We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Kingsgate to your Saves list
Wyndham Kingsgate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
New England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed for 5 days in April - it was off season, and not many children were on break, so it was a fairly quiet week. Had not problem with checking in and getting to our 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit. It was very clean. At a busier time, staying on the 1st floor might have been more difficult, as the doors and noises from other units in the bldg. might be bothersome.

Since we were there while the weather was drizzly/rainy, we did utilize the arcades which were not too busy. Also, the heated pool was great. Wanted to try water aerobics, but we never made it there. There is a $5 fee per day for the amenities, but we found it was worth it.

Also recommend the wine tasting. There was a fee, but it was worth it. Got to try 4 different VA wines, and had Steve Hall entertaining us on the keyboards.

Staff was very nice, both at reception and the activity center. Would certainly recommend during off season visiting.

Room Tip: If you have no problems with stairs, pick a 3rd floor as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that they recycle. We put all of our recyclables in a bag and there were receptacles for it.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    232
    113
    39
    22
See reviews for
367
99
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and our two kids (10yrs. and 7yrs.) stayed here the week of April 14th during spring break season. We had no trouble checking in, since it was midnight when we arrived. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit on the third floor of building #6. It was conveniently located to the entrance and activity center. Just be aware that there are no elevators and parking was difficult sometimes. This was a renovated unit, so everything appeared clean and in working order. The kitchen had pretty much everything you would need. Nice blender, toaster, coffee maker (filters included). Plenty of dishes, pans, etc. Electric stovetop and oven, microwave. The ice machine didn't work upon arrival, but they brought a bag of ice immediately. Eventually it started working. The A/C until also wasn't working, but a repair person came and it was resolved within a few hours. The Wifi worked well until there was a really bad storm, which caused a power outage early evening. The power came on in the middle of the night, but the wifi never came back. Not a big deal, except my husband needed to deal with a project for work. He just ended up going to the business center. The front desk and dispatch were always very responsive to our calls and questions. The bedrooms and bathrooms were nice. Comfortable mattresses and pillows. Our daughter used the second bedroom and our son slept on the pull out sofa. Both were comfortable. We used the washer/dryer. It was also nice to have a small balcony to sit outside. There were 4 chairs and 2 small side tables. We used the indoor pool several times during our stay. It was in the upper 70's and people were using the outdoor pool also. It was very crowded, but kids didn't mind. There was a nice exercise room but we didn't use. We did play mini golf which was fun. The indoor pool had to be drained on our last day, so kids were disappointed, but they played mini golf instead. The location of the resort was perfect and very close to Colonial Williamsburg, which we visited three days in a row. There are also plenty of restaurants very close to the resort. We also like that there was a Trader Joe's nearby for groceries, along with other grocery stores. Overall, we had a great time staying here and would return in the future. It's a great resort for families with younger kids.

Room Tip: Building 6 third floor was nice. The third floor is quieter, but there are no elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: It was nice that they offer recycling on site and the toiletries and cleaners were all "earth friendly."
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was a great location to explore the historical area around Williamsburg. The suit worked really well for two couples. Lovely variety of options for activities at the resort too. Would have loved to have gas BBQ's available for cooking and the light at the kitchen table is very dim for playing games.

Room Tip: Top floor is better for not hearing your neighbours, but be aware there are people under you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have been owners with Wyndham South Pacific going on 10 years. This is the first Club Wyndham resort we have stayed at having previously stayed Wyndham The Club resorts in San Diego (Mission Valley) and Las Vegas (South Boulevard).

There was a minor issue with check-in that was resolved quickly. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and found the size of the room excellent value for the credits required.

Housekeeping had left a large bundle of dirty linen near the stairs in the entry foyer which they should probably address because it is not a good first impression. There were also bags of trash which previous guests were obviously too lazy to dispose of properly despite instruction they would have received at check-in.

The unit was clean, well appointed and very spacious. We were on the second floor so noise from above was an occasional issue but typical of most condo style apartments. Noise was certainly no where near as bad as our most recent stay in Asheville.

WI-FI was flaky but then again WI-FI can be problematic and if you really need a reliable internet connection they do have a business centre.

