We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Kingsgate to your Saves list
Wyndham Kingsgate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worn out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We do not/not recommend this resort. We stayed here last week for two nights. Got a great price, but were very disappointed in the quality of the accommodations--can't say other reviews didn't warn us. It appears that renovations are under way, but despite being assured that all of the rooms were in great condition, we did not find that to be the case. We stayed in an un-renovated building and it was, well... YUCK. Bad, stale smell. Mold in the shower, a toilet that clogged with only a little paper (and when we called to report it, they told us where to find the plunger). Dated and worn out furniture. The public areas weren't bad -- the pool, mini golf course, game room-- but the rooms were sub par by any measure. We didn't bother to complain because they told us at check in that the resort was fully occupied, and we definitely regretted not paying more to stay in a better place. It's hard to leave his resort feeling impressed with anything when your room feels more like a junky motel than a modern resort.

Room Tip: If you must stay, try to ensure you get a room in a renovated building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear aldots,

We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with these issues. We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties and you did not receive this. Please rest assured we will have our housekeeping staff address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. By the end of this year all our units will be renovated so we hope you will give us another opportunity and return and see us again.

Thank you for making us aware.

Regards,

Richard Walter
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    231
    111
    39
    22
See reviews for
360
99
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I'll try to make this brief.... but it may be hard to do so. Kingsgate was a huge disappointment. We stayed at Kingsgate approximately 5 years in a two-bedroom unit and was quite pleased. This time, we opted for the one bedroom... big mistake. The unit was very dreary... the color schemes were dark and dismal. Kingsgate's definition of a Queen bed in this one bedroom unit is actually a Full. We addressed this with management and was told the mattress is Kingsgate's configuation of a Queen. We own a Queen at home, and this was signficantly much smaller. We did not sleep well the entire week. The mattress was uncomfortable, the sheets were VERY worn and old, coupled w/ hard pillows without pillowcases. The mattress was raised from the floor no more than approx. 2 feet, making us feel we were sleeping in a college room dorm. Also, we were placed in a bottom unit near the main front door. Continuous slamming of the door was a constant disturbance. The soundproofing in this building is so bad, we could hear distinct conversations (that included arguments and yelling) from other tenants. These issues combined pushed us to request another unit with a proper size bed and perhaps not as disturbing neighbors - although it seemed management tried to oblige, no occupancies were availabe for us to relocate. This really ruined much of our vacation... we came home a day earlier because we could not take another night between the uncomfortable bed, constant noise from others penetrating into our unit and the continuous slamming of the outside door. I don't mean to be offensive because I'm sure there are many wonderful people that stay at Kingsgate, but our experience seem off-key with the surroundings as well, for there appeared to be a rough crowd throughout, on the grounds, in the pool area... We were very uncomfortable and stayed away from the resort as much as possible. It is VERY unfortunate for us that we had to experience this kind of stress on a vacation! We left this place very upset. The final nail in the coffin will be a response from a general manager on this site stating he/she is sorry to hear our stay at Kingsgate was less than satisfactory, etc. etc. This cannot give us back our earned vacation time, travel, $$ spent, to be treated this way. May I add... we drove to VA from NY and on our way there, we stayed one night in Fredericksburg at a Best Western. We could not have been more pleased. The room was spacious, clean, two beauitful QUEEN beds with real bed frames, that included high quality cotton bedding and the best pillows ever! Go figure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear fawn761,

I would love to have an opportunity to talk with you if you will be willing to give me a chance to to assist. I cannot change the past you are right, but hope you would feel better after our conversation.

Regards,

Richard Walter
Resort Manager
richard.walter@wyn.com
757-259-8479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our family stayed here last week for 5 nights. Here Is what we thought: the security staff was very friendly and welcoming, nice way to enter a resort area. The check in process left a lot to be desired. There was a greater there saying hello to people but for whatever reason she didn't extend these pleasantries to our family. We were checked in by Brytany, no greeting or welcome from her either. She asked for identification, told us about the $100 deposit for possible damage and then told us our room was not ready, although it was 4 PM. We got our parking pass by the folks trying to convince us to join them for a time share presentation but they weren't bad at all they asked we said no and it ended there. Out room was very nice. We had 1 bedroom with a pull out couch. A little tight for all 4 of us but no complaints room was clean and well thought out. There was a peculiar smell in the bathroom, we called maintenance they told us that the unit was recently updated and it was the residual smell. The units have individual hot water heaters so you need to run the water a while before it warms up. The grounds and amenities were very nice and everyone else was friendly and welcoming. Would recommend to others, would return. Need to address the greeting and check in staff

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Helen D,

Thank you for taking the time to comment. I apologize that your room was not ready on time, the room odor, and the lack of a greeting. These are expectations that we certainly should have met and I will be looking into the specifics here.

I am glad that there were some aspects of your stay that were positive and thank you also for this feedback. We hope to see you again soon at Kingsgate.

