We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greensprings Vacation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Greensprings Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Greensprings Vacation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed at powhatan, and kingsgate in the past. This one was very nice. Clean and the quiet. Not quite as convienent as Kingsgate but I liked the fact if was not in the middle of town and it was no farther than 10 minutes from anywhere I wanted to go. I recommend asking for a 2 story unit. You get a little more privacy and not the long hike up to the third floor. Place was very clean and well kept (one of my problems with powhatan plantation in the past.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that our location and accommodations met your needs, as well as, your expectations. Our guests usually compliment us on the fact that we are located close to such attractions as Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens, which we hope you were able to visit while you were here. Thank you for your recommendation, and we hope that we are able to accommodate you and your party again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    157
    66
    29
    24
See reviews for
245
83
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stay here often while visiting family in the area. We don't have a membership or own a time share, but stay because we have lots of young kids and need the space. It's not the nicest condo resort here by far but the value can't be beat. Plus, you can usually get in last minute if you call.

If you are sensitive to noise or have children, STAY on the TOP floor. You can hear every single step the people above you take. It's awful, especially at night. Our toddler was kept up late and woken up early by the folks upstairs walking back and forth. Thank God its carpet and not hardwood.

I don't know about renovated units but we have never really had a cleanliness issue. I like that dishwasher tabs, detergent etc is included.

Two bedrooms and a pull out queen couch for under $200 a night on weekends? Can't beat that.

We have never used the pool but looks nice and there are playgrounds.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here as part of a timeshare presentation. Room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Our third floor balcony overlooked a fairway on the Williamsburg National Golf Course. There are about 27 buildings with 6 units in each building. I would have rated the property one notch higher, but no elevators. Kind of a hike up to the third story. Also be prepared to pay for an internet connection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked our trip here for Sept 30th thru Oct 3rd for a 2 bedroom condo unit.
Booked thru Expedia and online it asked for Special Request: We filled in my (2) 82 year old
parents were traveling with us and we needed a ground floor unit with no steps as steps were a BIG deal for both of them.

We arrived late that night only to be given a basement unit with approximately 17 steps to go down and of course to come back up. No problem for us but a BIG problem for my parents.
As they say, 1st impressions are everything, and our 1st impression was HUGE disappointment due to not honoring our request.

We checked out a day early and told the girl at front desk of our disappointment who offered us nothing. Will not stay at this resort again as they show no concern for guests. They got our money and that was all that mattered to them.

Also remote to dvd did not work in master suite, and a huge ant on wall greeted us as we first walked in. Biggest ant I have ever seen from 1/2" to 3/4" long HUGE ANT

Go to Kings Creek Plantation. We have stayed their 2 times in Williamsburg and have been totally happy each time. They were booked and we could not get a room their on this trip.

Room Tip: Choose Kings Creek Plantation, Williamsburg, Va. Do not choose Greensprings Vacation Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We regret that you were not placed in the desired unit upon arrival. Unfortunately, the comment you submitted on Expedia did not make it to our front desk team or reservation system. We will reach out to Expedia to see if there is an issue with the request transfer to ensure that this does not happen in the future.

Our team members do their best to fulfill all requests, but we can only do so subject to the availability of those units. At the time of your stay, we did not have any ground floor units available. We are truly sorry if you felt that our front desk team lacked compassion for your situation and will address the situation accordingly.

We hope that you contacted the front desk about the remote so they could resolve your concerns. Ants are not uncommon to Virginia, but we can assure you that our property has preventive maintenance year round in order to keep them out of your units. We encourage our guests to notify the front desk team if they encounter any issues of this nature.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is important to us and the guest experience. We hope you’ll give us another chance and come back to visit Greensprings in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived for our customer service meeting (as we are already owners) 15 minutes early. We then waited 30 minutes (total) for someone to come get us. At no time were we offered drink or food. We were in the meeting w/the first person-Mark- 1 1/2 hrs. When we entered his office he text for about 5 minutes as we sat there. He also text sometime during the middle of our meeting. He asked if we had any concerns at the beginning. When we told him our concern was over being penalized for carrying over points, he went into a speech about how there are rules to keep people from "Manipulating the system"; using an example of someone driving 65 on a 50 mph rd. Then he asked if we had any ?? about airfare/cruises etc. My husband asked about points/cruise. I said no (because I don't like cruises) what about airfaire. Mark told us that my husband had asked the ? and it was "rude for me not to let him answer the question." My husband said, Ok, then I withdraw the ?. Mark said, "Well if you didn't want the answer why did you ask the question?. I have NEVER had an experience like this. We have bought on 2 different trips from Diamond. If I could have, I would have returned the points and asked for my money back! I wish I had a recording of this to put on Utube! The property at Greensprings Plantation was nice. But the treatment from the timeshare reps is totally unacceptable.

