We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property - terrible soundproofing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Kingsgate to your Saves list
Wyndham Kingsgate
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marlton, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice property - terrible soundproofing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

A very nice clean property that looks more expensive then it is. Clean, well decorated rooms with all of the comforts of home. Friendly staff as well. The only serious fault I can find is that when you stay in a lower level room, every footstep from the people above you can be heard very loudly through the ceiling. My advise is to get an upper level room and be mindful of the guests below you. The game room and pool area maintenance was falling behind most likely from the amount of use it gets. However, I really didn't mind, we didn't visit Williamsburg to play video games or stand in a pool. Overall, very nice and we will return for a third visit!

Room Tip: Try to get an upper level room.
See more room tips
Green Features: More trash bins for generated garbage would be great.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We appreciate your kind words regarding the unit amenities and friendly staff. We also appreciate your feedback in regards to the game room, as we are always looking for ways to improve. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    232
    113
    39
    22
See reviews for
367
99
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My son has time share with Wyndham and I am very grateful! We had a wonderful family Christmas - 18 of us, 4 generations, from 5 states. We celebrated in Maryland at our son's home and wanted to do something special - go to Colonial Williamsburg! We had 3 units at the Wyndham and they were perfect! Room for all of us to unwind and come together again. The Wyndham provides for every need, the beds are very comfortable, the towels fluffy - everything anyone could ask for in a resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi Marchelle,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We’re so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your holiday vacation stay. We are also glad to know that you found your unit fully accommodating. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

There were three of us in a one bedroom unit. Completely renovated! Every detail was perfect. Clean Clean Clean/well appointed with NICE linens/kitchen compact but complete/furniture was good/comfy master bed and pull out sofa (really)/internet worked perfectly (even at peak Holiday time) & the staff was extremely nice and helpful. Separate living spaces even in the one bedroom that is about 550 Square feet. The indoor pool was a hit with our son and the arcade was even better with 'open play' games. He loved it. Close to everything. Nice grounds. What else could I ask for at a decent price? Recommend and plan on returning. Also, just remembered...the security personnel were visible yet unobtrusive/professionally out and about the property in a good way. My family felt very secure.

Room Tip: no elevators. We stayed on first floor in building 14~ heard small amount of foot traffic from stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our renovations and staff. We’re so glad your son enjoyed the pool and arcade. It sounds like you had a wonderful vacation. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown, md
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our renovated unit was very, very clean and well stocked. Great location to everywhere we wanted to go. Wi fi signal is not great as others have mentioned. Long line to check in, but all employees we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated units and resort location. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Second half of check-in process is a sales pitch for buying membership into the Wyndham Resort.
Stayed 4 nights/5 days.
2 of us stayed in a two bedroom/two bathroom/kitchen/living room/dining room unit. PLENTY of room with all of the usual amenities & MORE!
Wi-Fi signal low or non-existent. Complained about it & was told that I could not use Firefox or my anti-virus software. Can you believe that?!! After some research, I found out that the particular building that I was housed in DID NOT even have a wireless setup. The Resort expected my building to pick up the signal for wireless FROM AN ADJOINGING BUILDING. Everyone except one person lied to me about my perceived problem!
Ceiling fan in living room had one of its blades missing.
Good location.
Clean
Quiet
Good place to “veg out!”.
Staff nice.
Beautifully manicured landscaping.
No housekeeping services unless you pay extra.
Cannot comment on value for money spent. I used points earned in a club from my sister. I only paid $5.00/day for used/unused services.
You get the feeling that if you don’t join the Resort, that they don’t want to talk with you anymore.
Express check-out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our resort location and found it a good place to relax. We are sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. As you know we have many properties which house a large amount of guests and their wireless devices. We are working to improve this feature; however this may take some time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. In regards to housekeeping, our goal is to make each guest feel at home by providing kitchen and laundry accommodations. Because we have condo-style resorts, certain hotel amenities such as daily housekeeping do not exist. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. We apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this through additional channels in the future. We are sorry for your experience and greatly value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Comfortable and decently appointed top floor condo unit with everything a family would need to make simple meals. I was impressed with how clean the unit was and the washer and dryer were a nice touch. Typically there are 4 units to a building (2 up and 2 down). The main door and shared hall can get loud so I would recommend requesting a top-floor unit. I called a week before our stay to put in the request and it was honored without issue. Kingsgate couldn't be more perfectly located to the sight seeing. I got a terrific deal for two nights from a Living Social offer so keep your eyes out. FYI - there is a Kmart at the top of the street in the event you forget anything (i.e., toothbrush), as we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback including some helpful tips for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the unit amenities and property location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I visited the Kingsgate with my wife and 3 kids and found the resort inferior to other Wyndham properties I've visited before. The walls in our unit were paper thin so we could hear everything (and even smell everything) in units to our left, right and below. Unfortunately on one side we had guests that enjoyed talking until 1 AM or so nightly and it made it hard for us to put our kids to sleep. We even had to deal with the cooking odors From our neighbors. The worst part about the stay for us was when we paid extra to have maid service in the middle of our stay. We did this because one do our kids wet his bed. Instead of bringing new sheets, they put the wet ones back on the bed. It was disgusting. I'll never go to the Kingsgate again and I suggest you look for other accommodations If you visit Williamsburg

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Address: 619 Georgetown Crescent, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#24 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Kingsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.