We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL STAY OVER CHRISTMAS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greensprings Plantation

Save Saved
You added Greensprings Plantation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Greensprings Plantation
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
St. Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL STAY OVER CHRISTMAS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We used our Global Discovery Vacations membership to book a two bedroom condo at Greensprings Plantation Resort over Christmas. We were thrilled with the fabulous last minute booking deal at $129 for the week, through Global. (Somebody canceled?)

We had requested a first floor refurbished unit, and even though the resort was very busy during the Christmas season, our request was granted. There are no elevators in the buildings, and several reviews complained about the first floor units being noisy with traffic on the floor above. Either we’re more tolerant, hard of hearing, or we were just plain lucky to have quiet neighbors, because we had no complaints whatsoever about noise.

Check-in was efficient, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were, of course, directed to the concierge’s desk for our welcome packet. Warned ahead of time about the timeshare pressure, we ducked out. However, they did call us the next morning, and since I wanted to see just how bad the pressure was so I could include the information in this review, we went over to the desk and were given a “welcome package” containing a couple of packets of coffee and a lot of information and coupons for the Williamsburg area. When Mike began the timeshare spiel, we said we were already with Global and weren’t interested. End of conversation; he wished us a nice stay in the area and was very pleasant. We did receive one more call the next day, but when we said we had already declined, the person apologized for bothering us again, and that was that. No more contacts.

The building/unit numbering system is a bit baffling, and there are several doorways to negotiate before reaching the actual unit - the building’s front door leads into a foyer/stairway area. Another door leads to a small hallway separating two units. Finally, we reached the door leading into the actual unit. There seemed to be an awful lot of doors inside the unit, too, and we joked about it all week. Nevertheless, the setup ensured good security, and we found it more amusing than annoying.

Our two-bedroom unit was impeccably clean and well stocked. We cooked a lot and never lacked for dishes or cookware during meal preparation. It wasn’t a hodgepodge of stuff either. All the dinnerware matched, as did the cookware set. The stainless steel Cuisinart appliances and stylish countertops made for a pleasant kitchen. There was plenty of storage space, including a large pantry (where, oddly, the dinnerware was stored.)

We didn’t use the second bedroom and bath, but the master bedroom was large and very pleasant, with ample storage - six-drawer dresser, two night stands and a large closet. The king bed was very comfortable, with fresh, crisp bedding. The master bath was huge, with a big whirlpool tub, separate shower, with plenty of shelf space for toiletries in the shower and double sink and vanity, again with plenty of storage. As with many such resorts, there was no complimentary mid-week cleaning, but one towel exchange was available. We didn’t use it, though, because, between the two bathrooms, there were plenty of towels. There was also a washer/dryer in the unit (behind yet another door!) Also, we were warned that only a “starter kit” of paper goods, dish soap, laundry detergent would be provided. However, there was plenty of everything, and I didn’t have to break out anything we brought from home.

The living area was ample size, and again, there was a lot of storage, where we put our camera equipment and other electronics. Speaking of electronics, there was an additional charge for wi-fi through AT&T. But as we already had an AT&T account, that didn’t apply to us. The wi-fi worked fine.

If we had any complaint at all about the unit, it would be that the living area furniture, while stylish, was uncomfortable. The sofa cushions insisted on constantly sliding toward the floor, threatening to dump us several times. And the chairs were just to straight. No vacation slouching was allowed! Also, while there were a lot of lighting fixtures, the light seemed rather dim, especially in the bathroom. Other than that, our stay was unmarred, and we are eagerly anticipating another trip to Greensprings in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Greensprings Plantation, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for this detailed review of your recent stay at the Greensprings Vacation Resort – we feel sure that future guests will really appreciate the information and feedback you’ve provided!

We’re glad to read that you enjoyed your stay here. We make every effort to fulfil accommodation requests made by our guests, and we’re pleased that we were able to allocate an apartment for you which met with your specific request.

We’re sorry that you found the furniture somewhat uncomfortable, however. We really hope that this issue didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay at Greensprings Vacation Resort, and we’re glad to read that you’re planning to return here. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    130
    53
    27
    19
See reviews for
208
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the Greensprings Resort for 4 nights right before Christmas with my family. We had two suites connected in building 6. (which was not one of the newly renovated units) My wife and I have a young child so we wanted to be able to have the two suites connected on the same floor so he could move around easily. The newly renovated "connected" units are on different levels, so while they are newer we decided against it.

From the moment that we pulled up the staff was extremely helpful and constantly tried provide any assistance they could. There is a guard shack at the entrance and every car is checked to make sure it has reservations or a parking pass for the lot.

The property has many buildings and like you've read some are newly renovated and some are not. After staying in an "older" unit, it was still great and would recommend a friend staying. Their were at least 4 playgrounds with swings and that was something that we really enjoyed about the property. If you have a small child the only playground with infant swings is the furthest away from the main building and near the entrance of the property.

The rooms themselves have great beds, great sheets, great pillows, great towels, I know this seems small, but when you stay somewhere and they don't have great items like these, you notice.