Noticed some over reviews complained about on-site parking. Our building of six units was completely occupied for most of our 14 night stay and we never had issues with parking out front.

The surrounding grounds were well kept and we spent many an afternoon by one of the ponds watching turtles bask in the sun and ducks swimming.

The resort is well placed for Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory centre. Richmond is only 45 minutes away and worth a trip to the Capitol building, the Confederate White House, Canal walk and Tredegar Iron Works.

We would not hesitate to stay at Wyndham Kingsgate were we to once again visit Williamsburg.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The 2nd bedroom is okay for 1 person or 2 small children but not adults. It is extremely small. The main bedroom is nice. The icemaker didn't work. They had tankless water heater. It takes a long time to get hot water. Its okay to stay at but will not be my 1st choice again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband, 11 year old daughter and her friend arrived on April 18, 2014 at approximately 12:30PM. We figured that because we were so much earlier than the 4PM check in that we would do the paperwork, go shopping, and come back later for our room key. Upon entering the reception area there was a short wait as they were having some difficulty with the computers. We were checked in within 10 minutes and then the concierge gave us a folder with restaurant brochures and then the offer to get the extra points and the breakfast sell came. They definitely attempted to be persuasive a little pushy, but not as bad as I was prepared for. They accepted the no and we happily went on our way to building 18-202A. There was no problem with parking and there was a beautiful waterfall, gazebo and grill outside out building and pic-nic tables in the back. Upon entering the building we immediately saw a huge bundle or dirty linens and towels in the corner near the stairs (not the best first impression). Luckily we had requested a 2nd floor unit and received it. Upon entering our unit we were pleasantly met with a remodeled unit which was very nice but appeared larger in the pictures. Unit appeared clean with the exception of the balcony furniture which had a thick layer of pollen which appeared to have been there for some time (I called and Juanelle came and cleaned it and did a great job). We did have a balcony view of the recycling dumpster. There was also dried toothpaste on the wall in the bathroom in the master bedroom. We unloaded our luggage and went to Walmart for groceries which was just minutes away, had dinner at Chik-fil-a on the way. Upon returning 4 hours later we were still met with the dirty laundry as well as a bag of garbage in the hall way (could blame the garbage on nasty neighbors who were too lazy to take their garbage just outside the door to the garbage can). I called and left a message for housekeeping about the garbage. The garbage was gone the next morning when we left to go to Colonial Williamsburg, however wrappers, aluminum foil and such were scattered on the first floor and remained their for the duration of our 7 day stay. The girls really enjoyed the game room. They also went to the Easter Basket Hunt, the pool and the bear creation ($15). At the resort my husband and I attended bingo, a John Rollison presentation and I attended Yoga on both occasions offered and was really impressed by the instructor. She was very detailed and explained every movement and how it remedies specific health conditions. I would go to her class regularly if I was local. I had no problem with the hot water, I turned th shower on while I brushed my teeth at the sink and the water was hot by the time I got into the shower. All in all, the resort was great as far as activities and is very child friendly. We would have had plenty to do at the resort if we had opted out of the area attractions such as Busch Gardens and Ripley's Believe it or Not. The resort can definitely afford to tighten up with the thoroughness of the cleaning of the common spaces but this was not a deal breaker. The resort is also close to EVERYTHING such as restaurants, convenience stores and no more than five minutes from most of the major attractions. I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Top floor if possible. First floor door slams when people come & go. Sound proofing was not go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here with extended family. There were 12 of us. The staff was very accommodating, putting us in rooms one above the other. The amenities were plentiful. Everything was clean and taken care of. The location was close to all of our outings. We would definitely recommend it and would come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh B, Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Reena,

We are so disappointed to hear that your interaction with our resort staff did not meet your expectations, and that the cleanliness of our arcade did not meet your standard. This is not a good example of the Count On Me service which we are know for at Wyndham.

It is imperative that our guests are treated well and we can assure you that we will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. Again, thanks for taking the time to reach out.

Sincerely,

Hugh Bischoff
Assistant Resort Manager
hugh.bischoff@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#24 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kingsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.