken the rooms considerably. Each unit had a balcony accessible from the living room with a table and four chairs.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. When we determined on Sunday that one of the water heaters was malfunctioning, we were pleasantly surprised that a person from maintenance was there shortly, worked on it, came back about two hours later to see that it was working properly and left a phone message that the check back had been performed during our absence and to let them know if there were any further problems.

Upon check in, concierge had a welcome packet with information about the area and attractions, added to that packet based upon our interests and then went for the owner "update". The concierge at this resort hardly functions in the capacity of what one normally considers that role. One cannot purchase tickets here and they have no information about what the concierge at Historic Powhatan Resort, a sister Diamond resort in Williamsburg, has available. After three follow-up calls to schedule an update, they gave up. As a last effort, a "5 minute" survey could be scheduled but we declined having been that route at The Suites at Fall Creek in Branson, MO. We did secure a list of tickets available through the Powhatan concierge when we visited that resort. Most attractions were discounted about $1.00 per ticket with some exceptions.

There was not a mid-week cleaning however a towel exchange could be requested at no charge and for a fee a mid-week cleaning could be scheduled.

There were many persons at Greensprings over the Memorial Day weekend but there was never the feeling of being crowded at this large resort. The property is accessed through a security gate which was always occupied by resort security. The resort was generally quiet and good for relaxation. Charcoal grills were located at various locations around the property for outdoor grilling. The grounds were very well maintained. The cabana at the outdoor pool had a nice selection so reasonably priced, tasty sandwiches as well as adult beverages. Otherwise, there is not a restaurant at the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant, relaxing stay with us and that the level of care offered to you by our team was a pleasant surprise. We put great emphasis on ensuring that our guests can enjoy their stay with us and should there be any issues, it is our priority to rectify them as soon as they appear. We will of course pass your words of appreciation to the rest of the team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you at Greensprings Vacation Resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Address: 3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greensprings Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.