One thing was interesting was that the two units we had different layouts and the unit we hung out in the most had more of an open layout and larger kitchen with breakfast bar.

Diamond Resorts International will do anything you ask of them within reason to make your stay better!!!

Room Tip: We chose a top level so that our son wouldn't hear people above... Note that there are no elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Plantation, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Greensprings Vacation Resort. As we are in the middle of a refurbishment project to update all of our units, there are some units that still haven’t been updated. When this project is completed, all of our units will have the same updated amenities and furnishings. As stated in your review, our older units are still extremely comfortable and provide a similar relaxing experience as the newer units. We were delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time here and that, hopefully, your child was able to experience the playground, and had a fun time on them! Your recommendation of our resort is extremely appreciated and we hope to see you again the next time you and your family are in the Williamsburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

First off let me say that if you have an issue with stairs... be sure to ask for a lower floor. Secondly, You pay for WiFi. Thirdly, if you are into trendy surroundings ask for an updated model. Other than those three things...we had a top floor but loved the peace, quiet and birds-eye view of the woods and a small pond. The management had the kitchen and bathrooms filled with all you need. We were very pleased with the accomodations even though it wasn't one of the "latest updated". It was so clean, smelled good and homey that we didn't care that the carpet and surfaces in the kitchen and bathrooms weren't the latest style. It actually was very homey and we just needed clothes and a few toiletries and we were set for the week.
The timeshare week that we stayed was a very good deal for what we received. We always enjoy our stay in Williamsburg.

Room Tip: 1. If stairs are issue ask for lower floor. 2. If you are into latest trends ask for updated mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Plantation, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Greensprings Vacation Resort. Our Wi-Fi internet service is managed and operated by a 3rd party vendor. We do not collect payments for this fee and makes no revenue off of these fees as they are determined and collected by our vendor. For 2013, we are in the process of refurbishing an additional number of units with updated appliances and amenities. Once this refurbishment project is completed, we expect all of our units to have the type of appliances and amenities, thereby negating the need for guests to request an updated unit. We were very delighted to hear that our accommodations met your expectations, and contributed to your recommendation of our resort. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Williamsburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I own a timeshare and came to this resort for a get away. We had a two bedroom unit - very spacious - and more room than we really needed. They supply a small amount of dishes and utensils that are adequate for use. Very clean. Friendly staff. Would stay here again if ever in the Williamsburg area. Liked this one better than Powhatan (we stayed there a year ago) because the unit we stayed in this time was closer to the main buildings - which is our personal preference. I actually wish we could have stayed a few more days. Timeshare pitch not a plus as we already own one and traded into this resort for a stay. Didn't want to hear it, but ended up sitting through a long presentation. (I did not rate this room on the basis of the presentation) One thing I did notice though was that there was no place to put your soap or shampoo in the shower. It was awkward but doable. I know its a small thing but attention to detail is important.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms closer to the pool and main buildings. There are many buildings here so if you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights after a late change in plans for Thanksgiving. All in all, it was a very nice stay. So, here's the good (a lot), the bad (not so much), and the other. Note that we stayed in a refurbished unit, so I can't say if this applies to all units.

Bad: not very much at all, and nothing of great import. The first thing was an annoyance. This condo resort both rents out as if it were a hotel, and operates as a timeshare, and they do try to press the timeshare sales pitch. More about that below. The other thing was that the ceilings are not incredibly thick. We had a family with an child of about 8 abocve us, and for a while each evening, we could hear him working out his excess energy :-). The sound of his running and jumping came through loudly. However, we did not hear anything else from the floor above, so that wasn't that big a deal.

Good: A clean, roomy, well set-up 2 BR apartment.
Master bedroom: KIng bed, with plenty of room besides. Plenty of storage - a closet, a dresser, 2 nightstands. The bed was comfortable, the sheets were clean and felt like they should (i.e., not institutional, siff, rough, etc.). Medium sized flat panel TV, and a claock radio with mp3 player attachment. The only minor complaint was that the lights (bedside only, 1 each side) were a little bit dark overall. Not a problem if reading in bed, but not as good if looking in the dresser, for instance.

Master bath - very roomy, with shower and whirlpool tub, two sinks, toilet, plenty of light, good water pressure and temperature. Soap was provided, as were towels and paper (nice, since some
condo rentals don't).

2nd BR - ours was 1 queen bed, though some come with 2 twins. No TV in second BR. Otherwise, it was similar to, though just a bit smaller than, the master BR. Its bathroom is smaller, just sink, toilet and shower, and has doors to both the bedroom and the living room.

Kitchen - nice amount of room, and very well appointed, with a full size fridge, electric oven and range, a microwave, a really nice coffee machine, toaster, pots, pans, and all the dishes and utensils you'd need.

Dining room - with table and room/seating for 6

Living room - couch and chair, flat panel TV with a good range of channels. Ours opened to a patio, others to balconies.