Room Tip: When you walk into the lobby to check in, say "No" immediately for the timeshare presentat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of our resort, and bringing up a concern you had with one of our team members. Their behavior towards you and your husband is not typical for the type of Customer Service we want to portray towards our guests, members, and owners. We sincerely apologize for this team member’s behavior, and want to you know that this will be addressed immediately. It is our hope that this team member’s behavior has not negatively affected the rest of your stay with us. We will make sure that someone from our management department here at Greensprings will get in touch with you to further discuss your concerns. Thank you for being a valued owner with us, and we hope the rest of your stay with us goes extremely well, and that you able to experience Choice, Simplicity, and Comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in a 2bdrm unit last week in bldg 8 Unit 37B. Mr. Le checked us in hurriedly although there was no one waiting to check in behind us. We stayed here based on the pictures, but felt like this was a bait and switch once we got there. Those are the refurbished units of which there are only 60 available out of 300 units according to Mr. Le. They're selling 100% of their units based on pictures that represent only 20% of the refurbished ones. He was very rushed in explaining where our unit was located and explaining the $250 incidental charges hold on our credit card. We booked the rental through an owner who told us to request the floor we wanted at check in. So we asked for a 3rd floor refurbished unit. There were no refurbished units available (on any floor) and were told that the only unit that was ready was a 1st floor unit. Then, we found out that the indoor pool was closed for the week we were there. We would need to go to the sister property, the Powhatan to swim indoors. I wished we knew this prior to going as this is one thing our infant CAN do at 8 months is get in the water with her float. We knew it would be too cool for the outdoor pool. NO free WiFi, but we used our phones.

The unit itself was spacious and had a nice layout. We requested a pack n play for our baby and it was delivered to our unit within an hour which was necessary since we checked in after 5PM and the baby needed to sleep. The maintenance staff called the next day to make sure we had received it (nice touch, but if it hadn't arrived on check in day, it would have been too late by then). There were plenty of utensils, kitchen appliances, and pots and pans. A spatula and a pizza cutter would have been nice to have. The resort at Massanutten has those items. There was a flat screen TV in the living room and the master bdrm but no TV at all in the 2nd bdrm. Having the washer/dryer in the unit was very convenient so we could wash before leaving for home. The water pressure in the master shower is VERY strong and piercing with no adjustment, so be sure to not turn the knob the entire way. The gas fireplace was a nice touch although we didn't use it.

It was clean for the most part, however, it looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in several weeks as there was dust on the bathroom fixtures, the mini blinds, and cobwebs on the 2nd bedroom window. There was mold, mildew, and crud on the bathroom shower doors in the master and hall baths. There was a jacuzzi tub in the master but we didn't use it because we thought it may not be clean. There was a spider on the wall in the living room as soon as we walked in and 2 dead gnats in the kitchen. The furniture is dated and scratched and doesn't NOT look like the pictures on the website. The beds are very comfortable but the pillows are too fat and big to sleep on. Bring your own pillow. The balcony was a nice touch, but the cushions are moldy on the underside and stained on top.

The unit itself was spacious and had a nice layout. We requested a pack n play for our baby and it was delivered to our unit in a hour which was necessary since we checked in after 5PM and the baby needed to sleep. The maintenance staff called the next day to make sure we had received it (nice touch, but if it hadn't arrived on check in day, itwould have been too late by then). There were plenty of utensils, kitchen applicances, and pots and pans. A spatula and a pizza cutter would have been nice to have. The resort at Massanutten has those items. There was a flat screen TV in the living room and the master bdrm but no TV at all in the 2nd bdrm. Having the washer/dryer in the unit was very convenient so we could wash before leaving for home. The water pressure in the master shower is VERY strong and piercing with no adjustment, so be sure to not turn the knob the entire way. The gas fireplace was a nice touch although we didn't use it.

If you didn't know that this was a timeshare resort, you wouldn't know it by the "Welcome reps." across from check in. They already have you "scheduled" for a "welcome reception" to tell you more about the resort. If I hadn't read the reviews on tripadvisor I would be none the wiser. We politely declined and received a few calls the day after check-in but did not answer the phone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We’re really sorry that there were aspects of your recent stay at the Greensprings Vacation Resort which caused you disappointment. Please be advised that accommodation is allocated approximately two weeks before the check-in date, and we would therefore need you to tell us in advance if you have any specific requests. While we will make every effort to fulfil requests made by our guests, we must advise that whether we are able to do so will depend on the accommodation which is available for the date you are due to check in.

There’s no excuse for poor housekeeping, and we’re really sorry to read that there were parts of your apartment which you considered to be unclean. All our apartments, whether refurbished or unrefurbished, should be serviced to our high standards, and we apologize for any oversights in this regard.

The resort is currently undergoing a rolling program of refurbishment, and we feel sure that if you choose to return here you’ll appreciate the changes!

We really hope that these issues didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay at the Greensprings Vacation Resort. We’d love for you to return here, and we look forward to being of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I reserved a 3 night stay with Greensprings Vacation Resort in August. Upon my arrival I was told that they overbooked and we needed to stay at a hotel until the following day. I was also told not to air my dirty laundry at the hotel! It has been a month and no one will return my phone calls and I have not received a refund for the night not stayed. If you're a member of the resort they may treat you better but as a guest they treated you terribly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Greensprings Vacation Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that you had to relocate to another hotel due to an overbooking issue here at Greensprings for the first night of your stay. Having to relocate a guest is the absolute last thing we want to do, as our front desk staff will try to do everything in their power to avoid this scenario. We hope that your recent conversation today with our Front Desk Manager alleviated your concerns about receiving proper compensation for having to relocate. Our guests, regardless of their affiliation with Diamond Resorts, are to be treated with equal importance and care. We apologize if this wasn’t the case for you; however, please be assured that this is bring resolved internally with our staff, and it is our hope that this stay will not dissuade you from visiting our resort again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greensprings Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensprings Vacation Resort

Address: 3500 Ludwell Parkway, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Greensprings Plantation)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Greensprings Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greensprings Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greensprings Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Greensprings Plantation Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greensprings Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.