Regards,

Richard Walter
Resort Manager
Wyndham Kingsgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was our fourth stay at Kingsgate. We were in one of the recently reburbished units. What a great change since our last stay when the furnishings were tired and dirty. The shower stall in the master bedroom bath was enlarged. The tub surround in the other bathroom was replaced. We were in building 7 and had a view of the pond from the deck. We enjoyed watching the ducks and geese around the pond and the frogs serenaded us every night. There were some minor problems. The water had a funny smell, like cat urine, fortunately the smell did not transfer to us. The units have tankless hot water heaters, and several times while I was showering, the water temperature went from hot to almost cold. There are no towels in the kitchen. Once muted, the TVs did not always unmute. So, instead of muting the TV, we would turn the volume down very low. This time we also had a problem with people trying to get into our unit and banging on the door. I would stand on my side of the door and shout that they had the wrong unit but they'd keep trying. The location is great for visiting Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens or Water Country. It is also convenient to Food Lion, K-Mart and a host of shops and restaurants on Richmond Road.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear AuntieFlo,

Thank you for your comments and I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We are very proud of our renovation and we look forward to having 100% of the resort completed by April next year. Thank you also for the feedback regarding the water and the TV. We will look into these items.

We hope to see you again soon at Kingsgate.

Regards,

Richard Walter
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Kingsgate for a few days last week. This was an average property. The staff was nice. The room was clean but small. The common area was a little unkept (there was a piece of tupperware that remained on the landing for the entire time). It is a family-friendly property. The pool/activities area was nice. The property is in close proximity to shops, dining, Busch Gardens, and Colonial Williamsburg. We had a few issues which resulted in my rating. The first was the parking. Each unit had several parking spots adjacent to it, however, none of the parking spots were reserved. We were hardly ever able to park in front of our unit, especially during arrival and departure. I am assuming that people had more than one vehicle per unit, which resulted in us having to park two or three units away. There is no reason that at least one parking spot isn't reserved for each unit. This was very frustrating, especially since the units didn't have any elevators and all luggage had to be carried up the stairs. The second issue was the terrible wi-fi service. Although we were told the property had free wi-fi, we were unable to connect to the network for the first two days, and once we could connect, it only really worked in the lobby. I had to call several times and even had to speak to AT&T directly, but it never really got resolved. Lastly, the automatic gate to get into the property broke on our second day there. Although this is no ones fault, it resulted in major delays getting into the property. Ordinarily, resort guests who are already checked in can use this gate, while those waiting to check in use the gate to the left of it. When the gate broke, they decided to make everyone enter through the gate on the left, rather than manually opening the gate for the guests on the right. Waiting in line with all guests arriving and checking in was frustrating. Luckily, we discovered a gate in the back of the property that we were able to use for the rest of the visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Sally M,

Thank you for taking the time to comment.

I was sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. As you know we have many buildings which house a large amount of guests and an increasing number of wireless devices. We are working to improve this feature and apologize for any inconvenience this caused.

Thank you also for the feedback regarding common areas, parking and the entrance gate. Certainly these should not have been negatives during your stay and your comments will allow us to improve the resort.

Sincerely,

Richard Walter
Resort Manager
richard.walter@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We have been Wyndham owners now for 5 yrs and this is the worst property we have ever stayed at and will never return too!!! As a owner, you spend a lot of money to have great vacations and this property does not live up to the Wyndham name!!! When we arrived and got into our room, no elevators at all, so prepare to have to carry your stuff up flights of stairs. Housekeeping had just cleaned the rooms and left all of the dirty linens at the bottom of our stairs....repulsive at best!!!! Took them 2 days and 7 phone calls to get it removed!!! I will be posting pictures!!! The toilet was not working, had to have someone come fix that!!! Kitchen sink did not work entire week!!! Asked for a extra blanket...took 4 calls to get and was treated like we were stealing it!!!!! Giving extra blankets is not part of their normal protocol....had to get a manager to approve...REALLY!!!!! For a blanket!!!!

Lied to again by the concierge about the ownership presentation...told this is a customer service location not a sales location...total BS!!! Customer service was the worst I have ever dealt with and the presentation of course turned into a sales pitch...as soon as we said NO, not buying anything...then we got the cold shoulder...great customer service right!!!!

This is an older property that needs complete upgrading to match what Wyndham is selling!!!!

VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear NWADADDY,

Thank you for taking the time to comment. I would like to apologize for your less than satisfactory experience. I was very concerned to hear of these issues during your stay and I want to assure you that this kind of experience is not the norm.

I would like to be able to research your issues so we can improve the resort. If you have a chance to send me an e-mail with your name and dates of stay I would be appreciative.

Regards,

Richard Walter
Resort Manager
richard.walter@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The rooms were clean. The beds were average. The pools were great and it's kid friendly. My family and I love it and would go back, it's in the perfect location where Colonial Williamsburg is less than 5 mins away and Jamestown and Yorktown have a scenic drive.

Room Tip: If you have four or more in your party, I would choose to have a presidential suite for the max amou...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are soo many things for kids of all ages to do, wether it's swimming, playing on the playset, in the game rooms, or watching movies..
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W, General Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear HayHay1112,

Thank you for your comments and we are very happy you had an amazing stay! Thank you also for your comments regarding the bed comfort. If you have a chance to e-mail me the unit number you were in, or give me your last name, we would like to check the bed.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at Kingsgate.

Regards,

Richard Walter
Resort Manager
richard.walter@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#23 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kingsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.