Other: The location is at the southwest end of Williamsburg, making it less accessible to the Colonial area, Busch Gardens, etc. But this was not a major hardship - we're talking 10 to15 minutes instead of 5 to the Colonial Williamsburg parking lot. It is about 2 to 3 miles from a few shopping centers with restaurants, supermarkets, etc. The pool is outdoors, so, what with it being late November, it wasn't available. There are no elevators, at least in the building we stayed in, so only 1 in 4 of the condos per unit are barrier free. Not an issue to us, but just in case it matters to you. The parking areas in fron of the units were close to full each night. I think there is enough for each unit, but not if too many have multiple cars staying there. Wi-fi in the area, but it is not free. You need to purchase straight from ATT. It was not expensive. If you have a personal hotspot, coverage was 3G and spotty.

and more about the sales pitch: So, they try to sell timeshares to everyone who stays, including attending an "information session" (a.k.a. sales pitch). They actually preschedule you for such a session, without asking. Ours was "prescheduled for my convenience" at noon on a Friday, right on the middle of the day, when we'd be doing whatever we came to Williamsburg to do. To make it even better, the sales force is labeled "the concierge desk", and you are referred to them after checking in for your welcome package ( pamphlets, coupons, a packet of starbucks coffee grounds), and then they lead right into how they've also done us a favor by setting us up for the sales meeting. The saleswoman/concierge I spoke to was very cheerful and friendly, but once I made it clear that I wasn't interested, you could see the switch go to off - the smile disappeared, and she literally turned her back to me and started talking to a colleague. Nice way to build interest! I feel, I've paid you $150 +/- a night, I don't owe you anything but that and normal politness. I certainly don't owe you a chunk of my time. Fortunately, I had been pre-warned via online reviews, so I was ready and not surprised.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room. Others say it makes a difference, and ours was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We recently stayed here for one night only so we could go to Busch gardens at Christmas time for evening show. It was a first floor two bedroom unit renovated unit with lots of nice touches. All Cuisinart appliances in kitchen, soothing paint colors, jetted tub, and gas fireplace. It was in a wooded setting. Staff was friendly upon check in/check out process. The only downside was that there was a faint smell of old cigarette smoke in the unit. I would look to staying here again and getting a chance to use more of their onsite services like pool, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Plantation, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Providing our guests with a pleasant stay in friendly and relaxing atmosphere is our priority and we are happy that this is exactly what you have experienced here at Greensprings Vacation Resort. We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards
Jennifer Berberich
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Township, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My family ( 2 adults and 2 kids) stayed here for the weekend to go to Busch Gardens Christmas Town, run in the Christmas Town Dash, and attend the Colonial Williamsburg Grand Illuminations (busy weekend). We decided to make a return stay at Greensprings Plantation resort. We had stayed here for a week August 2011 and enjoyed our stay here.

The room is a very spacious 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit with full kitchen, living room/dining room, and balcony. We are on the 3rd floor (our request) in building 12. Master bedroom has king bed and is very comfortable. There is a flat screen TV and DVD player. Master bath has 2 sinks, toilet, and shower. Towels are fluffy and linens are of very good quality. 2nd bedroom has 2 twin beds and a small tube TV, also comfortable. 2nd bath has a tub with curved shower curtain and sink. Kitchen has full size refrigerator, oven/stove, dishwasher, garbage disposal, coffee maker (cuisinart), pop-up toaster and blender and is fully stocked with dishes and pots/pans. Living room has pullout sofa bed and two chairs, flat panel TV, DVD player, electric fireplace and dining area has seating for 6. There is also a stackable washer/dryer.

This unit is in excellent, well maintained condition and is very, very nice! Everything is clean. Carpet is in excellent condition. I wish I was staying for a week instead of just the weekend!

Our balcony overlooks the golf course. There are picnic tables and grills for outdoor BBQs.

There is a quite large, inviting outdoor pool which is open and heated. There is also a nice indoor pool and gym. During the warm weather months there is a poolside bar and grill. Good variety of activities offered here, like fitness classes and kids crafts.

Parking is plentiful and free. There is a charge for Wifi if you are not an owner. I think it is $7 per day per device.

A few blocks down he road is a shopping center with a Target and a very nice grocery store. Check in staff was very friendly!

Greensprings is a vacation ownership resort (i.e. timeshare). My family really loves staying "condo style." Lots of room for everyone, and especially valuable if you have 3 or 4 kids. We love having a washer/dryer and kitchen. Great for snacks and breakfast. My husband likes to stay up late and watch TV in the living room and he gets to sleep in while the kids get up early to play video games and watch TV. It is important to know that there is no daily housekeeping, bell services or room service. We don't miss it. We love not having to eat out all the time and getting to relax more while on vacation. My kids love having their own room on vacation and get disappointed when we have to stay in a "hotel with only one room."

Also important to know - the buildings have 3 floors and there are no elevators. Call ahead and give the Greensprings staff a heads up if this is a concern for you.

Location is very good - about 10-15 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and Water Country. Lots of things to do and see here while in Williamsburg.

I highly recommend Greensprings Plantation Resort!!!

Room Tip: 3 story buildings with no elevators. If stairs are a problem call a week ahead of time and speak wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greensprings Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Plantation

Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg
Address: 3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#23 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Plantation 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Greensprings Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greensprings Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.